We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

nice place to spend few days, pool bar very nice, with very god choice of dirnks, with not so expensive prices.
very nice wellnes and spa, nice big rooms, nice breakfast terrace.
Stuff little slow but young and charming and coperative.
Enough parking place what is for dubrovnik very important, free of charge. bed internet conection in the rooms.

Room Tip: sea wiew rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slaven0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Thomson have got this so wrong. This hotel is supposed to be all inclusive but watch out, it's not!!
You are given an "all inclusive list" when you arrive covering what you are allowed and not allowed, but I for one don't want to carry a list around with me, I expect the staff to know, but beware, they don't all the time. Make sure you keep asking, "is this on the all inclusive list" and make sure you take a note of the waiters name as you might need it when you check out. We were told that ice cream at lunch around the pool was included and when we checked out, it wasn't. I refused to pay, and told them the waiters name who told me it was all inclusive.
We found having to ask all the time very demeaning, and it was as though we were trying to get something on the cheap, when actually that ought to be included in the very overpriced package.
Be very careful as they tried to charge us for a cocktail we didn't have, and when they retrieved the "chitty" the cocktail was on our room, my name, but a different signature. Again I didn't pay.
They ask for your credit card on arrival but they didn't ask for mine. Knowing what I know now I wouldn't have given it to them.
It doesn't make sense to me when you can drink "in theory" several bottles of named spirits every day, but you have to pay for ice cream. Absolute farce
Room was good with a beautiful view over the bay, but to get this you have to upgrade to a superior room, otherwise you over look the car park. However no tea and coffee making facilities, an essential for us. Again not 5*.
In our opinion the pool area was bad. Very cramped with sun beds on top of one another. Unfortunate if you get by someone who doesn't use deodorant. The music is incessant crap and more akin to a club 18-30 beach party in Ibiza. Also very loud. If you are by a speaker bang goes your conversation. The same songs come round hourly.
Spa area is very good along with the indoor pool. I see other people were not bothered about a young youths invading the place at around 4.00 p.m. but this isn't 5*. The pool is also open to non residents so not all inclusive and not exclusive either. didn't like this aspect either. You get your pool towels by the indoor pool every morning so no issues here. food a the pool bar is good, though we were supposed to use the restaurant, but this was closed every day except the first day. The evening meal was bland and 3* stuff. The beef goulash turned up every night. Be careful here when picking your wine, one of our arguments was in here over what wine we could have and what we have to pay for. Initially they brought the wrong one and there would have been a charge.
The hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel where Thomson have negotiated the awful all inclusive package. We could not afford to go on a b & b basis as the prices are pure extortion. Two gin and tonics are £16.00. Lunch for 4 £102.00. Dubrovnik itself is superb, and if we went again it would be on a B & B basis, but not this hotel. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the old city at night and the place is buzzing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room for a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

First - I'd appreciate the quite decent personnel, who was truly eager to provide support whenever needed.

It's a nice venue however, in fairness, not a genuine five-star, all-inclusive, facility.

Overall, I'd recommend the place as long as the value (price vs. service) it offers suits the traveler :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PcA_PcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

five-star building five star prices sadly three star for everything else.we have stayed at several five-star all inclusive before but have never been treated like second-class citizens anywhereelse like this hotel,you have to tell the staff that you are an all -inclusive guest andthen ask what you can eat and drink,so many things were not an all-inclusive option.the restaurant was not open at lunchtime we were told to use the poolside bar but this was basically fast-food ,ie burgers,pizzas etc hardly five-star fare.around the pool area awful music was played on a constant loop also the area was open to non-residents and groups of local men gathered there everyday my wife said it made her uneasy.overall this hotel is not a very good choice for an all-incusive holiday and for the cost I do not think the bed and breakfast choice is any better.I would recommend Croatia and Dubrovkik anytime smashing place but check out all other options first.

Room Tip: try for a sea-view room on a high floor,other rooms overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I read reviews on TripAdvisor warning of this hotel and ignored them after getting a great rate and figured as a young couple we would be easy going and have no problem with the service or the hotel....I was very wrong. This hotel is in terrible condition and every piece of carpet and fabric in the hotel has a stain on it. They dim the lights to try and hide this but it's obvious that there hasn't been an ounce of maintenance performed, ever. When we moved hotels (switched to the Gran Villa Argentina which is AMAZING) even our cab driver talked about how run down the Rixos is and how many disappointed tourists he had picked up from there. The rooms are falling apart, the handle on our bathroom fell out of the wall and the vent door was also broken so we could see all the piping to the sink. This place is hardly a three star and also a 30 minute walk from the old city. There are way nicer hotels in the area, you may think you're getting a great deal but pass on the Rixos, there's a reason why it's cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Had a week in a deluxe room on the 11th floor and loved it. But more attention to detail needed to make this a really special hotel.

Floors 11 and 12 are immediately above the lobby floor, buffet restaurant is on floor 10 and all the other rooms are below that (all with balconies) with the pool area right at the bottom, so the top floors prob have the best view - and it's gorgeous.

Our room shared a ginormous terrace with the other deluxe rooms. Was a real suntrap for most of the day and dead quiet. Nice to be away from the noise of the pool area. Room v generous size - was happy to lounge around there most of the day, bathroom area is open plan, but we didn't have a problem with this. Comp fruit and wine was in room when we arrived.

Great location. Really easy to wander into old town once the heat of the day had eased. Also great local restaurant (Magellan) very near to hotel and half the price of the hotel dinner buffet (which was 200 kuna pp). Would also recommend Sesame on the road into the old town.

But... overall service and maintenance falls short: shower in room didn't drain well so was like paddling pool; shower fitting needed fixing; light bulbs need replacing; housekeeping erratic - we never knew how many towels we'd end up with and one day they didn't come at all; table settings at breakfast often missing cutlery etc; three PCs in lobby for internet but one didn't work... took over 20 mins to check out because of a problem with our invoice... and so on.

We didn't encounter any problems with unhelpful/rude staff that others have reported (the opposite in fact), but in general I would say that for such a swanky looking hotel the management should be much slicker. Instead it felt a bit sloppy and, well, unprofessional. A shame really because all points mentioned above are small details but overall leave a bad impression. I wanted to give Rixos 5/5 but it's just not quite up to scratch.

One final comment. Apparently there are very few bits of the Croatian coast that are truely 'private' so anyone is entitled to come and make use of the 'beach' at the hotel. It never got really packed with locals when we were there (surprising considering how hot it was) and I did see hotel staff having a word with some kids when they got too rowdy. So it never bothered us that locals were using the pool area to access the sea. I had more of a problem with other guests 'booking' loungers before breakfast with their towels, and the annoying europop from the beach bar!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

nice hotel but not set up for all inclusive most guests b&b staff not sure what is part of all inclusive . continually asking if part of a/i music around pool for 18--30 club ,playing on a 2hour loop restaurant not open lunch time had to use pool bar in the evening choice limited as b&b guest went in to town .on check out people being charged for drink & ice cream resulting in aguments at reception not what you expect from 5* hotel

Room Tip: pay for superior room great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
792 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £54 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing