We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two single beds makes for unromantic end to honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was fine and clean and included a buffet breakfast (not the best on the trip but not bad). The location wasn't great as it was a walk to the bus stop to get into the old town, and we ended up walking to lapud bay two evenings for dinner. Also the bed was just two single beds (with wood bed frames) pushed together which made for an unromantic end to our honeymoon. The staff were very helpful and booked a cab for our early morning flight home, and called when the cab arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

One of my worst hotel choices in all of Eastern Europe.

I was surprised by the poor impression left on me by Hotel Ivka, espescially after reading almost entirely positive reviews on here.

The first thing that put me offside was the way Im was treated at check-in.

I was downgraded to a single bed on arrival as I was on my own - despite having pre paid for the double room and dinner included (so I had technically paid for two dinners as well) I was told it was not possible to have a double room as a single person. This was a bit confusing for me, maybe it was their attempt to stop me bringing someone back to my room?

The room as small and basic, but in it's defense it was very clean.

Next the included dinner, in a word - terrible!
The chicken soup appeared to be hot water with a chicken stock cube and a dash of oil, not even up to two minute noodle quality, and the main courses, well lets just say I ended up venturing out for dinner.

The staff mostly speak reasonable English, except when you ask where your change from your drinks is - another lesson learnt, pay correct cash, or they will assume the change is a tip, even if it's more than the cost of the drinks!

This was the worst service in Dubrovnik and maybe all of Croatia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FiverACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A nice hotel - definitely recommended!

PROS
1. They bumped us up to a better room, since the place was fairly full
2. Incredibly good breakfast spread, gratis!
3. Good connectivity to the old town
4. Excessively cheerful but helpful staff :)
5. Very spacious room with an attached terrace and great view

CONS
1. Wifi connectivity was terrible

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was proper and in good conditions. The food also was very good. The only thing is that the staff wasn't friendly. Anyway in a general view i think that the hotel it was worthy, maybe i return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_b198805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed one night prior to boarding our cruise. We had a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel, it was clean and very quiet. The room was small but suited our purposes. Breakfast was good and the receptionist was very helpful in directing us to the bus stop(s) going to the Old Town and in getting us a taxi to Port Gruz. Hotel is a short distance from a walking path along the water front where some very nice restaurants are located.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gripbic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel stayed 06/04/2014 very clean and comfortable, Booked a double room and was given room with two single beds - receptionist not very helpful in explaining why the room booked was not offered.
Great breakfast everything was freshly cooked and made.

East access to the old town

Room Tip: All rooms have large balcony ask for 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_MBorehamwood_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were travelling with small children and stayed a week in Ivka. We were very satisfied. Room was clean and spacious. Our room was on the road side so we heard some noise from the traffic. The personnel was kind and helpful. Good breakfast buffet. Short way to the bus stop.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Outi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#54 of 68 in Dubrovnik
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kamara Dubrovnik
Kamara Dubrovnik
#45 of 68 in Dubrovnik
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £25 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing