We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, staff very helpful”
Review of Villa Boro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Boro
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely, staff very helpful”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for six nights. It is very clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Only a five minute walk from restaurants and the beach. Lovely sea balcony view. Only things are - if you want to get into the centre you need to get the number 6 bus as it isn't within walking distance. Also I would have liked to stay somewhere with a pool but if you are not bothered about this then it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Els264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    32
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The good news first, this is a good value hotel and we had a beautiful view of the sea from our balcony. The lady of the house was friendly. The area of Lapad is ideal being just 10 mins by bus from the center of Dubrovnik. Now the bad news.......as we used public transport, we had to walk up 99 steps from the main street to where Villa Boro is located and then another 35 steps from the entrance of the property to our room. I would never have booked this hotel if I had known about the steps. Also, housekeeping is very poor. The towels were changed every day but that was all that was done. The bathroom was not cleaned and after 2 days I had to go and find a clean glass to drink from as the dirty glasses were left in our room and not changed. Would I stay here again?...no. Would I recommend it to my friends?.....NO

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowerbomb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here 2 nights during our exploration of Dubrovnik. The rooms are nice with a great balcony view, parking is available, great value for the location. Its located in the best part of the city (to stay), as it is just tucked away from the busy areas. Its very peaceful, but be prepared to walk stairs though...the whole city is on a hill. Cool park area right below the inn, great ocean side walking path and restaurants. We had a car, but you could easily walk to the bus stop and ride to old town or the harbor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was my favorite place we stayed in Croatia! The apt was very modern, nice, and clean! I loved the balcony! Such a great view!! Our apt was on the highest level. As the villa is on a hill there are lots of steps, but we didn't have any problem (young and healthy). Could be an issue for others. Had welcome drinks upon our arrival. The lady that takes care of things (maybe the owner) also gave us a map of the area and explained where things were (bus, restaurants, etc). Bus number #6 was just a few minutes away and goes to the old city. This gave us a break from driving which was nice. Restaurants in the area were good. Grocery store nearby. And the "beach" below the apt was actually really nice. Most beaches are rock (and often not the smoth kind). About 10 feet into the water it turned into sand. Going from the bottom of the hill (around restaurants) to the apt included a lot of steps (a lot), so if you can't climb steps then the whole area might not be a good choice for you. But it was good exercise! Would stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: It's a little more expensive for a room with a balcony with a sea view but TOTALLY worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClowAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Villa Boro is fantastic, on so many levels. It is very comfortable, quiet, good air conditioning, located in Lapad, which is just outside the city, very clean and with lovely owners who are there if you need assistance but leave you alone to get on with your holiday. We slept like logs in our very comfortable bed. It is fantastic value for money and I have stayed in really nice 4* and 5* hotels over year and honestly would rate this higher, for the sheer great value it offers. We had requested an apartment with a sea view and a balcony and we got both. I loved Villa Boro, it was a highlight in itself of my trip to Dubrovnik and I was crying leaving both the apartment and this lovely endearing city, I did not want to go home!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a sea view and a balcony, bearing in mind that such apartments are slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent in every respect. Our top floor apartment was clean, modern, spacious and really good value for money all hosted by a really friendly owner who could not have been more helpful. We enjoyed the location which was convenient for some fabulous restaurants, cafes, bars and the beach. Walk along the coastal path and you discover some amazing views. We loved our first visit to Croatia and would return to this apartment again without hesitation.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

AMAZING room with the yellow curtains from pictures. So spacious, extremely clean, beautiful, big balcony, fantastic views. We stayed for four nights and felt sad to leave! The kitchen was brilliant, we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in our 'home'! It is amazing value for money and we can't recommend it enough. The owners were so friendly and really helpful. A bottle of champagne and strawberries on arrival as we were celebrating! We arrived late and they arranged dinner for us at a near by restuarant and a lift there and back - so lovely! Very close to the bus stop - less than 10 minute bus to the old town and taxis are cheap if you come back at night. Ignore the complaints of the walk/steps to the bus - it's not bad at all! We loved Villa Boro!!!!

Room Tip: The apartment with the yellow curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spudles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.0 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Micika
Villa Micika
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartmani Vulicevic
Apartmani Vulicevic
#56 of 68 in Dubrovnik
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#52 of 68 in Dubrovnik
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Boro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boro

Property: Villa Boro
Address: Petra Svachica 43, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Villa Boro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing