We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at Ariston twice and we love it. This time we were 4 persons in a suite in the newbuilt part; Princess. Beautiful room and furniture and the view to the Adriatic and three tiny islands is amazing. Felt like coming home when we came back, and we will definitily return. Perfect for adults who want some comfort, but not too much stifness. We ordered a catch up at the airport, perfect! Easy to go to and from the old town, we used both bus and taxi. Try out a perfect restaurant just some minutes walk from the hotel, along the path into town: Restaurant More.

Room Tip: Suites with seaview in Importanne or Princess are the best!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Ariston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We found our hotel to be overall lovely - great location with beautiful Adriatic views, a short bus ride away from the craziness of the Old Town, accommodating staff, and terraces and pools to watch the sunset. The buffet breakfast was surprisingly good for the large numbers of people served. The Mediteranneo restaurant was just ok, but our server Tatianna was very good and went out of her way to come over and greet us at other times during our stay. The only issue we had is the concierges were young and inexperienced in regards to knowing good restaurants. I was steered away from Trip Advisor top rated restaurants to local, touristy type restaurants. I found Pia to be unhelpful. When I asked her to cancel a restaurant and make another reservation she seemed annoyed. When she tried to call the new restaurant I was told there was a technology problem with the phone and she said that it was only 5 min away so just go there. It was a Sat night so I wanted to make sure we had a reservation. She said she'd try to call them again and let me know. She never got back to me. Despite this annoyance, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank pattiann1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A much needed break away from work, stunning setting, extremely comfortable, staff friendly, helpful and accommodating, could not ask for more.

It was so easy from start to finish, not far from Dubrovnik, but far enough that it felt away from the hustle and bustle, didn't really need to leave the hotel - which is not what I am normally like in a resort, but it was just so lovely right where we were. Food was great, and atmosphere was sunny and relaxed.

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernclimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have been to Dubrovnik once before and love the old city. I decided to stay longer this time (3 days) and really take in, not only the city, but the activities as well. I stayed at Hotel Ariston with my girlfriend and was in for an absolute treat. The hotel made it very easy for us to take kayaks and Stand Up paddleboards out into the tame Adriactic Sea. We were also given a speedboat tour of the Elafiti islands, which is highly recommended!! On top of that, the rooms were clean floor to ceiling and the staff was professional, courteous and helpful when we asked where we should eat in the Old City. All around: great experience and no complaints. Will definitely stay here next time we come to Croatia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had 2 nights in Croatia and stayed here in August. The hotel was in a lovely setting. There was access to the sea via the rocks but was a bit of a challenge on the days we were there as it was a bit choppy. There were plenty of chairs scattered around the rocks to sit on and a bar service for drinks. It was also in a good location for exploring the old city. The bus was cheap and took you into the city and back in around 20 mins.
The hotel was average but the rooms were very spacious and clean. The food options were poor and too expensive but it was our only option. If I was staying longer I would eat in the city or elsewhere. Compared to hotels in the city, this was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was a enyoyable experience we will be back to stay a week ,the hotel staff were helpful,we had very good wireless internet,the room was big and the breakfast was good .it had two pools and you could swim in the ocean but be careful climbing down the ocean ladder.there was a public bus no 6 babin kuk which took 15 mins to get to Dubrovnik old town .
there is good walks along the water front which lead you to other eating places and beaches.
our room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked to stay at the Ariston hotel through the Jet2 company, having previously used Jet2 before - our holiday was a package deal at half board basis.
The flight and transfers went as usual very well without delay or problem and Jet2 seem to be be very well organised.
When we arrived at the Ariston we were told that we had been upgraded to the Royal Palm section of the hotel and were driven in a golf buggy to the reception of our newly appointed hotel by a member of staff.
We were shown the room (which was spetacular) and the view from the balcony, which was equally spectacular, we were then told that we would be taking breakfast at the "La Castille" restraunt and the "Mediterraneo" restraunt for our evening meal, all facilities were well demonstrated and overall we were suitably very and excited by the upgrade.
The room looked like it had been recently re-furbished and had that new smell about it - there was a small bathroom immeadiatley to the right on entering the room with a walk in shower, a kitchenette to the left with everything you would need, including a microwave, and a safe which was free of charge to use. you also had a large well furnished and decorated lounge area, with balcony and a very large bedroom with double glass doors to a sea view - both with large plasma TVs, and finally a further very large bathroom with bath and shower toilet and his and hers wash basins, all in all very impressive!
The next morning we set off to breakfast, which we had looking out to the sea on decking outside the restraunt with stunning views - the food selection was very good and of good quality but with one critisism - the hot food was always cold.
In the evening we dined at the Mediteranneo restraunt which has equally stunning views. it might be worth noting at this point that there is not a single large dinning room as in many hotels but seperate individual restraunts for the hotels. the food in the Mediteranno was very dissapointing due to poor selection, frozen food use and once again cold food - 5 star no not even 3!. we choose to eat out at a local restraunt on may occasions just have warm to hot food, if this hotel complex got its food right it would have been the perfect holiday, but over a two week period it did not- being served vegatables, potatoe croquets, breaded meats ( which were most likely to have been cooked from frozen is not 5 star).
However the pool area is very well maintained, clean and the staff are very polite and helpfull - getting a sunbed was never a problem, and clean towells are given out each day.
overall the Importanne resort is excellent but and a big but the food was poor particularly at the Mediterraneo restraunt.

The Area;
firstly when you arrive, you do not need to buy water - the tap water is perfectly safe to drink and bottle water cost a small fortune.

The bus service from near the hotel is excellent - but remeber to pr-buy your tickets from the reception, they are cheaper.

there is a small shopping area with bars and restraunts near the hotel which for some reason you are not told about. simply go the the bus stop and carry on along the path to the right for about 300m, you will find shops, bars and good eating at half the price, we ate at the Dubrava restraunt and it was excellent - the best steak ever!
The Fontana bar is also very good for snacks and drinks.

The no 6 bud will take you to Dubrovnik - which is stunning, dont forget to explore the small side streets and alley ways for a true feel.
We also went to Lokrum, which is a small island near Dubrovnik (the botanical island) dont waste your money, there is nothing there, instead go to Cavata by boat - it is stunning.

Room Tip: insist on a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £73 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing