We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small & perfectly formed hotel right in the centre of the old town.”
Review of Hotel Stari Grad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stari Grad
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A small & perfectly formed hotel right in the centre of the old town. Rooms are modern and stylish with comfortable bed and very nice shower. Despite being in the centre of town the thick walls and double glazing gave a comfortable and quiet night’s sleep. Weather permitting breakfast is cooked to order and served on the rooftop terrace with a fantastic view of the old town or in the bar when the weather is not so good. Staff very friendly with good English and happy to arrange trips or taxis… be sure to have a mojito in the bar to help you relax on your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely little hotel in the heart of the old walled city, tucked away off the main street. The hotel has eight beautiful, contemporary rooms and the staff were charming helpful and friendly. There is a lovely terrace on the roof with wonderful views across the city. Breakfast was served at the café just around the corner and this was adequate. There was one problem with a nasty smell coming from the shower cubicle (drains) - it wasn't nice, but as we were only staying 3 nights we could live with it. We did mention to the receptionist as we were leaving and were surprised when she said that no-one had mentioned it before as we didn't think we could have been the first guest to notice it. Looking at some of the other reviews - we see other guest had commented on it before! We would recommend this hotel especially as the staff were so lovely, but we think there are a few small issues that need to be addressed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor(402) fantastic views, but as there is no lift it was quite a climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarceyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, one of only a couple that are actually in the Old Town itself. There are only eight rooms, so advance booking well ahead is essential.

My room was on the top floor, which meant climbing quite some stairs -being in a historic building, there is no elevator- but it was probably good for me. Generally, exploring Dubrovnik involves some exercise.

The room was fine, not large, but with all necessary comforts and well renovated. Breakfast was simple, but good enough. Reataurants are literally round the corner.

The hotel is a short walk from the western gate, on a side alley left from the main street. Taxis cannot come near the hotel, but even with luggage it is only a five-minute walk from the taxi stand near the gate.

It is simply very nice to be in the Old Town at night, after most of the crowds have disappeared. That, combined with the intimacy of the hotel, make it a thoroughly enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge on the last hotel we stayed in on our recent trip through Eastern Europe, especially because the location of this particular hotel was so unique. Although there are many "rooms for lease" within the walls of the historic old town (stari grad) of Dubrovnik, there are apparently only two hotels located there. All the other many hotels in Dubrovnik are outside the walls of the old city. It was just too tempting to book at this highly rated hotel placed in the old city center. We were not disappointed in the least. The room was actually a bit larger than I had been led to expect, surprisingly for a hotel built into an historic building. The bathroom was probably the best we had on our entire trip: completely up-to-date and with fully practical, modern facilities. (Unfortunately, too much of a rarity on our trip.) The building itself is charming. Although there is no elevator, it is not hard to climb the stairs, and the helpful staff carried our bags for us. Two floors above us was a lovely roof deck offering a spectacular view over the old city. Breakfast was provided at a neighboring restaurant, just around the corner on the main promenade of old town Dubrovnik. It was one of the best breakfasts we had on our entire trip, particularly since it was a la carte and served to us, as opposed to the usual mediocre buffet that one receives. Finally, there was excellent WiFi fully available in the room. We are very glad our last two nights in Europe were spent in such a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Stari Grad (which means "old city") is just off the main street in the old town of Dubrovnik. Very nice furnishings, great location and excellent staff. There is no elevator, because of the World Heritage Site designation for Dubrovnik, but the exercise will do you some good and give you a small taste of the climbing necessary to traverse Dubrovnik's walls.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_Schunhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

There are only two hotels inside the old city walls of Dubrovnik and the best thing about this hotel is the 5th floor terrace that looked out over the walls, and the rooftops and churches, and out over the ocean. It was definitely Boutique style and as long as you know there are no elevators to the 8 rooms, it is 5 star. I loved the rooms, the bathroom, the staff could not have been more helpful. Once dragging luggage up 4 floors! We would go back again!!

Room Tip: You could ask for a room on the lst floor if stairs are a problem but we had no problem on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank juliasauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good location in old town, just a bit away from the very busy main street. Modern, very clean rooms. Nice rooftop terrace overlooking the old town buildings, wall, etc, and with glimpses of the sea - great place to sit with a glass of wine and watch the sunset. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Depending on the floor you are on you need to be comfortable climbing lots of stairs. The only negative is that while we were there our bathroom periodically had a very noticeable smell of sewage, perhaps reflecting issues with the old town infrastructure. If it weren't for this my rating would have been "excellent".

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.7 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prijeko Palace
Prijeko Palace
#8 of 182 in Dubrovnik
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 509 in Dubrovnik
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stari Grad

Address: Od Sigurate 4 Od, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £215 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stari Grad 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of a next summer already? Check into the stylish Boutique Hotel Stari Grad! Fully renovated in 2013, the original 16th-century nobleman's house converted into boutique hotel combines Old World atmosphere with sleek lines, residential glamour, jewel tones and colorful patterns to create a collection of eight unique rooms for your cozy vacation. Location? Simply, ideal: a quiet street in the heart of Dubrovnik's Old Town, just off the main Placa Stradun! Although small, this luxurious yet discreet hotel hides many treasures. Discover Green & Purple cafe bar, elegant and ultimately distinctive gathering spot in the town. Taste delicious, excellently served dishes at Above5 restaurant, located on the only rooftop terrace in Old Town, while enjoying unforgettable views of the ancient city walls, roofs, sea and neighboring islands... Can a dream go beyond a dream? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stari Grad Dubrovnik
Stari Grad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing