We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms spoilt the stay”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed for only 1 night , sept 2011. Great looking hotel, fantastic room with a balcony, excellent views over the sea. Facilities were generally very good, although the "beach" is just rocks and concrete, most Aussies would find it a bit of a joke. An unusual feature was a lot of cats in the garden that made themselves at home, most seemed well looked after and on for a pat or a scratch. Breakfast was a bit of a mad scramble, but ok. The overriding negative for this traveller was the noise that entered the room from the passagway, the door was obviously meant for somewhere else because it certainly didnt fit our room, massive gaps underneath, very hard to sleep when always being woken by someone walking or talking nearby. If not for this put the hotel in the above average rating.

Room Tip: Check the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barossabazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautiful and spacious rooms, friendly staff, beautiful sea-side, a modest wellness center, claufostrobic indoor swimming pool, below average food-level hotel with three stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirsad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A great family holiday! Beautiful hotel with great facilities. The staff work very hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Breakfast was enjoyable with a great choice to choose from. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel Ariston is a wonderful hotel with very helpful reception and dining room staff. We had a double suite which over looked the beautiful sea and small islands. Our rooms were very well equipped...2 amazing bathrooms!! Although The Ariston is outside the old city there is a direct and regular bus route which runs at all times of the day and night.
We had breakfast in the hotel and nothing was too much trouble. We didnt eat at the hotel for the evening meals.
We will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is a little out of the way, but well worth it. The views from the balconies are wonderful. Food is good - especially the breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainDon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel is located in a prime location on the Babin Kuk. The exterior is average, the rooms are very well equipped, although not to expect at a 5 star. Rooms are large, neat and comfortable. I paid for normal room, and got a free upgrade to the suite. The staff is the best part of the hotel. Top professionals, very friendly approach to every guest. I had a problem with the plane when arriving in Dubrovnik, which was late in the hotel, I arrived very late. Receptionist offered me dinner in the room, because dinner at the restaurant already finished. For every compliment. The pool is small but not crowded. The view from balcony is amazing. Hotel is not a true 5 star, but price is not excessive. I'll come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiderius68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I loved my stay at this hotel, helped by the hotel room with a balcony overlooking the Adriatic and the stunning sunsets. The staff were very helpful and the room was always clean and comfortable. The resort consists of two adjoined hotels sharing the same amenities - one a 3 star and one a 4 star; I stayed in the 4 start courtesy or a conference I was speaking at. The hotel is about 15 minutes drive from the beautiful antique city of Dubrovnik which is about €15 by taxi but there's a bus stop outside the hotel for about €1 and they run every 10 minutes.

Food at the hotel is a plentiful buffet but with very basic old-style Communistic cuisine. Plenty of choice so there's always something edible but lots of bony fish and touch meat if that's your thing. It wasn't mine.

One thing I don't recommend is the local 'attraction' of tours into Montenegro. It takes about 10 - 12 hours and most of that is spent in a mini-bus. Despite what the guide tells you the main stop is the beautiful city of Kotor (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kotor) where you only get 20 minute guided tour and left on your own for 1 hour. Then it's on to another city for lunch (not provided) and a 2 1/2 hour stop. There's about 1 hour of things to do there and only a small Old Town, so a long wait for the mini bus. The cost is about €40-50 and it's a waste of a whole day.

I would recommend this hotel for those wanting a short visit to Dubrovnik or a 1-2 day stopping off point to another city.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and pay the upgrade if you don't get one. At the time I visited there were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitebandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £71 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing