We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, budget hotel - good choice”
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Staffordshire Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, budget hotel - good choice”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We were impressed with the size of the room, the bathroom and the balcony. We stayed in room 104 which was directly above the dining area so the only complaint was that it was noisy in the morning and at night time whilst people were eating in there with chairs scrapping and plates clanging. The cleaning staff in the morning also were out and about early and were not quiet, laughing and clapping so be warned, don't think you will get a lie in here.
Other than that we were pleased with our choice. The staff in the dining area were very helpful and pleasant, the breakfast foods were plentiful and big on variety so there is something for everyone (sausage, bacon, egg, croissant, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, cold meats and cheese) We didn't stay for lunch but Dinner was good (beef stew, pork chops, roast potatoes, fish, lasagna) there is also an a la carte menu to choose from and the rates are reasonable. The hotel is situated a 15-20 minute bus ride away from old town with a bus stop just five minutes up the road from the hotel next to a small market shop to buy supplies from if needed (K-Mart). The bus runs every 10 minutes into Old Town (number 6 bus) so you have easy access to the main town. We would stay here again as the price is great and the rooms are lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and ask for it not to be above the dining area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    138
    97
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
118
25
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I was urgently transported to Dubrovnik hospital. My wife arrived 2 days later and she needed place to stay close to hospital with possibility to help with some food and laundry.
Actually she was proposed from 5 star hotel to go to Hotel Ivka and it was exact match. Decent room, reasonable price that is paying off in full by help and hospitality.
Staff in hotel helped with every request she had. They helped, even not having laundry, to wash my things. I could not eat hospital food but she managed to get exactly light, diet food that I had to take and get it to me.
All best references.
Sanja and Radenko

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Radenko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio, Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I booked this hotel attracted by the price, and also considered the fact that it is cited in the Lonely Planet guide. Its external appearance is not that bad, but staff seemed annoyed with my questions (except for the guy that stayed at night); breakfast was awful, with an undrinkable coffee; my room was close to some kind of chimney, I imagine that from air conditioner, that makes noise all night; one day they left me a towel with a HOLE in it; and it is too far from the Old City. If you have a tight budget, I think it would be better to look for a hostel than to choose Hotel Ivka

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal_Guimaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

LONDON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here when visiting Dubrovnik. Very good value for money. 315 HRK a night for 2 sharing. Breakfast included and free parking. Only a 5 minute bus ride on number 6 to Old Town from stop a bottom of road.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Went to Hotel Ivka with a tour group for new year's. We got there around midnight and were quickly allocated our rooms, despite the large group. The staff were extremely helpful. Even the busboys were very well groomed and extremely polite. It was obvious that all the staff are proud of their jobs. Breakfast could have been a bit more extensive, but was still enough. Maybe it was due to the season. It's a short distance from the old town, but easy to get to. Around 5 minutes by taxi and 15 minutes by bus. Loved Dubrovnik as well, so we're planning on going back and staying at Ivka again during a summer holiday.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have balconies. Whole hotel is non-smoking, so a room with a balcony is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddevronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The relatively new Hotel Ivka is a modern 3 star plus hotel situated on the peninsula of Lapad. It is located midway between the old town & the new harbour, within a fifteen minutes walk of the Ferry Port. As it is positioned on a hill some rooms have views. We were assigned such a room and enjoyed the vistas of the hills and valleys from the windows and the small balcony.
Our room was large, bright, light and well furnished. It was a good standard with comfortable bedding and ample storage space. The bathroom was spacious, clean, well equipped and attractive.
Breakfast was adequate without being special and the fixed dinner menu provided reasonable quality food. It also featured an a la carte menu option.
Overall, this is a good standard tourist hotel, staffed by caring and helpful professionals. We are happy to recommend it to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The hotel was clean and the room we had was very large. We were given the room one the 1st floor which had a balcony overlooking the road. The buffet breakfast was quite good with plenty to eat and drink. We like the location as it was a short walk to the nearby beach (pebble) and Lapad strip with bars etc. It is also close to a bus stop that takes you straight into The Old Town.

A good tip is the roof top restaurant just over the main cross road on the way to the beach. Good food and reasonable prices (especially compared to the Old Town).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#39 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#51 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Property: Hotel Ivka
Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing