We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and view, unfriendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GVA Villa Argentina
Ranked #218 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely room and view, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2008

The foyer of the hotel is breath taking and has a definite wow factor with floor to ceiling views of the sea, (complete with great view of anisland) from reception. The room also couldnt be faulted (although the first room we were offered had a terrible view of a wall) and the Victoria Restaurant and bar located next door to the hotel was absolutely beautiful with courteous staff and superb views of Dubrovnik. However the other hotel restaurants and bars could have been a lot better with tired and uinimaginative decor and unfriendly staff, both on reception and serving. The pool staff in particular were very rude, not atall what you expect from a five star hotel. Its a lovely hotel but we stayed at a nicer one in Hvar for 3 times less.
More like a 4 star package holday hotel than a five star as advertised.

  • Liked — The views of Dubrovnik, nice room
  • Disliked — Very unfriendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2008

The Hotel is great in general, but we have stayed in a "Superior Room with SEA VIEW and BALCONY" in Villa Argentina, and there was not much of a Balcony, I must say. People should be careful of what to expect when paying extra for the Sea View and Balcony.

The Sea View+Balcony rooms in Villa Argentina that have a reasonable balcony, hardly have any Sea View because of the trees obscuring the view.

The rooms on the upper floors (where we've stayed) have some Sea View, but a Balcony that could hardly be called as such. We didn't even use it, because it hardly fit 2 small chairs. This problem with tiny balconies extend to the rooms in Villa Orsula.

Extra points go to the VICTORIA Restaurant though, which offers superb cuisine, outstanding service, and breathtaking views of Dubrovnik. Our dinner at Victoria Restaurant was unforgettable.

  • Liked — All restaurants, but specially Victoria Restaurant.
  • Disliked — The Balcony that we've paid extra for, and was hardly a balcony. Our Vanity set was open and used.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

This is a fantastic hotel. The setting must be the best of any in Dubrovnik. The pool area sits beside the sea overlooking the old town of Dubrovnik, Lokrum Island and the headlands before Cavtat. It's a very scenic and peaceful setting. The yachts and cruisers stop in the bay outside providing passing entertainment and beautiful lighting at night time. Kayaks, jet ski's and water skiers provide further amusement for the lazy eye.

The service is excellent even though the outdoor restaurant and pool staff were under pressure with the large volume of mid August guests. I did read about complaints about pool boys on the internet before I went but found if you were polite to them they looked after you well. (I heard some Italians yelling at them for not having enough umbrellas and they still were polite).

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the old town and there is a bus stop outside to get the Lapad etc.

The new restaurant in the old town "Gils" was just opened and so good that we went three nights. They have a sushi club where you can sit on low poofs and enjoy cocktails on top of the old wall. They also have a very contemporary restaurant built into the old walls that deserves a try. Sushi with a cocktail will cost you about €35/45 and the restaurant with a bottle of wine and cocktail will cost about €65 per person (no starter and one dessert)

Another great restaurant is Wanda opened by a friendly guy who spent time in Los Angeles so it has a slightly international flair to local cuisine. Be careful of the wine prices.

There's also a couple of secret bars which are a treasure I'll keep to myself and if you explore long enough you will find.

Enjoy the romantic setting of Dubrovnik Old Town. Bring your partner for a holiday to remember!!

  • Liked — The Location and the luxury of it
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

The hotel was located a short 5-10 minute walk from the old town and had great views of Lokrum Island and the old town. The hotel had on-site restaurants and a small cafe/bar. The room we had was quite large and had a balcony and seaview. The staff were helpful and polite and any questions we had were promptly answered. We could not fault the hotel and recommend it for people staying in Dubrovnik. The hotel can be a bit pricey, especially in peak season but it is on
the scenic side of the old town compared to hotels in Lapad.

  • Liked — Location, rooms, views
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tygaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#34 of 68 in Dubrovnik
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#33 of 68 in Dubrovnik
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GVA Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GVA Villa Argentina

Property: GVA Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 165

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing