We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

That was my third visit to Dubrovnik, such a lovely town and surroundings, Croatia is one of my favorite holiday destination.

This was my second time at Rixos Hotel and both i had great time and i was happy with my choice, especially this time! My first visit was a bit off season and constant rain ruined my holiday, therefore not much to say about first stay.

This time me and my wife had only 3 nights, luckily Dubrovnik welcomed us with bright sunshine and marvelous weather, which was couple of weeks ago.

What makes RIXOS Hotel is a great choice? Hotel means room, where actually you stay and Rixos has great rooms, nice view, flowers in balcony, refreshing bright room even the bathroom thanks to glass separator, rooms are clean and housekeepers are nice. Room has good storage area (we stayed in a regular room) with a safety box, clean and comfortable bed and good quality of bits and pieces... Nice and very Refreshing Room.

If the Food is second most important!? It was really one of my best breakfast i've ever had in a five star, extraordinary variety of pastries, bread, meat products, fruits and everything, start a day with great view from restaurant with good food in front of you is priceless.

We had dinners out but i know hotel had a great a la carte restaurant with international cuisine.

Dubrovnik doesn't have many great sandy beaches, same for Rixos Hotel but they have a nice sea front, no need to mention the water, refreshing Adriatic sea is in front of you while you are sun bathing in a well shaded, wide pool area. Easy and quick lunch opportunity by the pool area if you are in the premises during the day.

Transportation to the Town Centre is easy, quick access by taxi cab in 5 minutes, around 50Kuna, coming back from the Town is bit more because of a one way street. Great location, not right in the town but only five minutes drive or 15min. walking distance.

I am sure some people might get interested, Rixos has the only Casino in Dubrovnik area, there is a decent casino downstairs with live games.

Overall Rixos is NOT a classic boring 5 star hotel, it's fresh, bright, young at heart feeling kind of 5 star hotel with great service, it is definitely NOT expensive, great value for the money, friendly and helpful Staff. Well managed Spa and a Casino definitely make a difference. Not much needed but i had to leave hotel to buy some creams and needs, strangely there isn't a drug store in premises! That's probably the only problem with the hotel.

Rixos Hotel is a cool and fresh place to stay and enjoy Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muratipek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    564
    233
    62
    25
See reviews for
281
930
61
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

-The location was good. The view from the hotel was fantastic.
-The staff at the hotel were nice and very friendly.
-Our room was very clean and large enough. It was also well furnished.
-The breakfast was excellent.

We want to go there again and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaprakipek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

31 Temmuz 3 Ağustos tarihleri arasinda kaldik. Otelin konumu ve sahili guzel ancak aldigimiz servis kesinlikle odedigimiz paraya denk degildi.

Odaya girer girmez gorduklerimiz.
1. Odada temizlenmis ancak odadaki dolap kasasi sabitlenmemis ve yerinden oynuyordu.
2. Yatak basinda bize ait olmayan sac killari ve toz obekleri vardi.
3. Odadaki not defteri kullanilmis ve degistirilmeye gerek gorulmemisti.
4. Daha once oda kapisinda bir sorun olmus herhaldeki kapi kanirtilimisti, disaridan bakinca kilit yanindaki ahsap kisim kirikti.
5. Balkona cikan tavan bolumu ciddi olarak su/rutubetliydi.

Oda Servisi.
1. Odaya 01.Agustos.2011 aksami saat 22:00 sularinda istedigimiz buz, 02.Agustos.2011 gunu saat 23:00 de geldi yani tam 25 saat sonra, gulmekten yorgun dustuk.

Kahvalti.
Tum personel guler yuzlu ve caliskandi, servis hizli ve kahvalti cesitleri cok zengindi. Oteldeki en iyi deneyimdi. Zaten 3 yildiz verme sebebim sadece bu kahvalti.

Plaj.
Tatilimizin son gunu biraz ruzgar oldugu icin semsiyeleri acmadilar, bizi gunes altinda yanmaya terk ettiler, zaten derdimizi anlatacak kimseyi bulamadik, en sonunda sinirlenip bagirip cagirmaya baslayinca gelip semsiyeleri actilar.

Sonuc.
Bukadar guzel bir cografyada musteri olarak daha kaliteli servis beklerken umdugumuzu alamadik, zaten yazilan hicbir goruse otel mudurlugu tarafindan bir cevap yazilmamasi otelin musterilerine nekadar onem verdigininde bir gostergesi degilmidir ?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MertGezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days, and all we can say is that it was a absolute brilliant stay. We had a amazing view on the 7th floor which we paid extra for, and our room was beautiful.

We spent our mornings after breakfast ( fab view of the sea) by the outdoor pool enjoying the sun and enjoying the music the hotel played, :) Service was great,and the walk to the old town was around 20 minutes, which is good.

I really could not fault this hotel, :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The previous review could have been written by us as we seemed to have exactly the same experience!

Pro's
* We had a side room with no balcony despite being assured by the tour company "all rooms have balconys". This made a big difference to us as we like to enjoy a drink on the balcony of an evening.
* Cleaning service was erratic. One day we had 4 wine glasses in the room, next day none, next day 2. Same with dressing gowns, went from 2 to none then back up to 1. Sometimes toiletries were replaced, sometimes not. Not a big deal, more a irritant.
* tiles loose on bathroom floor due to water pooling on floor after shower. Tiles had been held down by sellotape! We pointed this out on the first day and a mainentance guy came round however nothing was done.
* Room cleaning wasn't great, we had a cobweb on the ceiling that was there all week. Beds are made and towels changed but room wasn't dusted / hoovered.
* Drinks very expensive, luckly we were all inclusive.
* Too far to walk into town in the August sunshine, one of our days in was 36 degrees. However can imagine it's a nice walk off season.
* Advertised as having 3 pools however the indoor pool you need to pay for as part of the Spa.

Cons
* Bar / restaurant staff were excellent. I've rarely had such good service.
* Although we had problems with the cleanliness of the bedroom the rest of the hotel was a good standard.
* Whilst we were there they had good entertainment in the terrace bar. Usually a trio singing a mix of english and croation songs or a Serbian guitar player who was excellent.
* Our all inclusive deal included local beers and wines. The local wine was excellent and the beer seemed to go down well with Mr. !

Would definately recommend going all inclusive if you plan on drinking alcohol.

Not a five star hotel by a long shot, however not a bad hotel. Would go again but only if I could find a deal half the price we paid!

Room Tip: Make sue you get a sea view as these rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Excellent location large rooms excellent buffet breakfast helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimitris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stopped at the hotel for 2 weeks and it is definately not a five star. We stayed on a B & B basis and had a room on the side of the hotel. We could see the sea, but we had no balcony which was fine with us....why spend time in a room and on a balcony when you can go to the pool area, beach or out and about.

Prior to going I read the reviews about taking food and drink into the hotel and yes there was a sign saying do not bring it in. We did not take any in, but we saw several people walk past the security with bags of fruit and water. I watched the people at the poolside bar wash fruit for people and I saw the locals (by the pool) having their own picnics!

The city is about 25 minutes walk from the hotel in the August heat. It is not just the heat that slows you down but sometimes other people, at times the pavements are very narrow and if the roads are busy then you cannot get round people, so be prepared for a 25 min walk. By the second week we decided to use a taxi there and walk back as it was still hot at 7pm and very busy. The taxi cost approx 50 kunas to the city and it is worth it.

The room was 'nice' it was nothing special and although we had clean towels each day the room was not cleaned thoroughly. The toiletries were topped up, as and when needed. The maids were very friendly and greeted us when they saw us. The bathroom did have loose tiles and the floor became very wet when we used the shower as the screen was not large enough.

The hotel has a large lobby which is clean and fresh, but it was too big and a large section has an art gallery in it! The Agora bar was lovely and the staff were very friendly. It was much cheaper to eat and drink in this bar than the pool side bar. A coke/Fanta by the pool was approx £3.80 and a beer was £6.00. We were concerned about the cost of the water before we went, based on other reviews, but you can drink the tap water in the hotel, which we did in our room and for brushing our teeth.

There was lots of choice for breakfast. great selection of breads, pastries, yogurts, cheese, fruit, meats and cereals. there was also a selection of cooked items including eggs, waffles and pancakes. The restuarant was not that clean and most chairs had stains on them, but it was ok. On arrival to the buffet restaurant we were greeted each morning by a lovely lady and most days our coffee was served by Jozefina who had the biggest smile and was very polite and pleasant.

The biggest let down was the pool area. There were tiles missing from the bottom of the pool, the grout was black, the pool was dirty and often had cigarette butts, leaflets and drink containers at the side of the pool in the morning, which the staff collected up.....if they could reach. I never once saw the pool cleaned. It was very dirty and you could see hair and dirt in the pool and this was at 8:30 in the morning. The beds had missing wheels and some had loose nuts. The umbrellas were ripped and some even broken. There were 2 security blokes that walked around - not sure what they did. There were too many locals using the pool area (we know they were locals as they spoke croatian and walked in off the street/beach).

This hotel is not a 5 star and more like a 3 star. However, the hotel did not ruin the holiday as it was an ok place to stay....just not at 5* prices. Croatia is a beautiful place and the croatians both in the hotel and in the city were friendly and welcoming. I would recommend Croatia to anybody, but I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sime_and_Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing