We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay - met my expectation”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay - met my expectation”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

*Room - Spacious bedroom with modern decor. Large "spotless" bathroom with shower(adjustable)/tub combo and ammenities. Everything looked brand-new. Comes with white terry slippers for comfort. Not crazy about closet hangers that are permanently attached to the rod. Windows looked fairly new but the way they open is very tricky. It opens out at an angle first, then slides open sideways so you can go out to the balcony. It took us a while to figure it out. Wi-Fi works great in the property and you can get the access code from the front desk.

*Facility - Outside the building could use some updating/touch-ups. Property is well-maintained though. Lounging areas by the pool looked very cozy and inviting (though we didn't get to use much.) Going down the steps to the beach you can see stunning view of Adriatic Sea, but it might be a challange for guests with disability.

*Restaurant (Breakfast buffet) - Good selection of hot entrees(meet/egg/veggie), cold cuts & cheeses, fruits (fresh & compote), varieties of flavored yogurt, assortment of bread/pastries.
Would have loved to have some waffles but they were not offered. Selection of teas was good but "pineapple juice" I had tasted like slightly sweet water. Overall the buffet was very good value though.

*Front Desk - Multi-lingual staffs were very professional, polite and efficient. For some reason they want to hold on to your passort, instead of making a quick photo copy and give it back to you. Make sure you get your bus tickets there for 12kuna (as of Aug'12) instead of getting them from the bus driver for 15kuna. Only thing I was not happy about was that they charged 8 kuna per guest per night at check-out for "Tourist Tax." I travel a lot and stayed at many hotels in Europe, Asia, Central America & Caribbean but have never been charged "Tourist Tax" separately at check-out. Caught me off guard a bit.

*Location/Access - as others mentioned it is easily accessed from the city by bus #6, which runs very frequently. Busy route but since the hotel is at the starting point of #6 you hardly have to wait (a bus or two usually sitting there) and you can always get a seat on your way to the city, and you don't have to worry about where to get off coming from the city since it's the last stop.

I would stay at Ariston again when I'm in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    207
    54
    10
    1
See reviews for
107
266
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ariston and would definitely stay again. Reception staff were a good balance of helpful, but efficient. So we never waited too long for anything.

Some reviews have mentioned the hotel is part of a larger complex. But we had no issues with it being too crowded. I loved the sunbeds around the rocks by the sea, you could easily be tucked from view and it felt very private. Easy access for swimming in the sea. The hotel gives beach towels to guests by the pool bar.

Rooms look a bit old fashioned in the pictures, but were lovely and so clean. I was very pleased to have been wrong. Pay extra for a sea view, there is really nothing to look at on the other side of hotel.

Breakfast was great - lots of choice. We went down at various times and there was alwasy enough food and not too many people. We had lunch at hotel, but not diner. Lunch was nice - but not alot of choice.

If you want somewhere different for food there is a restaurant near the bus stop. Or there is a path that will take you to Lapad beach. If you are facing the restaurant/beach bar, with your back to hotel - talk path to the left and just keep walking. Walk takes about 15 mins, but there are some small cafes along the way (one very close to hotel).

Bus to Dubrovnik as other people have mentioned is only 15-20 mins and stop is really close to hotel. As its the first stop on the route, the bus is usually there waiting. You will get off at the last stop, so couldn't be easier.

We emailed hotel and arranged for a private transfer from airport to and from hotel. Well worth 35 euros each way. This is same cost as taxi - but they are waiting when you land. You can also get bus into Dubrovnik and then 7 from bus station or 6 from old town to hotel.

My only negative - if you want to charge anything to the room you need to say when you order. As you get the bill per order, rather than building up a tab, it becomes a bit tiresome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very convenient location on the beach but only 15 min. away (by bus) to Dubrovnik's old city. Spacious room with enough space for 3 people. Modern & well kept bathroom. Good quality buffet breakfast with a lot of choices. Great beach facilities. We also had lunch & dinner in the hotel & decided that both were better then in most places in the old city.

Room Tip: Luxury Double or twin room with balcony and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in August 2012. The hotel is incredibly well resources and in a beautiful location close to everything. The staff were amazing, I came down with a cold & flu and they were all running around me with all sorts of tablets, teas, arranging to see a doctor. They were just wonderful. Especially Sladja she was great. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, U.K.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The position directly on the sea is perfect.There isn't a sandy beach but the rocky shoreline has been cleverly adapted to give both places to sunbathe and access to the clean warm sea. This is a modern light and spacious hotel maintained in good order and staffed by very helpful and friendly local people. All rooms have a lovely view and are spacious and very comfortable. Facilities include 3 pools (one for children), a gym and spa centre. My wife reports that her massage was excellent! We really enjoyed our stay.
Our only disappointment was the lack of a "special" place to eat. There are 2 restaurants, one where breakfast lunch and dinner is served to guests on a "package" and the "Zoe" which is supposed to be an alternative a la carte restaurant. This was disappointing both in ambiance and the choice & quality of food. It was generally the kind of standard I would expect of a 3* Brighton hotel - not a lovely 5* hotel in Croatia which this, in all other aspects is. A pity. 9.2

Room Tip: Since the lifts are efficient and there are wide marble staircases, a room on the upper floor gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights in mid August for Dubrovnik visit.
The room itself was fully in line with our expectations for 4* hotel - spacious, clean and comfortable. There were just minor repairs required, but nothing serious. (And I do not understand why they changed our bed the second day - from twin to double bed, which was better and originally preferred by us, but why only the second day?). The room location was not perfect - we requested the sea view and we got it, but on the ground floor, so majority of view was to restaurant building. Plus, the room was in some middle-floor and route to it was like a maze with several small stairs up and down (no real problem for us, but could be problem for somebody else).
The main issue is that announced Hotel Ariston is not a hotel by itself, but only a part of large Importanne Resort complex - 3* Hotel Neptun, 4* Hotel Ariston an Importane Suites - with all facilities combined, including reception, restaurant/breakfast, pools and beach. And, prevailing service is maximum 3*.
The worst is a food. Buffet breakfast is served in crowded noisy room and terrace with so much people that it is really impossible to enjoy it. While the variety seems to be good, quality of the food is low (worse scrambled eggs I never ate). Based on prior reviews we did not have buffet dinner, but as we arrived late, we tried hotel restaurant Zoe the first night - only below-average meals (after I complained on salad quality we were given for free the delicious desserts though). Next time we opted to stay for dinner in Dubrovnik center (easily reachable by frequent and crowded public buses).
The pools are small and beach is just rocks (standard in Dubrovnik), sunbeds 'reserved' by towels and 'beach' not tidy to 4* quality. The sea itself is quite clean and view perfect.
Overall, if you aim for quiet and luxury stay with reasonable food and services, try to choose another hotel - there should be better in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: sea view and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BFM_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My friend and I stayed in Ariston hotel only 5 nights but couldn't be happier with the experience. Everything about the hotel is good. It's clean, friendly staff, right by the sea and very good breakfasts.
The only slight downside is that it's in Lapad penninsula which is not walking distance from Dubrovnik. So you can either use taxi to get to and from Dubrovnik or number 6 bus (which is normally very crowded but cheaper than taxi).
All in all very good stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room...stunning views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuzkaMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Property: Ariston Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing