We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ariston - a beautiful spot about 15 mins from the old City”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hotel Ariston - a beautiful spot about 15 mins from the old City”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We spent a week here after an unfortunate experience in a neighbouring 4 star hotel. The owner Manager was extremely accommodating and very honest about his hotel. He described the overall resort as a good 4 star and the rooms in the Ariston as 5 star.
We had a seaview room in the Ariston - recently refurbished. Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Contrary to other reviews, we found the reception staff very helpful - organised a jetski outing for a birthday present. Two of the swimming pools were emptied every night and the pool/beach furniture was well maintained.
The food was good - the breakfast buffet was plentiful and frequently replenished. We did not book half board and there are so many great places to eat in Dubrovnik that I would not bother with half board - the menu looked quite limited and we enjoyed going out in the evenings.
The old town is a 15-20 minute bus ride from the hotel (tickets are cheaper purchased in advance from the hotel) In high season (when we were there), the buses are busy, not air conditioned and a bit of a bun fight , however they start from a stop near to the hotel, so we always got a seat on the outward journey and at the equivalent of £1 each way, it is pretty cheap. Old town is fabulous - very hot within the walls and lots going on until very late. Some lovely restaurants - we loved Poliksar (great pianist) and had a delicious celebratory meal at Gils (mixed reviews but we thought food was deliciious) Buza bar also a great find.
The alternative to the old town is a stroll from the hotel down to Lapad. The walk goes right past the beach front of the Ariston and although at night the path is not brilliantly lit all the way, it is a spectacular walk in parts and there are some lovely eating places - casa (on the harbour front ) was our favourite.
All in all a lovely holiday, we would return to Dubrovnik and the Ariston although next time, I would avoid peak season

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkbessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    210
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
109
273
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

When the taxi driver drove us to the hotel he said 'great hotel, fantastic views, quiet location'. We presumed this was the kind of thing he said to everyone - but once inside we completely agreed with him.

The purpose of our trip was a few days away somewhere where we could soak up the sun. The hotel had 3 pools & most impressive of all was the view of the sea (which you could also swim in via the various hotel steps). We were recommended a bar in the Old Town called Buza Bar which was supposed to have the best views in dubrovnik - we went there but felt it was no comparison to our hotel view. If your looking for a bar with a view try Giles - its quite expensive & a bit pretentious, but I would recommend you stop there for one cocktail just to soak up the view & admire the decor.

The rooms were clean & modern with A/C & nice outside patios. The food was ok - breakfast was a buffet & we only ate lunch which was pizza, salads etc. This hotel is about 15minutes from the Old Town by bus or taxi. If you take a trip into the Old Town we would recommend the Restoran Dubrovnik were we sat on a open terrace & had a 5 course meat/fish menu & wine for about £30 each. The food was good & service outstanding.

Our flight was cancelled on the way home so we had to stay for another night. The staff were fantastic and sorted it all out for us. We also had to check out at noon on our last day however our flight was not until a lot later. We stayed by the pool & then the hotel let us use the showers etc in the spa/gym area.

All four of us would go back there again without any hesitation. For the price we paid which was about £60 a night the whole experience was very good. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We returned from this hotel yesterday. I had originally booked a superior room at the hotel Neptune, but was placed in the Ariston which I believe is the better of the two. The room was clean, bright, perfect temperature and had a beautiful view over the Adriatic. We slept with our balcony door open, listening to the waves lapping up on the rocks. Lovely.

The hotel has 3 pools. 2 of which are sea water pools. These are located a little way down the steps away from the main hotel reception area. The benefit of this is that from our room, we couldn't hear a thing. Not even some of the banging trance music coming from the beach bar on occasion! The pools are located very close to the sea edge and the planning of sunbathing areas inbetween the rocks is very clever. It offers space and an element of privacy and gave me the opportunity to go uncharacteristically mad and launch myself into the sea from the rocks. Well, it had to be done...

The beach bar was great and a lovely place to chill out inbetween toasting ourselves.

There are 2 restaurants on site. One of them offers an evening buffet, which whilst ok (we tried it just the once when we arrived), was quite expensive for what it was. I would recommend bed & breakfast and then head out in the evening to the old town or on a stroll along the coast to the next bay where there are numerous bars/restaurants. I read another comment regarding unimaginative breakfast and couldn't agree more. Although it was decent enough and kept me going for quite some time, so can't grumble.

There is a lot of free space in certain areas, like the balcony by the Mediterraneo restaurant and I would thoroughly recommend they make use of these spots by putting in perhaps a pool table / air hockey etc. There is very little to do for kids. Although the little blighters seemed to find much amusement in running up and down the hotel corridors at night; possibly whilst their parents worked their way through the extensive cocktail menu at the beach bar. Bring your trip wire for additional amusement :)

All in all, a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussextraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel. All staff but one (on lady at the front counter talked to us like we were a nuisance, but the others were great) were very friendly and were able to give us some helpful advice.

What was perfect was the location on the bus route path. The stop is a small walk, and it's the start of the route. this meant that you were first on the bus and generally got a seat, which I can't say for other stops as this bus fills up FAST. The other benefit to the route was that the old city is the last stop, perect for those of us who hate this part of any trip. The (nice) lady at the counter explained this to us and for about 30KN (I think) each, we got an all day pass (sold at the front desk). So basically we get into the city early at 8am (a must if you want to avoid the crowds), saw what we had to, left on the bus (which hadn't gotten crowded yet), and left back to the resort. We then swam, had a shower and set off back to the old city for dinner. The bus was very crowded at night both ways, but having the benefit of being the first on stop generally still saw us getting a seat. If the bus looked crowded we waited for the next and took a seat then.

Back to the resort.....swimming was excellent. There is no real beach (that I saw), there's a sun deck, and all through the rocky shore there is concrete patches leveling out the ground to allow for sun spots. This may sound odd, but it was perfect. The leveling out also applied to jump off spots into the sea. There are a lot of good spots and some high ones as well which was great for the brave. The water is deep immediately off the rocks so there is no worry of touching the bottom.

Rooms were perfect, we had a superior balcony ocean view and the view was amazing. The Ariston appears to be the newer of the Importanne resort so room and washroom seemed brand new. The only pain in the butt was the sliding door, which was very hard to get closed properly. You had to slam it shut at risk of doing some damage.

Parking for guests was first rate, the gents that receive you when ou get out of your car will take you to a designated spot, drop the barricade, and once you have parked, will put it up again. There is really no need for the car due to the bus, so leaveit there for your stay. This was no charge, and perfect!

We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast because the food in the old city is so amazing, but the free buffet was good enough. The buffet didn't have the typical North American food, but hey, your on vacation and there to experience new things. The food at the restaurant for dinner was a little $$, which makes going into the city even more appealing.

Finally, if you are visiting Dubrovnik, get a GPS, it'ssooooo worth it. The driving can be tight and figuring out where you are going is the last thing you want to be doing when the locals are driving like maniacs.

If I was to visit Dubrovnik again, this is the place i would stay, no questions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Not_Well_Travelled73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at the Ariston for 4 nights in late June, 2010. The hotel is very good, and I enjoyed my stay very much. The prices are not at all ecessive, and the staff is very very nice and communicative (but I guess this might have to do with me speaking the local language). Although they're nice and helpful, they're not always 100% efficient (although they do try). Patience (and, possibly, a dose of good humour) is required when dealing with them; and be sure to double-check every arrangement. If you keep this in mind, I'm sure you'll have a perfect stay.
The hotel has a very nice beach (but keep in mind that most beaches in the eastern Adriatic are rocky: so is this one), and several pools. The location is awsome, and the atmosphere is relaxing. The hotel is very clean, and the service is ok.
Breakfast: the food is of excellent quality, but the selection is unimaginative. Contrary to the food, juices are of poor quality, the teas are average, and coffee is simly terrible. However, the breakfast terrace has a great view that compensates for everything.
The food at the hotel restaurant is average. The quality of food is clearly very good, but the chef is apparently not the best one. Prices are affordable, and I would recommend the lunches. As for more fancy dinners, I would suggest to try some place in the town center instead. Some of the wines are quite good (especially the red ones, and the local Dalmatian Malvasia), but others are average.
In other words: you will most likely have a great stay, if you cope with the idea that many things are just not at their best (although I don't think you will have any outward negative experience).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drugiviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

that last review penarth83 must have been in another planet we came from ireland for two weeks and would have been in the hotel on dates given by there review every thing about this hotel was 1st class do some people go on holidays just to have a whinge our advice is ignore these people

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisandniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

The service was of poor quality. If it was not for the lady who cleaned our room we felt there was no one else who cared.
There was no management of the beach area. It was not cleaned up in the week we were there. Towels were left lying around for days cigarette stubs and other rubbish even broken glass. On a windy day there was no supervision of the umbrellas. he stands were left on the rocks and on one occasion an umbrella blew into the sea and got stuck on the coral but no effort was made when reported to try and retrieve it. No effort made to repair or replace broken umbrellas and their bases. In other resorts we have stayed at there would have been an employee in charge controlling this and stopping people using umbrellas if too windy.
In the bar by the reception staff were quick enough to sell a drink but not so quick to keep the place clean. The seats were wet and the floor sticky.
Food was poor standard. Fortunately we only had breakfast. Staff only concerned to stir the porridge and the scrambled egg to stop skin forming did not bother about broken glass on floor until it was pointed out. Olives, tomato sauce etc. were left exposed uncovered on plates all week. Spoons left in the jam where they had fallen in. Chips and mixed vegetables were being served up at breakfast and looked as though they had been left over from the night before
Many of the amenities advertised were not available such as the Well being massage and beauty area and the jacuzzi, sauna etc area inside.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penarth83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Property: Ariston Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing