We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Dirty - a campsite would be cleaner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Dirty - a campsite would be cleaner!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Where to start... plus points I guess, it's close to the old town, only 2 minutes walk from the walls.

Now onto the bad points... our main issue really was cleanliness with this place, starting with the bedrooms. All sheets were stained with god knows what, some rank flannelette sheet to sleep on and a dodgy old free standing air con unit in the corner with pipe poking out the window. The floor was literally covered in all manner of hair, long hair, short hair, curly hair, pubic hair - I could go on. I don't have to spell this out, but this place never gets cleaned between guests. There was a thick layer of dust all over the bedside table, and we were having to brush our feet clean before getting into bed. It was truly disgusting.

Then onto bathroom, as can be seen in the picture, it was thick with mould to the point where we didn't use the upstairs bathroom (stinky broom cupboard), we used the downstairs one instead as it was marginally better. This one was slightly bigger and had a bath with a shower over it, the bath was streaky with several years worth of dead skin cells. Again this bathroom hadn't been 'cleaned' I think they just cleaned the basin and toilet, the floor and bath were quite frankly laughably dirty - think student house filled with 6 boys.

So in conclusion, this place is close to the old town but unless you want to catch something I'd either spend the extra few pounds and get a hotel or stay a little further out. I'm slightly offended we paid £123.87 for two nights, it ruined our time in Dubrovnik - please don't make the same mistake!

I hope the photos stop management from denying how grim this place really is.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    25
    22
    5
    10
See reviews for
2
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The owner of the hostel is a thief. Marko charged me an additional $150 on my credit card for leaving a bad review on hostelworld. My stay at this hostel was terrible. First, the wifi did not work at all in the rooms and because of that some girls that were staying at the hostel got in an argument with Marko who started yelling at them and threatened them of eviction. Speaking the language, I tried to back up the girls but he got very aggresive at me, threatening of "throwing me in the sea". He wanted to fight me for absolutely no reason.

Also, the beds are extremely uncomfortable. The rules of the hostel are extremely severe. There is no noise or drinking allowed passed 11 in the common room which makes it very difficult to socialize with fellow backpackers.

You will find much better deals in private apartments!!! AVOID MARKER AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MakDoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel within 2 nuns walking of the old city. It is super close the a secluded beach and the owner is so helpful and accommodating. It's a great hostel and although it a bit costlier than the other hostels its worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audi280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was extremely happy to find out that the hostel I had booked without much planning turned out to be in the old town of Dubrovnik. Still it is very easy to reach by bus. Just 2 minutes walk down the stairs into the old town from the city centre bus station. The hostel is split into three buildings that are a minute or so walk apart from each other. I did not stay in the main building but in one of the smaller buildings around the corner. Our 4-bed room was simple but clean and had working air condition. The staff was extremely helpful when it came to getting our bags upstairs, working the wireless internet or where to go for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelette158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This Hostel was very good. The Staff was so friendly and enthusiastic about their work that i felt like family. Marco the owner is an excellent host and knows everything about Dubrovnik and surroundings. Good tips for nightlife, bars and restaurants too.Cosy and warm place and only
good people. Exactly what i expect when i check in somewhere. Had a great time there. If i go back to Dubrovnik i go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRose1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and 5 other friends stayed here for 2 nights during out trip around croatia.

The staff are SOO friendly and help you with your bags (and with getting up!...)

The price is very fair considering the location! It is right in the heart of Dubrovnik and a jump away from the coast. We were interested to see the nightlife and it was literally about 50m away especially the underground club next door (which you couldn't hear at all by the way)

The rooms are very comfortable and basic but you get aircon so you cant really complain!

Would highly recommend for anyone who is happy with a shared kitchen/bathroom wanting to be in the heart of one of the most beautifulest cities i've come across

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Perfect location,rooms nice ,and are kept very clean indeed,Staff were so very nice and really helpful with the information that i asked for about certain things in Dubrovnik i cannot praise them high enough you have a excellent team working there.Old city center is only 100 m and small beach on Pila bay is 70 m from the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#71 of 488 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
MirO Studio Apartments
MirO Studio Apartments
#1 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartments Zoro
Apartments Zoro
#32 of 488 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 488 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Property: Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Address: Svetoga Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing