We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Dubrovnik”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel Ariston is a cluster of 4 hotels on the coast, great cocktail bar and sunsets at the end of each day, the Hotel room was big, clean and had a great bathroom and awesome power shower. Location great and buses easy to get into old town and harbour areas, but the tickets at reception, you will need two tickets one for each way for each person, if you are there for a 3-day break then the Dubrovnik Card is great and covers all transport, city wall and museums, good value. I would recommend Elite Travel they book excursions and the day trip to Karluca was great, included Ston Walls, boat trip and wine tasting on the way back, well worth it.
Back to the Hotel, indoor pool nice and warm and breakfasts had everything you could think of, good spread and set you up for the day ahead. I have only rated this Hotel as average as the evening meals were not ideal, I was there 4 nights and only really had hot food on one night, as it is a buffett style meal service, it was an art to get the food hot enough on the hot plates and the selections not that good, even I do not like boiled cauliflower most nights :-((
Great Location, and good rooms, you need to ask for the tea and coffee for the rooms and milk from the cafe bar in Reception, as others have said the Reception is busy and does not offer any cozy welcome when the are very busy, the Hotel complex had over 10 coaches arrive one evening, so I can imagine the smile goes quite quickly.
Good Hotel for short break, old town, harour and island hopping, would go back, but only on a B&B choice. Croatia and Dubrovnik both fantastic, please visit and enjoy for yourself. x

Room Tip: Use the buses easy to use, get your tickets from Reception for your day out. Ask for a higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mozza-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of October 2013 and it was great. Having been told that it was a 20 minute bus journey into Dubrovnik Old City, we were a bit concerned that it would be a hassle to get in and out of town but it really wasn't. The buses run every 15 minutes and are never that packed (although we weren't there in high season!). We were upgraded to a suite which had fantastic sea views and was great but we really didn't need a kitchenette etc as we hardy spent any time in the room - there is so much to see and do in the area. The staff were wonderful - very friendly, approachable and helpful. We had cocktails in the bar one night at sundown which was amazing - what light. Cocktails were ok too. Breakfast was the usual buffet but the fruit and vegetables were delicious, bread seemed to be freshly baked and my husband said that the scrambled eggs were good too! high praise! I would recommend this hotel - there are four outdoor pools and various areas to sunbathe by the sea as well as a section off bit for sea swimming. Although there were always people in the water, we didn't join them, purely because we wanted to sightsee rather than sunbathe.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idontsunbathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We really liked our stay at this hotel. We were actually upgraded from the slightly lower category and had a great room with a view to the sea, although the price was still rather high for a stay during the low season.
The breakfast is great, and you can sit on a large terasse that faces the sea. If you want to get in touch, I recommend the bus which takes about 15 minutes and runs rather frequently.
We also enjoyed the swimming area where you can directly jump into the crystal clear sea. However, I also cut my foot from a stray piece of glass, obviously more care needs to be taken when cleaning up broken glassware.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emu901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this hotel via Booking.com and had a pleasant surprise when we arrived. We stayed there just for 2 nights but we were offered an upgrade for the adjacent Royal Princess Hotel. We stayed in a new apartment with kitchen, bedroom, two bathrooms and a living room. The hotel facilities were also very nice, including the pool with the most amazing sea view and sunset. Breakfast was good with fresh food. The hotel is a short 15min ride by bus from the city center. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjaccoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ariston for 4 nights in August 2013. Our stay was excellent, staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good and fresh fruits! Centre of town was 15 mins away with a bus ride. I would suggest that for longer stays to rent a car and go out side of the city to explore the country side and numerous wineyards on the Korcula.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is part of a hotel group based together at Babin Kuk. This peninsular is truly beautiful and only a short bus ride from the city center. It's quite peaceful with spectacular views and a few local bars and restaurants nearby, though we preferred to go into the city at night as the atmosphere was stunning and food cheaper there (though not 'cheap'. about £8 for a pasta dish or £15 for a fish dish. £6 a cocktail. local beer and wine was good)
On arrival we were upgraded to a 'suite' with a sea view, with 2 bathrooms, 2 tvs, a lounge with fridge, cooker, table, sofa, kettle and microwave and a double bedroom. Our balcony had a spectacular view across the bay.
Breakfast was the usual buffet- my only criticism being that the cooked food was a bit cold at times and tasted a bit sweet for my taste. There was lots of choice though.
We went to 'the rocks' which was a saltwater pool area down by the sea with loungers etc. The setting was great and there were always plenty of loungers (though it was October). umbrellas and beach towels provided. The thing that spoilt this idyllic spot for me was the music from the bar area which played all day. I guess some people would like it but I wanted to hear the waves and have a bit of peace! Also it was quite windy so at times it wasn't safe to have an umbrella up, though again it was October! You can buy drinks and snacks there and the view is gorgeous.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but reception were helpful and also sell bus tickets at a discounted price. The number 6 bus stops outside and takes you straight into town in about 15 minutes for £3 return. We never had to wait for a bus.
All in all a great hotel in a lovely setting and a great base for a trip to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trisha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I agree with the previous reviews extolling the fabulous location (right on the "Dubrovnik Riviera," with amenities like a spa, steam room, 3 pools, beautiful views. I also agree with the fact that the front desk staff needs a little more training in customer service. (Most everyone is helpful & friendly but it is disconcerting to call the front desk and get a "What?" greeting...more than once.) The other point I want to make is that this hotel is Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free friendly. My husband, our 22 year old daughter and I traveled to Dubrovnik after a short stay in Istanbul. My daughter is Vegan and we realized that we were going to have some problems finding eating options for her on vacation. She drank her morning coffee black most days. (The mystified looks she got in Istanbul when asking for "soya milk" are funny now. "Milk...comes from cows...what is a soy?") The Ariston (especially the fabulously extensive breakfast buffet spread!) has soy, rice & oatmeal milk, gluten free bread & cereal, a lunch & dinner menu marked with vegan or gf options and is knowledgeable in substitutions.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balconies are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £80 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing