We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 8 November 2009

just being back from villa wolff we can express only fully satisfaction about the service, especially their baggage service (after being in Venice we know about what we are talking about), their amazing breakfast, beautiful sea views from our honeymoon suite and about Villa Wollf's excellent seafood restaurant "Casa". We had also a sailing day and want to thank Gonzales Wolff who was our skipper for this perfect experience. This hotel is only to recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Villa Wolff is located in a pedestrian precinct on Lapad Bay. It is adjacent to an excellent swimming beach.

There are four suites and two double rooms on a single floor. These are about four floors above the street with over 60 steps and no elevator, but hotel staff carried our suitcases up and down and took them to our car parked nearby.

An excellent breakfast was served in large private courtyard with view over the bay.

The suite was well appointed and consistent with the price charged.

WiFi was free on an unsecured network.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I booked this hotel based on the online reviews as I was looking for a more personal experience than one might find in a large hotel. This was a celebration of a recent engagement, so we were hoping for something a little special.
We stayed in the Zeus room which is a small room with two small single beds squeezed in side - when we queried this we were told that this was the standard in all Croatia - if we wanted we could pay extra for a larger room but it would still have the two single bed arrangement. (Not so as we found lots of other double beds over the next two weeks in all sorts of places). On our first morning there, I asked that it be explained to the manager with whom we had booked the hotel, Gonzales Wolff that we we unhappy with the room; he never contacted us or offered any form of apology.
When leaving we were over charged in Croatian Kuna, having been quoted in Euro. As I was unhappy with the quoted exchange rate and their internet access had failed so the receptionist couldn't check the rates, I insisted on paying the agreed price in Euro. They only agreed after a stand up row as we were walking away.
In summary there was no evidence of customer care or service shown to us at all and so most disappointing.
H & M, Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HalfPastTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We just returned from celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in Croatia and the Hotel Wolff Villa was the perfect place to do this. The hotel has the most fabulous views and the staff are excellent. Yes, it is expensive, but is was definitely worth it. We had a room overlooking the sea and the suite was lovely. We were so glad that we didn't opt to stay in the old town as it was sooo crowded at this time of year. It is a romantic and cool (love the air conditioning) get away from the crowds of Dubrovnik. The restaurant below was very nice as well but there are also many restaurants in the area that are quite reasonably priced for this time of year in Croatia.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank traveller4lifeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

located in a very beautiful and quiet part of Dubrovnik; magnificant view on the bay from the suites; very easy access (by bus) to the Old Town; perfect restaurant; very friendly and competent staff; worth to go there and spend few romantic days

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrzegorzWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

10 minutes by taxi from old town. Peaceful location. Good modern rooms and nice breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Genuine 4 star
Need to be reasonably fit to cope with the steps up to reception.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Exceptional location for convenience without the crowded, touristy bustle of downtown Dubrovnik. The hotel staff were consistently seeking to please and at no point did they ever disappoint.

BACKGROUND: My wife and I with our two younger children (ages 7 and 5) stayed for 9 days at Villa Wolff. We used it as our base to explore the old town, other islands, and various day trips.

TOP REASONS TO STAY AT VILLA WOLFF
(1) Staff and service quality.
They personalised all the service, knew us by name, sought out special day treats for us to take with us on our explorations, gave us accurate advise on places to explore/directions and restaurants. The owner is intimately involved in the goings on and management. Ever you have a need, he will personally see to it. Having spent hours speaking to him during our boat trip, he cares very much about the experience of his guests and runs his hotel to ensure the highest quality.
(2) Quality of hotel and location.
QUALITY: The pictures are accurate. It is perched high above a bay with spectacular views which you can enjoy from a very large patio with many comfortable lounge chairs. We enjoyed drinks every evening watching the sunset, and had we desired, we could have taken our breakfast out on the patio. But the it was much cooler to eat inside with the wall of floor-to-ceiling windows wide-open to the views.
LOCATION: The hotel is well situated for many evening dining choices which are varied from the busy/people watching, to the romantic cliff-edge candle-lit tables only 200 meter walk up the peninsula.
Also, regarding the location - from the hotel stairs, you can walk in one direction for 100 meters and lay on the public beach with beach chairs for hire, or walk 25 meters in the other direction and find many natural rock outcrops from which to lay your towel, claim your spot and jump into crystal-clear sea. its private and very Italian/Croatian swimming experience.
Getting to downtown Dubrovnik was convenience. 10mins on the bus which is a 10 minute leisurely walk from the hotel. The bus is cheap and you avoid the parking hassles.
We rented a car for a few days, and to our surprise the AutoEurope location for pick-up was directly above Villa Wolff on the hill. If you consider renting a car - get one from AutoEurope, its a 5 min walk from the hotel on the street above Villa Wolff. Also, you can easily park the car on the same street. We never had any difficulties parking on this road.

THE DIFFERENTIATING EXPERIENCE FOR US WAS THE...
(a) Treats / snacks for us prepared before we left for our day trips without us asking
(b) Remembering our names and our future plans, making suggestions for things to do/see.
(c) They made us feel at home despite us having children, who well, can be children at times. Example: Our youngest broke a small glass vase, and they apologised to *us* for having it out. We felt so bad, but they seemed to care more about us having a good time - which is how GREAT hotels differentiate themselves from good ones.
(d) Personalised boat tour -- we hired the hotel boat for the day, which the hotel's owner is also your driver and host for the day. He took us to special sites and a luncheon experience 99.9% of tourists don't get when they explore dubrovnik. He was very well informed of the history and the geography, speaks multiple languages, and gave us plenty of family time where we on our own exploring and swimming. I cannot recommend the boat hire more highly - definitely worth the price.

In my research prior to arriving, i was concerned about two things that people noted on Trip Advisor which turned out to be non-issues for us.
1) The stairs up to the hotel - yes, there are 35+ steps to climb (7 year old children count these things). My 65+ year old mother would have found it challenging but definitely doable the 2 to 3x per day we came and went. Given the hotel is on a cliff's edge and its convenience is based on these stairs letting out right into the restaurants and beach, this is nothing more than a footnote but older people with physical limitations should be aware.
2) The noise from the hotel next door. Each night in the summer, the hotel adjacent (but much lower on the hill) has dancing and live music. It ended most nights at a reasonable hour (around 11p), but most importantly the music could *not* be heard from our room with the windows closed. Our room had very effective air conditioning, so closing the windows was pleasant and we were closing them anyway given the heat. To further clarify, we were 1 room away from the closest room. Having stayed there for 9 days, we found the noise to not be a factor at all and wouldn't even bother mentioning to my friend to whom I recommend this wonderful hotel to.

PS - I am a very experienced business traveler in the US, UK and Europe, and the the breakfast is very very good. How can hot eggs, bacon, fresh juice, fresh bread, and all the fruit and cereal you'd care to eat not be?

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
253 reviews
1 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff

Address: Nika I Meda Pucica 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £94 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff enjoys one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful locations, the Uvala-Lapad Bay. The 3 suites and 3 double rooms are bright and have unique incomparable flair of high quality. The hotel is located 10 metres from the beach and is surrounded by an exotic, Mediterranean park with palm trees, deck chairs and sunshades. Its famous Seafood Restaurant "Casa" invites you on its panorama terrace to various seafood meals combined with unforgettable sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique And Beach Hotel Villa Wolff
Boutique Beach Hotel Wolff
Boutique Beach Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing