We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of Dubrovnik”
Review of Hotel Stari Grad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stari Grad
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved this hotel. Really central, beautifully renovated & super friendly staff. Breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent & a real experience. The hotel is in a very old building which adds to the charm. Staff were on hand to help us with our luggage (there's no lift). They also gave great advice on where to visit. Will be back in dubrovnik next week for one night. Unfortunately we're staying elsewhere but hoping to go for dinner on the rooftop terrace!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor. There's no lift! Be aware that the beds in the twin rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank irishgal987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent compact hotel in the heart of the old town, with friendly and the most gorgeous staff always keen to help. The room was tidy, clean and neat. The highlight was the made-to-order breakfast at the rooftop terrace which provides the million-dollar views of the old town. Simply unforgettable and very heard to match.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Stari Grad is one of the only actual hotels within the walls of the old city. If you can walk well and are not afraid of stairs, one of the eight rooms on the four floors of this well-appointed boutique might be perfect for you. The people are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms and public spaces are kept immaculately clean.
The dining room on the roof is a magical crow's nest from which you can survey the almost uniformly orange tiled rooftops. Have both dinner and breakfast here at least once. The chef is great. The menu for breakfast is "what would you like? I have everything." Croissants are only good when they are great... Here they are great. Old Dubrovnik is a walking spot. Don't rent a car while you are here; when you are ready to leave there are rental agencies a short walk away.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank CCD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and couldn't fault our stay. Great location right in the heart of the old town, lovely rooms, friendly staff and the roftop terrace was an amazing breakfast (and dinner spot) - I'd recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank LLAPDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

All people working at Stari Grad are nice and service oriented people. We in particular spoke to Roberto, working at the bar. He expresses lots of positive and service oriented energy. They apparently restyled the hotel. It has become a very very nice place to stay in the middle of the ancient town.

While being at the center of an old town, it could be a bit noicy or at certain times serwersystem smeĺls.

We had a very pleasant stay. Thank you!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bvanduin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in this boutique hotel on a side 'street' in old town. The location was perfect- 1 minute after leaving your room you are strolling the Stradun (main street). The room was fairly large as was the bathroom.
We had breakfast at the roof top restaurant- the food and view were so good, we decided to come back for dinner! The sun-setting over the wall and old town are exceptional.
Staff was friendly and helpful- first morning we slept through breakfast- but they brought us the basics. Last morning we had to leave before breakfast- and again, staff came in a little early to fix us coffee and croissants.
Our only complaint was the noise- with the window open, it was quite loud from the street and a nearby hostel. With the windows closed it was fine- but as we were early in the season, the hotel had not yet changed from heat to a.c.- so with the windows closed- though quiet, it was a little hot and stuffy.
Nevertheless, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again- perhaps a higher room would help- although there is no elevator!

Room Tip: Higher to get away from noise- but lower if you don't climb stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a beautiful hidden gem in the midst of the old town of Dubrovnik. Small, with beautiful boutiques style, up t date rooms. The staff is wonderfully friendly. Breakfast, of your choosing, on the roof top, with a view of the city. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I think any room would be equally good, with just 2 rooms on each of 4 floors. But, there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank gkaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.7 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prijeko Palace
Prijeko Palace
#8 of 182 in Dubrovnik
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 509 in Dubrovnik
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stari Grad

Address: Od Sigurate 4 Od, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £214 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stari Grad 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of a next summer already? Check into the stylish Boutique Hotel Stari Grad! Fully renovated in 2013, the original 16th-century nobleman's house converted into boutique hotel combines Old World atmosphere with sleek lines, residential glamour, jewel tones and colorful patterns to create a collection of eight unique rooms for your cozy vacation. Location? Simply, ideal: a quiet street in the heart of Dubrovnik's Old Town, just off the main Placa Stradun! Although small, this luxurious yet discreet hotel hides many treasures. Discover Green & Purple cafe bar, elegant and ultimately distinctive gathering spot in the town. Taste delicious, excellently served dishes at Above5 restaurant, located on the only rooftop terrace in Old Town, while enjoying unforgettable views of the ancient city walls, roofs, sea and neighboring islands... Can a dream go beyond a dream? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stari Grad Dubrovnik
Stari Grad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing