We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel room with access to 5* facilities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel room with access to 5* facilities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our hotel room was clean and pleasant. It had views across the road of the Villa Argentina; the sister hotel, whose facilities we could use as guests at the Glavic. They were fantastic -- indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, and an outdoor pool area with loungers from which you could get into the sea via some steps or (more fun!) a running jump... Just amazing. There were wonderful views from the restaurant towards the old town, and the food was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I booked this room on Hotwire, the discount was just modest, but I am glad I did, as everything in Dubrovnik is so expensive, artifical high prices for trourists, the locals could never afford anything at these prices, lets be real?!? I stayed at the less expensive section of the complex, but you have access the entire amenities of the Argentina hotel, and thats what makes this a great value. The Argentina hotel has a phenominal pool on the adriatic, a nice spa, and wonderful buffet breakfast, and I only paid $265 a night all inclusive with internet included. I had a nice room facing the wall because my rate was so low (even though I asked not to, the young pretty girl at the desk was using her power to not let me have a sea view at this rate), but I did get on a higher floor and had some sky view in the bathroom and a side view of the Adriatic, which was nice. Be careful to know, this hotel is a walk up, so unless you are on the first floor you will be climbing stairs. Thsi hotel is very old world Europe, and that was nice for a new modern American, it was super clean and the staff are attentive. What I really liked is you can walk to the old city in 5-10 mins at most, and its easy and safe. Its a great hotel and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have to have a room facing the ivy wall due to your low rate yuo got, as for a high floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardNYC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Villa Glavic for your stay and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

What you have read is true. Although the building is accross the street from Grand Villa Argentina, you better hope you are given a room in the first floor, or be ready to climb some stairs....which makes it a bit of a hassle when carrying heavy luggage.

Ammenities are good and views from the hotel are also good, but there is no readon to stay here if a room can be booked at Grand Villa Argentina.

I picked this hotel since the reviews said the views were much better, but they are not. And it jsut makes it uncomfortable to have to go to the main building to get to the pool, concierge, front desk, dining room, etc.

That aside, the hotel provides everything you would expect, but I would not consider a 5 star for it.

Small, clean room, heavyly decorated, great views in the main building, friendly staff, L´occitane ammenities.

Do not expect anything modern and, if you do not mind a bit of cardio before going to bed, then you will hold no objections.

Concierge was really helpful. You get what you pay for. Old, well kept setting close to old-town DBV.

Room Tip: If you do not get a room with a view, there is no point in booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhaleBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comments for updating and renovation.
We hope to see you back in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The Villa Glavic is part of The hotel Argentina but its over the road from the main hotel and there is no lift. Now for those of you that may not have been to Dubrovnik in July it is very hot and also built onto cliffs so there are plenty of steps to climbs. Myself and my husband class ourselves as relatively fit ( mid 40's, not overweight, lead an active lifestyle) we'd already been to other places in Croatia and Dubrovnik during this visit so we were well accustomed to climbing up and down steps. We were not expecting to be at the top of this Villa, the 3rd floor which is in all 90 stairs down and 90 stairs back from the main reception. Then count in the steps down to the pool area, ( situated in the main hotel) approx 40, another 40 back to the lift for the reception. All in all that's approx 260 steps to get back to your room ( and they are steep steps too at times). Nowhere on the web site does is this revelled.
The rooms are spacious, when you eventually get to them ! But it seriously needs modernising. There was no air conditioning in the bathroom or even a fan.
After 5mins of looking around and working out the step situation we decided to book into the main hotel over the road. I'm so glad we did.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.
We are glad that, at the end, you were happy with main hotel room and that you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Hotel Argentina, rated at 5 star, is the 'mother' hotel to the Villa Glavic - which is an annex located across the road - and definitely not a 5 star propery. The first room we were given was at the back of the 4th floor facing onto retaining wall - which blocked out any sunshine or view. With no elevator, the 95 stair climb from the roadway (yes, a 190 stair effort to and from the room) was too much to be done frequently during the day - i.e. going to and from breakfast, the city, the beach, out to dinner…..so we asked and were given a room on the main floor. Much better in terms of stair climbing, a nicely decorated, and well furnished room but 'cave like'. It was at the base of the retaining wall, windows in the bathroom let in some light, but the bedroom was very dark. Shutters, poor location in the annex (main floor, back of annex)and no balcony meant that we never were able to enjoy the sunshine or the view - We did ask for an upgrade, were willing to pay the difference but nothing was offered during our 5 night stay. We would absolutely return to Dubrovnik. and would stay at the Hotel Argentina, but will absolutely not stay in the Villa Glavic again. Our 5 nights there were at the end of a 5 week stay in Europe. We intended to finish our holiday on a 'high note'….but the Glavic was not it. The Hotel Argentina has balconies overlooking the stunning scenery of the Aegean Sea and Dubrovnik and is absolutely superior to what we had at the Villa Glavic.

We did receive exceptional help from Jeni at Reception. I had left something in another country, and with some phone calls, and creative thinking she was able to retrieve my valuables. I am really indebted to her for all that she did for me and truly appreciate that she went 'above and beyond' her job description in the service and help that she gave us.

And thanks to Maro in restaurant and bar services, for adding so much to our relaxing times during breakfast and evening drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrt1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. While I agree with the previous reviewer that the rooms were somewhat dated, the facilities including the pool lounging area were great - spent many happy hours chilling out on a sun lounger looking out over the sea and had some refreshing dips.

We had breakfast included which were very nice on the terrace.

We found the staff very helpful and attentive - no issues there

All and all a great hotel

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Mjj11,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The property is old and mantince just ok, to go to the hotel's main building (Lobby, restaurant, pool, frontdesk, etc) you have to cross the street.

The web site said tha the rooms have views to the Adriatic, but ours faced to a wall as many others, so they are not clear in the information.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#31 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glavic Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Property: Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 14b, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Glavic Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our sea-view villa in Dubrovnik was part of the Grand Villa Argentina complex, and it is embedded with the same spirit. Historic and architecturally striking, the three-floor Villa Glavić offers complete privacy, with spectacular views over the Adriatic Sea and across to Dubrovnik Old Town. Within walking distance of the ancient city walls, its premium location in the most exclusive enclave in Dubrovnik offers complete tranquillity. Villa Glavić combines the personalised touch of a boutique property with the five-star service of a world-class hotel. With only 21 elegant rooms, guests staying here have complementary access to all of Grand Villa Argentina's facilities across the road, while being able to retreat to peaceful luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Glavic Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing