We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great stay in Dubrovnik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a great stay in Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was a enyoyable experience we will be back to stay a week ,the hotel staff were helpful,we had very good wireless internet,the room was big and the breakfast was good .it had two pools and you could swim in the ocean but be careful climbing down the ocean ladder.there was a public bus no 6 babin kuk which took 15 mins to get to Dubrovnik old town .
there is good walks along the water front which lead you to other eating places and beaches.
our room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    206
    52
    9
    1
See reviews for
104
260
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked to stay at the Ariston hotel through the Jet2 company, having previously used Jet2 before - our holiday was a package deal at half board basis.
The flight and transfers went as usual very well without delay or problem and Jet2 seem to be be very well organised.
When we arrived at the Ariston we were told that we had been upgraded to the Royal Palm section of the hotel and were driven in a golf buggy to the reception of our newly appointed hotel by a member of staff.
We were shown the room (which was spetacular) and the view from the balcony, which was equally spectacular, we were then told that we would be taking breakfast at the "La Castille" restraunt and the "Mediterraneo" restraunt for our evening meal, all facilities were well demonstrated and overall we were suitably very and excited by the upgrade.
The room looked like it had been recently re-furbished and had that new smell about it - there was a small bathroom immeadiatley to the right on entering the room with a walk in shower, a kitchenette to the left with everything you would need, including a microwave, and a safe which was free of charge to use. you also had a large well furnished and decorated lounge area, with balcony and a very large bedroom with double glass doors to a sea view - both with large plasma TVs, and finally a further very large bathroom with bath and shower toilet and his and hers wash basins, all in all very impressive!
The next morning we set off to breakfast, which we had looking out to the sea on decking outside the restraunt with stunning views - the food selection was very good and of good quality but with one critisism - the hot food was always cold.
In the evening we dined at the Mediteranneo restraunt which has equally stunning views. it might be worth noting at this point that there is not a single large dinning room as in many hotels but seperate individual restraunts for the hotels. the food in the Mediteranno was very dissapointing due to poor selection, frozen food use and once again cold food - 5 star no not even 3!. we choose to eat out at a local restraunt on may occasions just have warm to hot food, if this hotel complex got its food right it would have been the perfect holiday, but over a two week period it did not- being served vegatables, potatoe croquets, breaded meats ( which were most likely to have been cooked from frozen is not 5 star).
However the pool area is very well maintained, clean and the staff are very polite and helpfull - getting a sunbed was never a problem, and clean towells are given out each day.
overall the Importanne resort is excellent but and a big but the food was poor particularly at the Mediterraneo restraunt.

The Area;
firstly when you arrive, you do not need to buy water - the tap water is perfectly safe to drink and bottle water cost a small fortune.

The bus service from near the hotel is excellent - but remeber to pr-buy your tickets from the reception, they are cheaper.

there is a small shopping area with bars and restraunts near the hotel which for some reason you are not told about. simply go the the bus stop and carry on along the path to the right for about 300m, you will find shops, bars and good eating at half the price, we ate at the Dubrava restraunt and it was excellent - the best steak ever!
The Fontana bar is also very good for snacks and drinks.

The no 6 bud will take you to Dubrovnik - which is stunning, dont forget to explore the small side streets and alley ways for a true feel.
We also went to Lokrum, which is a small island near Dubrovnik (the botanical island) dont waste your money, there is nothing there, instead go to Cavata by boat - it is stunning.

Room Tip: insist on a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the Ariston. When we first arrived, we truly felt like we had landed in paradise, and we never quite lost that feeling for the entirety of our week-long stay. The location is gorgeous, perched above the sea, with an impressive lounge area carved right out of the stone beach berm. Our room was spacious and tasteful. The buffets at breakfast and dinner were delicious and generous. The staff were consistently helpful and accommodating. I couldn't dream up a more perfect vacation spot!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Service was absolutely outstanding from check-in to check-out. Staff were very friendly at a minimum, and regularly went above and beyond to ensure everything during our stay was going perfectly. Room was clean, spacious and quiet, with a large bathroom. Hotel beach is rock, as is common, but an easy place to spend a whole day reading and relaxing. Also perfect spot to dive into the crystal clear water, or a few cocktails. If you're looking for coffee, the bar in the lobby is the best spot.

The hotel is a short bus ride from the Old Town, and honestly I preferred being a little outside the madness. Getting to and from the Old Town was very easy. If you're out partying during high season, I'd recommend taking a cab back to the hotel. The returning public buses occasionally get overcrowded, and the hotel is close enough to town that the trip is easily affordable. Lapad is only a short walk along the water away, and good place to grab lunch and hang out at the beach.

FYI: If for whatever reason you are in need of Kuna, the hotel will gladly exchange currency for you, but doesn't have an ATM. The closest one is a 10 min walk away.

Overall the week I spent couldn't have been better, and is an awesome place to vacation with friends, or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidneves1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Overall a good quality hotel indeed our rooms allocated in the middle block (not called Ariston) were ideal for us connecting rooms with small sitting area.
Prices generally comparable to UK. Pools/Decking/rocky area by sea good and clean. Perhaps not quite the 5* touch overall. Good position short Taxi ride to town. Would I go Back? Yes but like all hotels be specific about room required.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon at the start of September 2013. Set in the Importanne Resort on the Lapad Peninsula a short bus ride away from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. There was a bus service into the Old Town which ran every 15 minutes (number 6).

The room was lovely with a sea view, spacious and comfortable. There was a bath and shower in the bathroom. Unfortunately it suffered from one major drawback for us, like many hotels the bed was two twins put together, I would really have preferred a real double bed for our honeymoon.

The resort is well equipped with three swimming pools and a private beach. The beach is stony rather than sand (like most of the ones in Croatia). You can swim in the beautifully clean waters of the Adriatic. The beach is blue flag listed. The bottom pool near the beach is salt water the other nearer the to the complex is smaller but chlorinated.

The staff were very helpful, however especially in the dining area I felt that there were overstretched. We took the hotel on half board and this was the most disappointing feature. The buffet style breakfast and dinner attempted to cater for so many people that the service suffered. Also things were left out too long, for example all the bread was left out at the beginning of the service so if you ate later on it was mostly starting to go stale.

Apart from the buffet restaurant (Mediterraneo) there were two other - Zoe and La Castile. We actually complained about the buffet food and service and were allowed to take our meals in La Castile.

There was a bar near to the beach which did cocktails, they had a cocktail of the day for 36 Kuna. There was also a bar at reception where you could relax with a drink, it was quite expensive 40 kuna's for a Gin and Tonic.

We used the hotel laundry service one day and it was excellent they cleaned and pressed our clothes within a couple of hours.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just came back from a trip to stunning Dubrovnik, and Ariston, part of the Importanne Resort roster of hotels, was the perfect home base to experience the city. One thing that stands out is the friendly service at all times, the concierges were amazing and prompt with restaurant and activity reccomendations the door staff were all smiles and the front desk staff were very helpful.
The cocktail of the day by the sea-side bar is a must! Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Property: Ariston Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing