We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the solo traveller”
Review of Rooms Ivo

Rooms Ivo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Ivo
Ranked #280 of 490 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal for the solo traveller”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Had a lovely stay with Ivo and his family. Arrived in the dark but Ivo and Vesna met me at the airport bus stop and took me back to their delightful home. My room was small but with a leafy outllook and ideal for one. Ivo frequently made me Croatian coffee and we talked about everything from Dubrovnik to the Beatles! The accommodation was clean and comfortable and Ivo arranged a place for me to stay in Split which turned out to be excellent. I returned to stay with Ivo at the end of my holiday and his warmth and hospitality will stay with me for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealityCheque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA/ Kauai, Hi
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Ivo and his wife are the best. Ivo and his wife picked us up at the cruise ship dock when we arrived from Italy. We were skeptical at first, but when we got to the place, it was right where we wanted to be. Rooms were roomy, good bathrooms, hot water, and Ivo's wife Vesna made us an authentic Croatian meal for us and 2 Australians that were also staying there (Hi KATE and SHAUN!).YOU CANNOT BE ANY CLOSER TO OLD CITY UNLESS YOU ARE INSIDE. You can literally walk 1 minute and you will be inside the walls of Dubrovnik. So rad. Best value by far. Highly recommended. Thanks again to Ivo and his family for the awesome stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryancharlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

The room we had was large and bright, furnished with antique style cupboards and chairs. It is superbly located, just outside the Old Town walls. I would definitely recommend staying outside the walls because, while beautiful, the Old Town streets are tiny and cramped. Exploring these little streets was great fun, and the smell of grilled fish wafting through the air every night was always delicious, but being able to escape into space and light was a welcome relief.

The family who took care of us were great, as they picked us up from the airport, arranged inter-city bus bookings for us and ensured we got there in time. They were also very able to provide all-important information and suggestions on things to do and see in Dubrovnik.

It is important to note that this accommodation offered is a room – not an apartment. With an apartment you would customarily find self containing facilities like fridges, kettles and sometimes cooking facilities.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hozay_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavik, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here 2 years ago. We ended up staying with his aunt too, like many others here. She was such a nice lady and Ivo is a good guy too. He knows how to earn money and you can't fault him for that, but I can understand why people are unhappy that they dont get what they've paid for. Overall, I'd stay here again, either at his place or his aunts both places are ok.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tombomb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

this family found us in ferry satation. and we can deal for two days 500 kuna anyway we are stay just one day. because they told us we have reservations for this room maybe you can stay difrent place i was in shock. we are deal for two days. i hate that couple because i didnt found a room for one day. horrible house horrible people always screamin with child. i hate this place. you should be stay in old town you can find very nice place and bether than rooms ivo. and same price.....

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank himes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Ivo and his wife Vesna are incredibly hospitable and kind. They are just steps away from the Old City, which is beautifully seen from the balcony. I had planned to make accommodation arrangements through a local travel agent but was met at the ferry dock by Ivo and changed my plans. I'm so glad I did!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Croatia. When we arrived on a ferry from Italy we had no reservations, Ivo and his wife were at the port and asked us if we needed a place to stay. It was a little more expensive than we were looking for, but since it was inside the city walls we thought we would give it a shot.

Ivo drove us to the old city and took us to his aunt's home where we would be renting a flat within her house with full kitchen, living room with a TV, bedroom and private bath with AC in the bedoroom. It was in a perfect location right in the middle of the city. After showing us the flat, we had coffee and a very nice visit with Ivo, his wife and his aunt (well, his aunt speaks no english, but Ivo translated for us). Ivo took us on a tour of the town, suggested places to eat and tours to take and even showed us where to find a cheap internet cafe.

We ran into Ivo a couple times around town during our stay and he always had new suggestions for us and told us to call him if we needed anything. He and his aunt were very hospitable and accommodating. We even made a few of our own meals in the kitchen to save money. We enjoyed the town so much that we extended our stay an extra night. It was worth every penny. Thanks Ivo!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDVandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Olaf
#262 of 490 in Dubrovnik
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Studios Loncarica
#181 of 490 in Dubrovnik
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Cable Car
#227 of 490 in Dubrovnik
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartments Sara & Nora
Apartments Sara & Nora
#119 of 490 in Dubrovnik
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Minceta
Apartments Minceta
#258 of 490 in Dubrovnik
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms Vicelic
Rooms Vicelic
#14 of 176 in Dubrovnik
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ivo

Property: Rooms Ivo
Address: Hvarska 46, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 490 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rooms Ivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing