We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely holiday but this is not a 5* hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday but this is not a 5* hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have just returned from an all-inclusive holiday at The Rixos Libertas , this hotel has good points and not so good points:
*food was very good quality in general although lacking in variety and choice
* the desserts at evening meal were excellent!
*food at the beach bar were very good and service was much better than the main hotel terrace bar.
* the room was a good size with a very large balcony and ( in our room) a stunning view across the bay.

The negatives about the hotel are the lack of attention to detail:
-making sure all windows/glass were cleaned daily( they did not appear to be)
-making sure ALL tables were ready for breakfast when service started, those on the balcony were not available for people who were early to breakfast
-cleaning carpets generally
-getting rid of the awful smell on some floors ( lack of ventilation, I assume, so why have carpets which retain odours?)
- the extremely sloooow service for a beer/ coffee whatever at the terrace bar

This could have so much potential but the lobby area seems completely unloved in one area. I feel it lacks someone with an overview of guest service in the restaurant.
Overall I think I would return as I really enjoyed the area but this hotel really needs to make more effort with guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    552
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
271
911
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Rixos for 3 nights in August 2012 on a last minute deal. If we had been paying full price we would have been pretty annoyed. The hotel itself is nice with good rooms and very good facilities. The swimming pool and bathing area are nice. They also do a good breakfast.
However, service is NOT 5 star. Some receptionists were surly and bordering on rude. The people who organised excursions were unhelpful and only wanted to sell their products. They couldn't even tell us about the bus timetable. However, the 'cutomer liaison' (located near reception) we spoke to was decidely more friendly and helpful. The staff also have a propensity to talk among themselves with clearly minimal managerial supervision. Perhaps this is why the pool bar staff insisted on pumping out loud techno music from dusk till dawn.
Consider this hotel on a deal. If you intend to pay full price for a 5 star hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Rooms : modern style, everything is decorated in white, gives feeling of a clean room. Room is very spacious, beds and pillows are comfortable. Bathroom is not very private, a see-through blind separate the shower and the bedroom, which might be problematic for non-couples. No conditioner and liquid bath gel provided. Shower is not well made, water is bound to splash out, making the floors wet. A/C works very well, which is a wonderful oasis to the outside heat.

Location : 30-minute walk to the Old Town, can be very difficult and not in the daytime (summer). Pleasant if walking during sunset. Taxi is a quick less than 5-min ride and cost about 40 kunas.

Beach : Access is from Beach Bar. Water is beautiful tones of greens and blues. Water is quite rocky as the beach is a cliffside beach. There are stairs to help you down to the sea and shower to rinse-off the sea water after your swim.  Lots of beach chairs to lounge on. 

Food : average.  Had breakfast and lunch at the beach bar.

Internet : no wifi in the rooms. Only in lobby and beach area. Wired Internet connection is available in rooms for free.

Service : pretty good and friendly. Only qualm is that the housekeeping is not 24 hours. If you need any room amenities (fresh towels, slippers, etc) after hours, you will have to wait till the morning. 

Overall, pleasant and wonderful stay. Would definitely return, have stayed at worse hotels in other cities in Croatia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audacive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pegnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 for two nights. The hotel is located on the Lapad peninsula, a 5 min bus ride into the old town bus station (Pile gate). There is plenty of free parking.

We had booked ahead, so check-in was fast and efficient. Used the pool facilities, gym, breakfast.

The best thing about this hotel is its views. We had a room on floor 11, just above the lobby. This room was huge with spectacular views and a wide open terrace overlooking the bay. We enjoyed the amazing sunset on the terrace. Our room was spotlessly clean, well air-conditoned.

Here come the negatives: staff are generally VERY unfriendly, unreceptive to criticism or complaints. Pool area quite OK, but lack of umbrellas on hot days. When we get to the pool around midday, we were told there were no bath towels. In the afternoon at 5pm, there were still none. Food in the pool bar/restaurant is hopelessly overpriced. Pay 20 EUR for a small salad or 5 EUR for a black coffee or 4 EUR for a bottle of cold water. No good choice of cocktails on the menu. Choice of ambient music in the pool area very "far eastern like".

Ambience at breakfast also not very nice. Large breakfast hall makes for a lot of noise. Freshness of product OK, but bread selection a joke and not enough drink choice. For some reason, not possible to have a pot of coffee brought to the table so had to ask for frequent refills.

Checking out, we kind of felt sorry for this hotel. They could make people's stay such a pleasant experience if it wasn't for the filthy towels, really bad service and unfriendly staff. Motivation seems to be their problem. We were not able to identify what was wrong with everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psch034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here in July for 4 nights. Can't say it was cheap and it wasn't my first time staying. The hotel itself is very modern which is something I prefer. Great breakfast, nice beach, good gym and spa.

However, the rooms need to be fixed. I don't know when the last renovation period was, if there even was one, but it is definitely needed. The first time I stayed at the Rixos, the furniture was well kept, no cracks in the floor, and it was overall vey clean. This time however, I was very disappointed. The desk had covered up holes, the walls were dirty, carpet had holes in a few places, and there were these strange dirt marks on the bathroom tiles. Also, there was a hole in the wall. All this for a 5 star hotel? Seriously, a renovation is needed. I stayed on the third floor so I don't know if that varies from other floors, but please, you cannot call yourself a 5 star hotel and have these poorly kept rooms. You just cannot! So disappointing.

Other than that, i cannot really complain. Staff was once again great, and the location is just far enough from the main part of Dubrovnik to be peaceful without having to utilize public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyjenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Rixos for eleven nights in total as a couple. The hotel itself is very nice, room was lovely with a beautiful view. The room quality was high but we were a little confused with the cleaning arrangements, sometimes they called at 6pm which wasn't ideal & the staff seemed more interested in what you took from the mini bar!

We used the spa everyday after lying out in the sun, it is very nice indeed, well maintained & staff are extremely friendly.

Would agree with comments about to pool over crowding during the afternoon, can get a bit annoying when locals etc come down from the adjacent road but I don't believe the hotel can do mch about this. We found the pool restaurant expensive for what you got & with a couple of shops on the walk to the old town you can pick up whatever you need.

Breakfast is superb with huge variety of foods to choose from, very well staffed at all times.

This is not a 5 star hotel though & there are some elements they need to improve but saying that they are not far away!

Only other complaint would be on checkout that the person on the desk would be a bit more friendly. After spending nearly €3,000 you would think they would at least smile & ask how the stay was??!!!

I would recommend someone to stay here, perfect to walk into the town in the evening, we rarely got a taxi as the view is beautiful along the sea front, save you're kuna for the nicer bottle of wine for when you reach the old city!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Checked into Rixos on a spur of the moment upgrade for the end of our holiday. Staff were really friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us with luggage and getting to know our way around the hotel and beach.
We had a basic room with balcony which was lovely - lounges on balcony and a huge bathroom. Air conditioning worked perfectly, TV and mini bar fully stocked.
Outdoor pool was clean and refreshing and there is plenty of space around the pool area for lounges and parasols. The drinks on the pool terrace were lovely and brought to you (some waiters were even on roller-skates!). However we ordered a burger which took over 30 minutes to arrive so they added another burger to compensate, but the chips were already cold and neither burger particularly great (think a nice McDonald's rather than the handmade gourmet burger we were expecting).
Meal in the upstairs bar in the evening was very nice though and the buffet breakfast was fantastic - any food you could think of!
Also there is only Wifi available in the lobby and you have to ask at reception for the password.
Overall we would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing