We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option in the Area”
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Option in the Area”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hi - overall this hotel was fine for us. I can see it being tricky to find if you don't know the area, but we were dropped off at the door by a shuttle.

The hotel is clean and the rooms comfortable. The staff was very nice. There was a huge balcony on our room.

This hotel is not close to Dubrovnik. Taking the bus is fairly easy and will drop you off right outside the old city walls. We also walked all the way to the old city from the hotel one day. The walk is very well marked and a fun way to explore the city on foot and see other areas (rather than just the walled city).

The biggest drawback to this hotel, if you want to be near the old city, is just the location. Otherwise, it's a fine, budget friendly option for this region.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    150
    105
    19
    8
See reviews for
51
128
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were cleaned daily and the bed was fairly comfy. Only downside with the double bed is it is 2 wooden single frames pushed together. Usually I don't mind 2 singles pushed together but there was nothing covering the middle of the frame so it may as well just have been 2 single beds. The room was big and had lots f space plus was really quite clean. You can hear other people showering sometimes but this wasn't a huge bother. Service was absolutely amazing- all the staff were so friendly and helpful and always cheery. Definitely their selling point I would say. The food was average but generally helped us save quite a bit of money so we were grateful for the option. Drinks at the bar are quite reasonably priced too. As with location there is a supermarket on the way to the bus stop (a 1 minute walk away). The bus doesn't stop at the same place on the way back from the old city though- maybe about a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yas200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is perfect if your looking for somewhere to stay for a few nights and if you're willing to walk. There is a bus stop a short walk up the road and a supermarket. We walked most places however, so the location was fine for us but not too great if relying on public transport.

The hotel itself was clean, but the air conditioning was lacklustre, it only worked on one particular setting which just seemed to circulate the air. It would have been great if the third bed in the room was an actual single rather than a sofa bed, which kept folding up when sat on! The breakfast was satisfactory, the dinner didnt look too appetising so we ate out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here when visiting Dubrovnik. Since we booked the room a bit late we got one with a stone wall outside the window. We didn't have any problems at all to get a parking lot for the car. The whole hotel looks like something from the Soviet era, but it's clean, the staff is quite friendly and the breakfast is what you expect (bread, cheese, ham, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc). There's a bus stop nearby that takes you to the old town in about 10-15 minutes for 15 kn. We didn't try the hotel restaurant for dinner or lunch.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights from the 24th of June to the 1st of July, the hotel was very clean and in an excellent location! A bus stop is around a 200m walk up from the hotel and if you get on the number 6, it'll take you straight into the old town, for 15 kunas one way. The hotel is also situated near Lapad beach, and its worth a walk in there one evening for drinks etc. The food was as you'd expect, the buffet breakfast was a continental and what you'd expect for the price. Dinner also catered for everyone and offered a variety of fish and pasta dishes as well as a lot of fresh fruit and veg. For what we paid, we couldn't be happier! Would really recommend this hotel if you're trying to do Dubrovnik on a budget, but still want somewhere clean and friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a quick stop over from Montenegro, it was cheap and one of the only ones we could get in to at late notice.

The hotel was clean but very basic, I had a problem in the morning where another travler staying at the hotel came in to my room and stole a few items.

I have to say the hotel handled it very well called the police and had the chap arrested very quickly.

So fair play to the manager.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was fine and clean and included a buffet breakfast (not the best on the trip but not bad). The location wasn't great as it was a walk to the bus stop to get into the old town, and we ended up walking to lapud bay two evenings for dinner. Also the bed was just two single beds (with wood bed frames) pushed together which made for an unromantic end to our honeymoon. The staff were very helpful and booked a cab for our early morning flight home, and called when the cab arrived.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#43 of 68 in Dubrovnik
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,085 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Property: Hotel Ivka
Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing