We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View to forget all the problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“View to forget all the problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The reception staff should be more helpful when dealing with guests, and not have NO in their vocabulary. The staff should be quiet and NOT yell at each other on the halls. The hall and common areas should be AIR-CONDITIONED at all times for the price they charge. Otherwise, it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    551
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
270
910
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just don't sat at this hotel. The staff are so, so rude that now mater what else the hotel has to offer you will be disappointed. During our stay we hardly had our room cleaned, all staff were extremely rude, no exceptions, there are lots of instances I could point out but I would be here all day. This was the worst experience I have EVER had in a hotel. I recommend that if you are going to book this hotel just don't, if you have already booked cancel and stay somewhere else I wish I had of!! I wouldn't give it one star let alone 5!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coffeeteacoffeetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We booked this hotel following previous good reviews on TA but unfortunately there were a few issues which meant we would not recommend this hotel. Now the location (being a 15 minute walk to the old city) on the beautiful coastline was fabulous and the staff were generally very pleasant and attentive. Unfortunately when we were first shown to our "superior" room it was okay, not particularly spacious, the decor was a bit bland and in need of a lick of paint. We actually ended up being moved to a spa suite as a marble tile by the side of the bath was loose and frankly dangerous and it couldn't be sorted whilst we were still there. The spa suite we were moved to was huge but the drain smell which the hotel management said had supposedly been sorted certainly had not when we were there (June 2011). This smell was also present in some of the corridors of the hotel and was very unpleasant. Guest services informed us that management was currently having a meeting regarding this problem. We had to ask for disinfectant to be put down our shower drain a number of times. The hotel then called us the next morning wanting to move us AGAIN to another room but after some protests (and as we had unpacked everything again) we stayed where we were. The hotel was far from full and so they didn't need our room. We also had issues with our bath - on two evenings we tried to turn the hot tap on and nothing happened. Also the jaccuzi bubbles in the spa bath had a mind of their own and on a couple of occasions - once we had managed to turn them off - started again about 15 mins after they had been switched off which was a bit spooky! The safe in the room also needed looking at before we were able to use it. The curtains were a nightmare to try and open as they were on a cheap rail with joins in it which prevented the curtains running well. The outside pool was nice and large but the piped music was really unnecessary, too loud and one minute was playing classical then rock! We didn't understand why the female bar staff outside were on roller skates either - it was just odd and noisy on the decking. Not suitable for a "5 star" hotel at all. All in all - if you haven't booked yet - choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik is on an excellent position in one of the most beautiful towns on the Mediterranean, but it is not run the way it deserves. It is far from luxurios and does not deserve even a half of the stars attached to its name, not even for the building, let alone for the service. I wish somebody had warned us about this before we felt ripped off.

The housekeeping does not clean the rooms properly, the buffet dinner food presentation is terrible, some of the waiters are rude, the pool is shared with several dozens of domestic people and children who scream the whole day, there are not have enough sunshades on the pool deck or on any of the terraces, the housekeeping or minibar employees left our room door wide open.

Not many of the employess truly cares about the guests.

What we experienced is far from what we expected and is not worth the prices they are charging.

Rather choose some other hotel in Dubrovnik.

Emina

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler36462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I have just returned from a week at Rixos Libertas & having read mixed reviews wanted to say how lovely I thought it was.
All the staff, without exception, were very friendly & couldn't do enough to help. Smooth checking in process with plenty of staff on. Our room on the 6th floor was luxurious & calm done out in creams & whites. Flat screen TV with music channels & world news. there were other channels but I didn't have the Tv on a lot to pay attention to what they were.
Plenty of toiletries provided along with dressing gowns & slippers. Enormous balcony with 2 full sizes sun loungers provided to enjoy a beautiful view. Rows of flowers on each floor made the balcony very pretty.
We had a minor issue with the shower but someone was there to fix it within minutes.
Foodwise we only stayed B & B, the breakfast was plentiful, many different types of fruit, cereals, cheeses, cold meats,breads, juices & also an egg .sausage station. We did not want to do all inclusive as prefer to get out & about exploring but spoke to several people who were AI and they couldn't fault any of it. AI would probably help due to the price of drinks....approx £15 for 1 glass of wine & I beer!!!
We brought bottles of water in as did see signs warning no food/drink to be taken in but as they were openly on sight in our room we did not receive any hassle.
Pool area lovely, plenty of beds and none of that hideous getting up at 6am to bag a bed nonsense went on! To get a bed under an umbrella 9am-10am is fine. There are steps down into the sea which were fine for us but would prove a problem for anyone not in the best physical health.
Location was great, 10-15 mins into the Old City with lovely views along the way, the hotel did do a shuttle service and always taxis about, we didnt use these but a taxi cost approx £6 into town.
There were nice touches like cold facecloths upon returning to the hotel available by front door & a book library.
I would really recommend this hotel & wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel. The previous reviews have covered most of our thoughts. We felt there was a lack of information about hotel facilities, nothing in our room to tell us about the pool, towels, bar opening times etc and as i lost the Thompson info it would have been nice to have something in the room, we quickly read the Thomson folder in reception. The decor in our room was "tired" the net curtains dirty, the carpet too , and a bath mat we got was badly stained, also bare electrical wires on the balcony. Open plan bathroom not really to my taste-I like my privacy. View from the balcony was stunning, a couple of chairs would have been great though. As B&B we felt the food was good, we had one meal in the poolside area, and felt the staff were not helpful. As we were out and about most days we only used the pool once and thought we had to pay for loungers and towels according to a sign as you enter the area! All in all we had a good holiday but this is definitely not 5*.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Doraexplorer5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Have just returned home from a 2 weeks holiday at the Rixos Hotel, it was given a 5 star rating in Thomson brochure, well I don't think anybody from Thomson have been out to this hotel, as it was definately not a 5* it is more likely a 3*, when you first enter the hotel the entrance is quite impressive our room was big and spacious, and the bathroom was great, but there was no drawers to keep your clothes in, and the tinyminute wardrobe, hence we had to keep our clothes in suitcase the whole 2 weeks, and BEWARE unless you pay for a sea view with balcony there are no other rooms with balconies only the french style one, the whole 2 weeks the steam room in the spa was broken, the indoor pool was closed for 5 days leaving it with the outdoor, where they got 3 pools from i don't know, they say beach in brochure, NO beach just a decking area, and ladders/steps to go down to the rocks to swim off, and beware the local children have FREE access to the decking area as it is built on local land, at one point we were all sun bathing and 31 school children turned up screaming, shouting and causing a lot of distress to us all! The security guards could do nothing, the food though was alright I could go on and write another page but I'll leave you to decide whether you want to pay 5* prices for a 3* hotel! I am now taking this up with Thomson!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view ( you get a balcony!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alanbayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing