We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rooftop view in the Old Town”
Review of Hotel Stari Grad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stari Grad
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

You could not better this hotel. The staff, the service, the decor, the location - all were perfect. Tasteful, friendly, intimate. And the view from the rooftop terrace was as good as from the city walls. Sipping a cocktail as the sun was setting on the red rooftops of the Old Town was a highlight. Will be back.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank LizA2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stari Grad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is small, lovely, great located in the old town. The roof terrace has the breathtaking view and we got there delicious breakfast. The staff is very professional and helpful. The only problem was, that we were not able to turn off the airconditioning (but we didn´t even ask the staff).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Daniela_Tomas_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Stari Grad is a tastefully decorated gem in the heart of the old city, only a couple of minutes walk from the Pile Gate. Our room was on the second floor and had one of the best showers we've ever used! Having a beer on the roof terrace in the early evening was our favourite time of the day and it's a rare treat in the old town to have that facility. Special praise however is reserved for the staff (particularly Robert), who were lovely and our memories of Dubrovnik are all the richer for having met them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

And of course that is the reason to stay here. The room was quite small, although well furnished and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. But there are drawbacks to being so close to the action, and one was the noise at bedtime (earplugs were required). And there was a problem with the aircon system which the staff acknowledged on arrival, but it meant that staff had to be summoned to change the temperature settings. For a one night visit, with so little time to pack everything in, this was a good choice. But had we been staying longer, I think we would go for somewhere outside the old town that was bigger and quieter, and, yes, maybe a bit cheaper too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anotherjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved this hotel. Really central, beautifully renovated & super friendly staff. Breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent & a real experience. The hotel is in a very old building which adds to the charm. Staff were on hand to help us with our luggage (there's no lift). They also gave great advice on where to visit. Will be back in dubrovnik next week for one night. Unfortunately we're staying elsewhere but hoping to go for dinner on the rooftop terrace!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor. There's no lift! Be aware that the beds in the twin rooms ar...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank irishgal987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent compact hotel in the heart of the old town, with friendly and the most gorgeous staff always keen to help. The room was tidy, clean and neat. The highlight was the made-to-order breakfast at the rooftop terrace which provides the million-dollar views of the old town. Simply unforgettable and very heard to match.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Stari Grad is one of the only actual hotels within the walls of the old city. If you can walk well and are not afraid of stairs, one of the eight rooms on the four floors of this well-appointed boutique might be perfect for you. The people are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms and public spaces are kept immaculately clean.
The dining room on the roof is a magical crow's nest from which you can survey the almost uniformly orange tiled rooftops. Have both dinner and breakfast here at least once. The chef is great. The menu for breakfast is "what would you like? I have everything." Croissants are only good when they are great... Here they are great. Old Dubrovnik is a walking spot. Don't rent a car while you are here; when you are ready to leave there are rental agencies a short walk away.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank CCD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.2 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 502 in Dubrovnik
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 181 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stari Grad

Address: Od Sigurate 4 Od, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £197 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stari Grad 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of a next summer already? Check into the stylish Boutique Hotel Stari Grad! Fully renovated in 2013, the original 16th-century nobleman's house converted into boutique hotel combines Old World atmosphere with sleek lines, residential glamour, jewel tones and colorful patterns to create a collection of eight unique rooms for your cozy vacation. Location? Simply, ideal: a quiet street in the heart of Dubrovnik's Old Town, just off the main Placa Stradun! Although small, this luxurious yet discreet hotel hides many treasures. Discover Green & Purple cafe bar, elegant and ultimately distinctive gathering spot in the town. Taste delicious, excellently served dishes at Above5 restaurant, located on the only rooftop terrace in Old Town, while enjoying unforgettable views of the ancient city walls, roofs, sea and neighboring islands... Can a dream go beyond a dream? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stari Grad Dubrovnik
Stari Grad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing