We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean apartment with lovely relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Villa Boro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Boro
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were a little nervous about staying in Villa Boro having read some of the more recent reviews (we booked well in advance) but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We stayed in an apartment. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner and given a glass of wine each. She gave us a map of the area, explained where to get the bus to the old town etc and said that she lived upstairs if we needed anything. The only thing that was a problem was that there was very little hot water (This was our only issue with the apartment). I mentioned this to the owner on the last day and she showed me the switch to heat the water. I wish I'd asked her sooner! Apart from that, the place was lovely and spotless. Just bring your own shower gel and shampoo as these are not provided.

I wouldn't recommend staying in Villa Boro unless you are quite fit though as there are 200 steps to climb up from the main street level where the buses and restaurants etc are located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Villa Boro is in Lapad, about 5km from Dubrovnik Old Town, & on a hill overlooking the sea, & therefore there are steps to & from the bus stop. However, if you have a car this is a good place to stay. The villa has it's own private parking, & once you've mastered the local one way systems, it's easy to get around.
We had a room with a balcony with a great view overlooking the sea. The room is not big, but it was comfortable, & very clean. Good value at about 40 Euros a night. No breakfast is provided, but there was a fridge serving the 3 rooms so that we were able buy drinks & food for breakfast on our balcony.
I notice that a few reviews comment on the host being rude. We didn't find this to be the case. When we arrived she invited us into her apartment for coffee, & was always available to help with maps or directions. Her English isn't too good, & in this respect I think she finds it difficult to be too comunicative.
In conclusion. A good place to stay, at a reasonable price. Especially if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We did stay in the budget room but it really was small! This would have been fine but having no hot water (well for around 2 minutes) wasn't.
The owner was incredibly rude when we told her about this insisting that we had incredibly long showers which really wasn't the case but surely if we did want them we should be able too? My friend had to ask to use another room for a warm shower which she did let us do.
We advised that we were going to leave a day early due to the lack of hot water and was promptly told we will still have to pay for both nights.
The location isn't great for getting in to town and we didn't want to have a few drinks in case we couldn't ind our way back as it is a bit of a maze.
I found the owner very inhospitable and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our room was the smallest in the 'hotel' - it was a squeeze to walk to the bathroom because the bed almost touched the wall.
There was no hot water after two minutes of showering. The landlady was aggravated and blamed us for the lack of hotel. After her telling us that is has never happened before we read hat other people had the same problem two weeks before our arrival. We left a day early due to having no hot water and having to explain this is why we were leaving we were told we had to pay for that night we were to staying.

Very unwelcoming and would it recommend. Also really poor location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthaleighbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My mother and I recently stayed at Villa Boro. As soon as I made the booking we had received an email from the owners advising they has received the booking, they also advised they could organise airport pick up for us (which we accepted) driver was waiting for us at airport and took us to Villa Boro. We walked up three flights of stairs and were greeted by Martija she offered us a welcome drink and explained a little of how to get to the Main Street etc. the room was on the top floor (yes more stairs) and was a great size and had a beautiful sunny balcony, fresh towels everyday. We enjoyed our stay and have no trouble recommending this apartment, only thing that may be a negative for some would be the many stairs it takes to get to the restaurants, beach and buses. It's around 230 stairs (great exercise but not good for elderly or families with small children)

Busses are about 10 minute walk (down the stairs) bus 6, 5 and 2a will all take you to Old Town in around 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11stephy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Positives:
Friendly lady and daughter, had a welcome drink and cake upon arrival.
I felt welcomed and had a positive feeling about the place. Met very friendly neighbors and all of us hung out on the balcony which made my stay more enjoyable :)

On the last day, they drove me to the bus station, which was very kind as it was a hot day, and also I would have had to take the stairs down with my suitcase. Thank you very much for a nice stay.

Negatives:
Expect a lot of stairs! As for cleanliness, the sink was EXTREMELY dirty, like nobody cleaned it for months. Hairs on the blanket and pillow. I think the family does a great job to run a nice business. If they can get the cleaners to do a better job, like cleaning the sink after each client....it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in Villa Boro for 4 nights with a group of young people. First thing I mention is that it would not be a child friendly place simply because to get to the beach or a shop/restaurant parade you have to climb over 200 steps joining the streets as its on a big hill. Most of the time we didn't mind but it was not always appealing, so you think twice to pack all of the stuff for the beach when you go to breakfast as you might not fancy going back all those stairs. On the other hand you get great views.
Villa did not do breakfast but there was a communal kitchen for those in double rooms to keep their food and drinks in.
The restaurants in the parade were not amazing, all of them serve very similar food like pizza, pasta etc. so if you wanted something decent you could go to the near by hotels on Neptune beach. Some of our friends tried Hotel More and had a nice meal there.
The advantage of this place was that you can access two very different beaches.
The main busier Lapad beach is down the steps, through the parade, it is quite a big beach with plenty of restaurants and bars, pebbles mixed with concreted bits and assault coarse at the end. Water was ok, but not the cleanest you can get in Croatia.
If you head the opposite direction from the villa and get to the end of the road and follow the main road for about 5 minutes you get to a more sophisticated part where the coast is rocky with smaller pebbly beaches with crystal clean water. There are a few hotels where you can get a drink or food or hire sun loungers. Personally I preferred this part of coast much more than the busy Lapad beach.
Receptionists were always very helpful with calling taxis, giving directions, etc.
Place was cleaned and new towels given every day. The only slight problem was when we wanted to sit outside late night we were told off by other guests or staff to be quiet. So not recommended for noisy partying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
58 reviews
2.2 mi away
APARTMANI LEPUR
APARTMANI LEPUR
#49 of 68 in Dubrovnik
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Boro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boro

Address: Petra Svachica 43, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Boro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing