We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Marco is a fab host and so helpful. Fantastic location 2 mins from town, plenty of room and very comfy beds. Great shower too with instant non stop hot water. Couldn't fault it and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donkeyhat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    21
    5
    10
See reviews for
2
22
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is like something out of a movie. A few steps from your door is a lovely small ocean inlet and which is perfect for sun baking or having a beer at sunset. It is only a few minutes walk from the min gate but away from the crowds and hustle and bustle. The hostel itself is clean and attracts a good group of people. It's not a party hostel, it's more of a small and intimate place. I loved it go here and Marco the oner went out of his way to help me with any questions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The hostel has an amazing location! It is right outside the city walls of the old town, and is therefore only 2-3 minutes walk away all the best thing to see in Dubrovnik! The owner is extremelly helpful, and loves to give you tips on the best places to visit, and eat! The hostel is clean, and we were blessed with a beautful view of the sea from Pile Bay.
Such incredibly friendly staff and allways funny owner. The rooms absolutely spotless and we would struggle to find fault for Hostel range.
Definitely worth every penny! Also, it has a kitchen, and a supermarket nearby, which is good for budget-travelsers, since Dubrovnik is quite expensive. Thanks for a great stay Marco!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in may 2013, had a private room with shared bathroom.
We loved it here, it is perfect location, just outside old town walls. About 1 minute walk from bus stop and the main entrance into old town. Close to beaches and markets etc. Marko the manager is a superstar, so friendly and helpful,made you feel very welcomed into Dubrovnik, part of the family. He gave us a map and really good tips on the city. Our room was perfect, clean, spacious, had nice big towels and hot showers. He even gave us a discount on our accommodation because we didn't have correct change. We would recommend Marco and his apartments to anyone traveling to Dubrovnik:) loved it

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Can't imagine a better hostel experience. Right as soon as you get in, the dude working the front desk will immediately become your new best friend, give you a full rundown of exactly what you should do during your weekend in Dubrovnik.The people do make a difference. The facilities were basic but nice, they don't charge to rent a towel, sheets..., and there are bus station,city center,swiming spots,bars close by. Good staff, good location(not with a fake smile) - solid hostel.
Everyone just made me feel very welcome in Dubrovnic.

Room Tip: Room 6 top floor with old city and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haward0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here with a mate for 3 days in June 2012 and found it a great value option. Marko's son Lucas was absolutely brilliant, giving us pointers on a map on places to eat, drink and avoid as Dubrovnik has a few of these places.

I especially wish I'd followed his advice on places to avoid, as one place in an area he'd said to avoid stung me and a mate for £7 a pint each! Luckily we'd had only one each with our lunch. I can't remember the name of the place but it was very near the bus stops at the entrance to old town, in fact more or less in line with the apartments.

Lesson: always check the drinks prices, especially if they aren't listed and food prices seem reasonable (as a lure).

But back to the apartment. We had a top floor twin room, and shared kitchen and shared bathroom. It was spacious and comfortable enough,had air con and was a stones throw from old town. In terms of value it was damn good, maybe the only thing that could improve it would be a mini-safe. The apartments were obviously lockable and self contained though so possibly I'm being picky. Would definitely recommend as a good value option in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimboJonesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hostel we were able to check in 3 hours early, which meant we could shower and freshen up ready for the day. We were then told that as it was low season our 4 bed dorm was upgraded to 2 twin rooms for no extra cost. Bonus!
Marco, the owner, was really friendly and helpful. He gave us a map of the area and promptly gave us a 20min talk of where to go and where to avoid. He really did make sure we had the best possible stay.
The lady who did all the cleaning was a machine, everyday she'd be around making sure the place was spotless.

Overall, for the cost, this hostel is great. The location is just outside the old town which meant it was a bit quieter, with a little beach/cove round the corner that wasn't overrun by tourists. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#59 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MirO Studio Apartments
MirO Studio Apartments
#1 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Zoro
Apartments Zoro
#35 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Property: Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Address: Svetoga Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing