We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay.”
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A very nice hotel, a short bus trip away from the Old Town. Get the number 6 or 9 into the Old Town and the number 4 back. Get off at the stop after the Belvedere Restaurant and then it is only a short downhill walk to the hotel instead of a climb up. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, the rooms we had were very clean and spacious with lovely bathrooms. The breakfast was more 5 star than 3 star , with cooked eggs, bacon sausages stc. as well as cold ham, cheese, fruit , yogurt ,rolls and so on. A very good trip to go is the Citybus tour. It cost 90 kn. but you get a free unlimited bus ticket to use another day. The 3 island boat trip is good and so is the "Taste of Dalmatia" excursion by Elite Tours. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestSussexMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ivka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

There is nothing thrilling about this hotel. The rooms are decorated in a traditional style and quite dark. I didn't like the hard mattress at all. The rest of the hotel facilities is nice, but nothing special. Breakfast was really bad - chemical juices, no fresh fruits, cheap salami and no fresh bread. Location is not the best either - quite far away from the center and situated on a tiny, but busy road without pedestrian paths.
It was o.k. for the 3 night business trip, but I would definitively never stay there for vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manolituca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We booked our room on very short notice via HRS. Got a great rate of €70 per double room including breakfast. All other hotels being offered on HRS, regardless of class, were charging in excess of €200 for the same period – so our expectations weren’t too high.

Thankfully, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff at reception were very efficient and friendly. The lobby area was functional and very clean.
We had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. Both were large and clean and the beds comfortable.
The rooms had (very good) air conditioning, which was a big plus.

The bathroom was large and clean. The shower had great water pressure, the only slight drawback was that the shower cabin was a bit on the small side.

Our rooms were at the side of the building, with a view of a wall and someone’s back garden. Despite this, the rooms were bright and the “non-view” wasn’t so bad.

The breakfast buffet was also more than adequate (the bacon and eggs were very good) and the dining room pleasant.
There is also a lobby bar and a 2nd restaurant, but we didn’t try these.

The hotel is about 15 - 20 minutes by bus from the old city, and the bus stops just a few meters from the hotel entrance.
A taxi back to the hotel for 4 people cost only a little more than the equivalent of the bus fare – so if you have a larger group, you might as well just take a cab.

Dubrovnik is a beautiful town, and we’ll surely return. We’d have no hesitation about returning to the IVKA hotel next time around.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenandaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

What a nice surprise!
Ivka Hotel was a taxi driver suggestion and I was a bit afraid if his real intention was a comission from any hotel around. It was late at night. No one was at the airport. And it was my first destination in Europe after a long flight from Brazil full of flight connections. Should a believe on a airport drivers suggestion?

I was completely surprised.

The taxi driver did a great suggestion: the rate was good, the room was big and clean, the breakfast was nice, and the staff was helpful.

The hotel was a very nice three stars hotel, close to everything that you need, a 30 minutes walk to the old town. It might seems far but not for those who, like me and my wife, enjoy strolling and making stops on any interesting spot while doing the stroll.

The port was on the way as lovely villas houses in front of amazing spots looking the sea horizon. So: go and stay there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I was absolutely delighted with this hotel. My room was huge (with a balcony about fifteen metres long) and for once everything (a/c, phone, TV, bedside lights, the lift, etc) worked perfectly. The staff (especially Alan, and the girl who was there when I arrived but whose name I forgot to ask) were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful - e.g. in giving a good suggestion for where to have supper in the old town. There was a computer in the lobby where I could check my email, and the breakfast (a buffet as usual, but with masses of choice including fresh things, and there are waiters to hand) was excellent. I booked the hotel on the internet, and I think I got a bargain.

One more thing. This is one hotel where I don't think people with limited mobility will have any problems, either with getting in or with moving about inside, including the landings and the lift.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

This is a very nice hotel, clean rooms, decent location, and nice people. A few minutes away from the bus station, and a few minutes walking from bars, grocery store, and shopping. The street in front of the hotel is a one way street, and only busy during the rush hour (if you can call that in a small town). The best part about this place is the people at the front desk, and the bar. They are all very nice, and helpful. The weakest part, by far, is the restaurant. Food and service are mediocre at best. Overall I would strongly recommend Hotel Ivka. Go Yug!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in September. Our room was adequate and we did not have any trouble with noise from the busy road that the hotel fronts.

As others have stated previously, the hotel is located in Lapad and is quite a distance to the old town by foot - about 30 minute walk. The bus stop is located in the same street but again as others have mentioned their is no footpath and the road is very busy.

Breakfast was OK, although you need to get in early if there are coaches staying in the hotel.

Free wi-fi is available in the lobby only and the staff were helpful and polite.

It's just an OK place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MudgeeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £38 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing