We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,305)
Filter reviews
2,305 results
Traveller rating
1,173
716
301
77
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
716
301
77
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area sea view old town guest services sun loungers five star hotel buffet restaurant bathroom floor superior room fantastic hotel mini bar hotel facilities large balcony plenty of sunbeds out of season public areas half board
Filter
Updating list...
1,448 - 1,453 of 2,305 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at Rixos for 5 nights 2 on our own and 3 with tour group.Could not fault the hotel,staff were helpful and courteous,breakfasts were very nice with a great variety.We did not have other meals in the hotel as we were sightseeing most of the time.The room was very comfortable, if you don't mind seeing people in the shower .The view from the room was beautiful and i really enjoyed swimming in the Adriatic,just down the lift to water level,down the sea steps and your in the water. Can walk to old town in about half an hour[with a broken ankle] or catch a bus.The weather was quite warm and our room was very comfortable and we didn't even notice there was no air conditioning in the restaurant.Would suggest you take a portable clothes line as there is not one in the room.Would certainly stay again and have no problem in referring it to anyone.

Room Tip: Suggest you get a room with sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sav48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzgenA8, Operations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in Rixos Libertas and taking your time to write your comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us. If you visit us again, it would be our pleasure to provide you one more time with the best possible service.
Kind Regards

Ozgen Aydin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I made the mistake of reading these reviews about the hotel the night before we were to travel over to Croatia so I was slightly concerned what to expect. However, when we arrived I was really pleasantly surprised. Our hotel room was lovely and the views overlooking the sea were stunning.
- Food in hotel was ok
- Service took a little getting used to but when we realised that the Croatian Culture is somewhat different to the UK service we were much more realxed. On first impressions they can come across a little abrubpt and we were a little confused but we found it was the same everywhere. My husband and I decided to take it upon ourselves as a challenge to make friends with some of the staff and they really became lovely and friendly. We found that the more rude and frustrated people got the more the staff avoided them so it's a no brainer to go in and make friends with them. You are on holiday after all
- Walk to the Old Town was only 15 minute walk so from the sounds of things a taxi ride is about the same. We walked in almost every night and loved the fact that we could walk our food off. We also loved the fact that our hotel was out of the touristy area.
- The spa facilities were excellent. I knew they had spa treamenets which I took the liberty of experiencing. However, it was only on the 2nd to last day that I came across the free spa facilities that were available to hotel residents. We only had 1 cloudy day so I took myself off to enjoy them and it was fantastic.
- No Wifi in rooms but as we were on holiday it gaves us a break from checking our emails. I can understand it being an issue if we were there for business purposes but as it was a holiday, it was good news.
- We would recommend going to Dubrovnik as it is beautiful (has an Italian feel to landscape). We went towards the end of September and the weather was really hot. Apparently the heat was unusual at that time of year.
Room was really lovely and I would definitely suggest getting a room with sea views. If you can be bothered to get up early it is a lovely sun rise. Bathroom facilities aren't very private so make sure you're comfortable with the person you are sharing with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SLBJUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzgenA8, Operations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in Rixos Libertas and taking your time to write your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your remarks and it will help us in our future improvement. If you visit us again, it would be our pleasure to provide you one more time with the best possible service.
Kind Regards

Ozgen Aydin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

A little out if town (10 min taxi ride to old town)
We stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour group.
Pros: great sea views
Modern clean room

Cons: Quite poor service abrupt & no smiling
Buffet breakfast just ok
No wifi in rooms ( only in lobby)
No air conditioning in lobby or restaurant)
No cloths line in rooms to hang undies etc.

Overall whilst this hotel is ok, I'd find somewhere closer to the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim4travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzgenA8, Operations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your opinion is extremely important to us and your remarks will help us in our future improvement. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations, but if you give us a chance to welcome you back it would be our pleasure to provide you with the best possible service.
Kind Regards,

Ozgen Aydin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Choosing a hotel in Dubrovnik was not that easy but we finally settled on the hotel Rixos Libertas even though not all of its reviews are positive. Therefore we arrived with a little anxiety which proved to be entirely unfounded! The hotel has the appearance of a conference hotel on the outside. Inside the reception (which is on floor 10) it is modern and spacious. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and our room was ready on our arrival. We had a standard double on the 12th floor (top floor) - this did not face the beautiful sea view but nonetheless had a great view from the front aspect of the hotel. The room was enormous and modern and very clean. The bathroom is open plan so make sure you're totally comfortable with the person you are sharing the room with!! The room has a mini-bar, safe, bath robes, huge bed and sliding doors to a small balcony. It had good room temperature control.
The breakfast was something else! A very extensive buffet consisting of cereals, yoghurts, breads, cheeses, hams, salads, fresh fruits, juice and hot foods. It was immaculately clean and constantly replenished. You could definitely not go hungry! Restaurant staff were pleasant and the room was bright and airy with a sea view. You could also sit out on the terrace.
The pools (indoor and out) and spa were included in the rate and were excellent. The indoor pool was lovely and pretty empty most of the time even though the hotel seemed pretty full. The outside pool is probably olympic length. The were many sun loungers, plentiful laundered towels and umbrellas. There is direct access to the sea even though there is no beach here. The spa was wonderful - hot pool, cold shock pool, bio sauna, sauna, vapour room, tropical shower and shock shower. It was exceptionally clean and had it's own changing room.
There was also a really well equipped gym.
The hotel is located approximately 20 mins walk from the old town. If you don't want to walk you can catch the No4 bus from Pile Gate but it is only 2 stops.
This holiday was really important to us and we really wanted a relaxing getaway - we were really, really impressed with the Rixos which gave much more than expected.

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra for the sea view - this is no ordinary sea view and not one you can ever tire of seeing!! Sea view rooms are mainly on the lower floors - floor 9 down but even the lowest floors are elevated so will offer amazing views!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Littleblue100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzgenA8, Operations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in Rixos Libertas and taking your time to write your comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us. If you visit us again, it would be our pleasure to provide you one more time with the best possible service.
Kind Regards

Ozgen Aydin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 7 days in the Rixos. First impressions were wonderful, hotel is large, clean and the views from the dining room, bar terrace and pool area are what dreams are made of. We were lucky enough to have a double superior room on the 8th floor and although it was a little jaded this far into the holiday season, a stain on the carpet by the fridge and a few marks on the walls and furniture tops, the view from the balcony more than made up for this. The lobby, lounge and terrace bar are lovely and the pool area is great. It's a great hotel to relax in. Our only moan was the service of the restaurant staff at breakfast. Tables that hadn't been cleaned off, no teaspoons with the cups and saucers, and worst of all, you have to wait for one of the staff to serve you coffee/tea and more often than not, there was no staff in sight and most days we were half way through out breakfast before we got a drink, and I don't function until I've had my first coffee!. It just seemed that the staff were too miserable even to smile good morning. We went all inclusive and the food at all three meals was really good. The old town is super, about a 15 minute walk downhill from the hotel, but the pavements are very slippy. Walking the city walls was very enjoyable, great views and do the cable car ride, its great too.

Room Tip: The superior rooms on the higher floors are by far the best, with breathtaking views, well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nede4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzgenA8, Operations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in Rixos Libertas and taking your time to write your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your remarks and it will help us in our future improvement. If you visit us again, it would be our pleasure to provide you one more time with the best possible service.
Kind Regards

Ozgen Aydin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews