We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rixos is the perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Traveling in Croatia this summer, we stayed at the Rixos Hotel in Dubrovnik and absolutely loved it. The hotel is snuggled along the hillside presenting spectacular views of the Adriatic. Each floor of rooms has it's own private patio, which we loved to sit out on each night looking at the starry sky. The bathroom in the hotel is not for a bashful couple. The complete glass shower enclosure reveals all to anyone present in the room. The fee for internet access in the room is steep, but you have free access to wifi in the lobby. (Just ask the front desk for the password.)
The hotel offers both indoor and outdoor pools to lounge by. Or, from the pool deck, we could take a quick plunge into the cool Adriatic. The hotel also has a decent workout room with views of the pool.
We also liked the fact that it was far enough, yet close enough (about a 10-15 minute walk) from the tourist filled city of Dubrovnik.
Finally, we loved the delicious breakfast buffet. What a great selection and variety of food.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to the Dalmatian Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emf465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
There are newer reviews for Rixos Hotel Libertas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,231 - 1,237 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel was by far the most scenic place i stayed in in croatia, and the fashest lol what wonderful views, facilities, and even the entertainment on specific nights at the bar next to the water, great food and service, absolutely stunning, good wi fi coverage and everything you could ask for, thanx so much for taking good care of me so far away from lil old N.Z, would love to come back soon.
Regards and thanks again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblewazhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for this nice comment. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with with the service and facilities in our hotel. We look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We booked for 5 nights, a rest after a rigorous 4 weeks of travel. The main reasons were the views and pool/beach area. This area was perfect for relaxation and access into the sea relatively easy down a ladder. However, we were given a note saying the pool area was to be closed for the next 2 afternoons / evenings for a wedding. We were very upset as we had spent the previous 2 days at the pool until 8pm- the best time of the day. We were denied the use of this facility and the seafood restaurant although we had paid for them! The wedding began at 5pm Friday and finally finished at 6am Saturday. All rooms face the pool area and it was impossible to avoid the noise which was ramped up at 1.30am! On ringing reception to ask when the noise would stop we were told it could go on all night! The hotel should not book rooms for these nights if they cannot assure ALL occupants a decent night's sleep and use of facilities. We would never have expected an all night noisy event in a so called 5 star hotel (which it isn't!). Management obviously valued the wedding guests over all others! The following morning as we checked out, many others were complaining and checking out to go to another hotel as the wedding was to go on that night again! No apologies from management or any offer of compensation. It was a shame as we had enjoyed our stay here- the rooms are large and modern and we loved the hotel but do not expect a true a 5 star establishment- parts are a little tired and dated and towels not always left in room after cleaning until later in the day. Location is very convenient with a15-20 minutes walk to the old town or a bus stop a short walk away and there is supermarket close by and a bakery on the main road.
no directory. I would love to stay at this hotel again but would be very wary of private functions taking over the facilities! I think I would look for another hotel next time.

Room Tip: I would have rated value and sleep quality higher if not for the wedding! All rooms affected by nois...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for writing this review. I am truly sorry for inconvenience.
I already shared your feedback with my Team and made the necessary steps to prevent such an inconvenience in the future. We sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel.With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Visited this hotel from 20th to 27th May 2012. Great views and all staff we met were very friendly and attentive. In the staircases there was evidence of damp but the rooms we had on the 8th floor were just great. Plenty of room, lovely views but the glass walls in the bathroom (and glass door in the loo) did take some getting used to. However our friends did have a problem with the bathroom flooding when using the shower. We were all inclusive and, yes, you have to sign for everything but although technically you could only have local spirits we often had imported spirits and there was no extra charge. The spa was brilliant with 2 different saunas, a steam room and a sultan's bath room which was great once you knew how it worked. The steam room, however, was not good and often we have up waiting for any steam.

The food was all buffet style but there was an amazing variety and all was excellent except that the 'hot' food was often lukewarm so could be a bit disappointing. Having your omelette made to order while you waited was just great. At the dinner meal the range of salads was quite staggering, in fact one night I had to count them and there were 60 bowls with all sorts of cold salads, cheeses and meats.

Dubrovnik itself is a beautiful city and no visit is complete without a ride on the cable car to get beautiful panoramic views of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim_bourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for writing this review.
Also, I want to thank You for pointing out our friendly and attentive staff. I'm really sorry if You had a problem with a bathroom. We took an action, and we repaired all bathrooms. We are looking forward to see You back soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having read some previous reviews it seems some people are unsure whether this meets a five star hotel standard. Certainly it is not The Savoy or Gleneagles but nor is it £500 plus per night.
My family stayed for only one night and we really enjoyed the pool facilities during the afternoon, lunch was good, staff all seemed a professional and mostly friendly lot and the room was spacious, ultra clean and had all the facilities I would expect from a five star hotel. The hotel overlooks a wonderful bay and is a very quick taxi ride into the old town. Breakfast was good but missed a 'wow' factor that you would expect in a top class hotel.
All in all very good, would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrFoodLover1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your positive comments.
We will do our best to keep on serving our guest on a high quality level. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I had booked an executive suite for 4 nights at Rixos late June and unfortunately the whole experience started out quite wrong. After locating the hotel with my rental car (easy to find, the location is very convenient) I got told off by some taxi driver that I was not supposed to use the hotel drive way and that I couldn't leave my car there for check-in. Unfortunately none of the hotel staff found it neccessary to come out. I had to go inside and find a bell-boy (little jump ahead - these guys have been amongst the only really good staff in the hotel - eager, fast and friendly) to a) fend off the taxi driver and b) assist with the luggage.
The second surprise was the rather unfriendly greeting by the reception. They informed that my room wasn't ready (in itself no problem, I was early) and that I had to wait. They did however offer me to open my suitcase in the middle of the lobby and "go change in the toilett", so I could use the sea or pool... I declined and went for drink instead.
The room (top floor) offered great views, is really nice sized and has a nice balcony / terrace. And there it stops. The white leather sofas are stained, the coffee table was covered in some gritt, the bathroom insulation came of at parts, the shower leaked massively, the bathroom mirror has no lights so you always throw your own shadow... Honestly, for that kind of money I do expect a lot more... Only upside is that the electricity in the room works even when you leave so your devices will actually charge while out. The cleaning lady did - considering the already existing problems - a very good job though.
Lying at the pool is a desaster. You barely can avoid touching other people it is so crammed (and not by the locals as one review wrote here, but by guests). That the locals are allowed access to the water is due to Croatian law which says that all beach front is always public domain and must be accessible. The only upside of the pool was the staff there. The guys doing the cocktails are great. I watched some Euro games down there and these guys really outdid themselves to be helpful.
The breakfast turned out to be good in terms of available choice. The only little downside is that you have to pay for little things like real orange juice (not speaking about freshly squeezed, just not the watered down stuff) and if you want anything besides the terrible filter coffe it is an extra, too, plus the wait times until a waiter can be bothered to serve you is quite taxing...
All in all - compared to other 5 star hotels - the Rixos just looks faded. The carpets in the lobby are well worn, the elevator doors scratched and the seating in their terrace bar Agora at night is lit by some ugly neon-style bulbs that give you the feeling of a train station.
My next trip to Dubrovnik definitely will see my in some other hotel there.

Room Tip: All said above I guess the best rooms are still the ones up in level 11 and 12...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Indichur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for writing this review.
I'm really sorry for any inconvenience during Your stay. All our Menagers are informed about mentioned problems. During the winter rooms were repaired. Problems with a bathroom are solved.
I hope that You will give us another opportunity and come back. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hotel NOT 5* our room was not ready until 3.30pm although rooms are large, clean and have fantastic views (if you have a sea view room) no fruit in room, no slippers (we did ask for slippers & got one pair, one each perhaps?) sometimes only one large towel left in bathroom, we could also never get towels for the pool area, we were told that there was a problem with the laundry, sorry not good enough!
Food was good but sometimes had to ask for a table to be set & they never changed the table cloths, even if it was stained! then you would have to ask again for napkins, spoons etc (seems to be a great shortage of spoons at this hotel!) Cold milk for coffee at breakfast & you usually had to ask for that too,(coffee as well as the milk)
We just felt that this hotel did not offer 5* service (which to be honest could easily be fixed) so felt it was overpriced, drinks were also expensive in the hotel, we have stayed in cheaper but much better hotels.
Dubrovnik is beautiful but we would stay in Lapad if we went back, buses are easy to use & frequent.
We loved the old town, great to walk round day or night, lovely atmosphere. Also very much enjoyed the 3 Island boat trip, which is reasonably priced with great lunch included.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the 9th floor unless you are an early riser...ours was, the restaurant is on...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 146Christine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Than You for writinng this review. We want to inform You that we took an action. Your comments were very positive to us. We fixed loundery service, so those things will not happen again. Also, there will be some changes in F&B service. We would be glad if You choose our hotel again so we can make Your stay better. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £73 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing