We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money !!”
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money !!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 7nights with breakfast , to us was nice, pleasant, clean hotel, the towels been changed daily, sheets after 3 days which wasn't so bad !
The breakfast was variety to choose from , so no chance to not pick something.
Room very spacious even the bathroom .
Overall we had a lovely stay and definitely recommend this hotel, for 3* offers a lot .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    146
    104
    19
    8
See reviews for
51
125
29
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This is a 3 star hotel, which is a walking distance from the beaches and restaurants in Lapad. It is well connected to the Old City by more than 1 bus route, from a bus stop next to the hotel.
The breakfast buffet is varied and topped up throughout the service. They also serve lunch and dinner, both buffet and à la carte.
WiFi internet is provided free of charge. It is worth noting that there are several routers, which have the same password. This allows for WiFi coverage throughout the entire hotel. Staff speak good English, and are knowledgable, friendly and helpful.
The rooms are big enough, have satellite TV channels which include BBC, CNBC and CNN.
In the hotel lobby there is a café/bar, which serves coffee, cakes and alcoholic beverages.
However, the matresses are very hard. We booked a double room, and were given a room with 2 single beds put together. I do not think the cleaners actually replace the bed sheets with fresh ones when they "clean" the room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLI1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibenik, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for four days and haven't been a lot of our time in hotel... But the time that we have been there was nice time spent. Nice comfy rooms, friendly staff, good options for breakfast!
Definitely will come back again...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of a 15 day tour of Croatia - always like to end a trip on a high note but this was not it I'm afraid. Am moving to an apartment near the old town later today so hopefully this is much better. Wi-fi keeps dropping in an out - everywhere in the hotel not just in the room. Air conditioning is a plus but it turns off after extactly 1 hour and there is no fridge in the room which we have not encountered before in Croatia. The reception staff are not friendly, very rude in fact and don't get me started on the rude breakfast staff. Breakfast finishes at 10am but if you get there at 9,30 you are extremely lucky to find any eggs, bacon, fruit etc. not that the fruit is extensive to start with. If you like your bacon literally floating in fat then this may be the place for you. The rooms were clean and large if a little outdated but this we did not mind and we did have a balcony to dry our washing which was a bonus. The hotel may be non smoking but the cleaning staff are able to smoke while cleaning the rooms - go figure. Compared to some other hotels in Croatia where the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable we were extremely disappointed with the Ivka. Easy to catch the bus into the old town and restaurants are nearby. Would not recommend this hotel but should the staff change their attitude it could be a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I like to write my reviews whilst staying at the hotel I'm reviewing to ensure my reviews are authentic.....Unfortunately that has been made very difficult tonight due to the fact that the wifi keeps dropping in and out. This is despite the hotel claiming 'wifi in all areas, free of charge'. Frustrating to say the least, especially since I am sitting in the main foyer and not in my room!
Otherwise, I don't mind this hotel. Our room is large and the bathroom is good with an excellent shower head. The furnishings in the room are a little outdated but it is very clean. We have a balcony overlooking the hillside which is a bonus that I didn't expect. There is no bar fridge... Not uncommon in Europe but disappointing all the same.
The hotel is located about 3km from the old town. This didn't bother us as it was an easy 30 minute walk in. There are also frequent buses, I believe.
Parking is free directly outside the hotel.
On our first night here we walked down to the Lapad harbour/beachside area for dinner and found an OK restaurant which was quite expensive. My advise is to take the stairs directly behind the hotel to a little local pizzeria/ Konoba called Belvedere... It served very decent food at great prices. We went back two nights in a row.
The breakfast at the hotel was great. I was a bit disappointed one evening however, when I asked the lady behind the bar for a glass of wine. It was listed as 10 kuna on the menu and another lady had been charging us 10 kuna for the previous two evenings.... However this lady charged me 20 kuna. When I questioned it she just pointed out that the size of the glass was bigger. I didnt ask for a bigger glass! It's disappointing to feel like you are being ripped off in a foreign country, particularly when it is at the hotel you are staying at!
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone on a bit of a budget, willing to be slightly away from the action of the old town.
Fingers crossed the wifi allows me to post this!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is on the boring side and basic but has large clean rooms with decent bathrooms. We had two rooms - one with a balcony and it was definitely better to be able to open up and get fresh air and dry clothes outside! No extras in rooms - no coffee making facilities, iron etc but comfortable clean and spacious. Also a blessing after lugging many heavy bags up endless flights of stairs - a lift! Front counter staff always seemed bored and not very interested but were helpful if pushed. A fair way from the old town but very near a beach and great restaurant strip. Aslo near the ferry terminal if coming or going by ferry. Walk an easy and interesting 30 minute journey to the Old Town, 10 minute bus trip by No. 6 bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky_M0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay for people who don't mind the detail in a hotel...The rooms don't have a fridge, or kettle to make coffees etc. The top floor has poor wi-fi, but it's great downstairs. The breakfast is okay, simple but nice. The staff are okay, some of them aren't very helpful but then others are extremely nice. I must say our room was always very clean and it was nice and bright. It's in a great location too, 200m away from the bus stop, and 50m away from a fruit shop and supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieNZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#43 of 68 in Dubrovnik
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Property: Hotel Ivka
Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing