We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel has a gorgeous view of the Adriatic and a nice pool area, but we found the rooms a bit plain and odd. The nightstands are very low making it uncomfortable to talk on the phone or get anything off of the nightstand. The bathroom has a glass enclosed tub/shower combo which is peculiar as it protrudes into the room and is an uncomfortable arrangement while sharing a room with a friend...unless you are not inhibited by showering or bathing in a clear glass enclosure. Walking to old town is a brisk 20+ minute walk that includes up and down hills...so a bit of a time thief. The hotel has an excellent breakfast buffet with a balcony view of the Adriatic. Tried to get an appointment at the spa and hair salon...none available and only one person working in the salon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio view of the Adriatic and watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review. Also we appreciate your opinion. Our mission is to make our client satisfied in any way, weather is it a service or accommodation. We are so sorry that you find your room a bit plain and odd.
In the SPA we made some improvements and employed more staff.
One more time thank you for sharing your review with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    552
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
272
911
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've stayed 3 nights during my honeymoon in Dubrovnik. Overall is OK with their grand facilities. However, I think their service detail doesn't suitable to five-star level.

dissatisfaction 1)
I requested my travel agency to have seaview room but I got non-seaview room due to mistreatment by travel agency.
I had to wait 2 nights in non-sea view room and pay 100 euros to have a night with seaview room.
Reception's explanation that I should contact the agency was ok (and it's quite basic treatment) but I'm completely dissatisfied with their passiveful manner.

dissatisfaction 2)
One day, I had buffet dinner in the mozaik restaurant and ordered italian wine costs 200KN but waiter served me wrong wine costs 400KN from same winery. I paid 400KN because I had not notice that in first glass. In this context, I could not help doubt the qualities of a waiter.

dissatisfaction 3)
I reserved a taxi to airport via reception. The transport cost 290 KN using meter machine but I think that it is too much. I do not know the credibility of reservation services.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seungsoon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback. I would like to inform you about few things.
We have checked your reservation and it shows that you booked classic room which is without sea view. Because of that you paid 100 euros extra for sea view room. Also, for honeymoon couple we provide sparkling wine and fruit. We have honeymoon package which includes other facilities.
We want apologize for the wine issue that unfortunately happened and I wont to inform you that taxi driver is totally out of our control , but for your information they are charging 260 to 300 kuna. It is according their taximeter.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope you will visit our hotel in future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

One week of pure indulgence. Loved the hotel and it's facilities. Well located with excellent panoramic views. Hard working, efficient and extremely courteous staff. Food excellent. Gladly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a party of twelve and everyone's room was good. Sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a nice feedback. Guest satisfaction is por main mission. We are so glad that you are satisfied and that you had a week of pure indulgence. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travelled to the Rixos Libertas hotel for a four day break with a friend and both our daughters, a celebratory trip to mark the end of university Finals for them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel and found it to be an ideal place for relaxing and unwinding, whilst also being able to get into the city of Dubrovnik itself very easily.

Although we arrived early we were greeted very cheerfully by the staff on Reception and were given our rooms within an hour - the best treat of all being the complimentary upgrade to two Suites!! The rooms were enormous with fabulous wrap-around balconies and the most glorious view. Little extra treats of a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and plates of sugar-coated almonds appeared each day of our stay too.

Breakfast was excellent (especially lovely when eaten outside on the terrace, although it was too hot to do that every day), the outdoor pool gorgeous and all the loungers/hammocks/four poster sunbeds so comfortable. We also thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the sea directly from the hotel's grounds - a real treat. We didn't use the indoor pool or spa area because the weather was just too fantastic to be inside but they looked extremely pleasant.

The staff we encountered were all very friendly and polite, giving us a warm welcome back after each trip out. It was about a 20 minute walk to the old town from the hotel, with lovely views of the coastline on the way. We walked the city walls (amazing) and took a lovely boat trip to the island of Lokrum - a welcome way to escape the busyness of the old town when there are several cruise ships docked and also a wonderful way of seeing the spectacular town walls from the water.

We ate in the hotel on one evening (the fish restaurant by the pool - very nice food, if a little expensive) but otherwise went into Dubrovnik for our dinners. Would definitely recommend the restaurant in the ex-convent of St Clare and the one in the Arsenal in the old harbour; both had gorgeous seafood and a lovely atmosphere.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rixos Libertas - thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a seaview room - it's absolutely spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelwallPowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great comment. We are trully glad that you enjoyed in our hotel. Hope to see you again and meet your requests. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have recently returned from a ten day holiday in Dubrovnik staying at the Rixos Libertas. It is well situated, being a 20 minute stroll from the old town (which can also easily be reached by the excellent local bus service).
First impressions were extremely favourable. The hotel staff are very welcoming, the décor was very good and the hotel spotlessly clean. Our room, like all others had a wonderful view over the bay. The room was very comfortable and included two loungers on the balcony The facilities of the hotel are first rate - plenty of sun-beds, including a few of the draped 'four poster' type. The gym and spa was a bonus and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Avoid using the mini-bar in the room - the prices are somewhat inflated, as are the prices of wine at dinner and those in the bar. That probably explains why so few people used the bars.
The Mozaik restaurant was clean and the staff very attentive. The standard and choice of food at breakfast was generally very good, except for the servery area for the cooked food, which for a five star hotel was very disappointing and is the weak point in the hotel. The grill/ hot plate area is small and guest were often queuing for their eggs, omelettes etc which were done individually by one chef only. As we stayed on a half board basis we had the evening meals. The starter courses were very good with a wide variety of salads, cold meats and sea food; the desserts were generally good and included a range of cheeses. The main courses were kept warm in covered tureens at the main serving area, which was not always manned. On the first night we were so disappointed by the quality of the food, especially the roast potatoes that were cold that we e-mailed the head office. o be fair, we were then impressed by the way the complaint was dealt with; the hotel manager and catering manager met me the next day and listened to my comments and subsequently things did improve; the lesson here is to make any concerns known and don't just put up with them.
Despite the few problems we had a very enjoyable trip and I hope they look seriously at the arrangements for preparing and serving the hot food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that we dealt with your complaint. Day by day we try to improve our service and we try to find the best solution for our clients and make them satisfied. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Rixos for a week and loved it. We took a taxi from the airport which was around 250kuna. We were met at the taxi by a friendly member of staff and he took our luggage for us while we checked in at reception, he showed us how to get to our room and he met up there with the luggage. He showed us how to use the aircon etc. We had a superior sea view room and it was really nice with a stunning view.

We really liked the hotel but there could be a few improvements (see below). I would recommend this hotel to someone wanting a luxury hotel that is happy to do quite a bit of walking, as there is a 20 minute walk into the old town. Or happy to pay for taxi/bus (around £4-5 each way per couple). Also be prepared for the costly drinks and food.

Pros
- Nice big modern rooms with great views, lots of mirrors.
- free wifi is great in the rooms and by the pool
- gorgeous views from breakfast
- good air con that is easy to control in rooms
- staff are very friendly and helpful (the best we've ever come across)
- great selection at breakfast, although you won't find bacon or sausages that we're used to in a full English breaky (no beans either). But there are cereals, toast, loads of types of breads and pastries, pancakes, waffles, different varieties of egg, potato croquettes or wedges, fresh fruit and a selection of yoghurts.
- the food is really good - we tried the mozaik buffet restaurant and the beach restaurant and the food was excellent

Cons
- Nice walk into old town as its mostly down hill, it takes about 20 minutes. But after walking round the old town all day, walking the city walls etc the last thing you want to do is walk is do the 20 minute uphill walk back to the hotel. It's on a busy road too where the path is quite narrow at times causing you to have to walk on the road to get past other people, which is a bit scary.
- There are plenty of taxis and buses but they're expensive. Taxis 40-50kuna (about £5), bus 15 kuna per person.
- staff sometimes just come in room without knocking!
- not enough shaded seats in outdoor breakfast area which is a shame as the view is amazing but we found it too hot to sit in the sun, we only got the sit outside once
- no table and chairs in room or on balcony to make use of ordering a meal from room service
- no shade on balcony for most of the day so unless you can bear the heat you can't sit out.
- the shower is not great. The large shower head only dribbles - it would take ages to have a shower using that alone so we ended up having to use the hand held shower. The bath screen is also too small and water ends up going all over the floor.
- the mozaik restaurant costs 200 kuna per person (about £23) plus drinks are extra at 30-50kuna for a soft drink. We thought this was pretty expensive but many of the restaurants in the old town are expensive too and at least here you get to eat as much as you want and the food is really good. Although tap water is safe to drink they do not serve it, but when we asked for it they said they wouldn't charge for the bottled water (this was just at the discretion of the waitress though)
- the beach restaurant also very expensive £15 for a burger, £90 for scampi!! But they do give you 2 burgers which we didn't expect, so you could actually share this meal.
- there's not enough parasols by the pool so its very difficult to find a place in the shade.
- the loungers aren't very comfy - just rattan with no cushion, unless you're lucky enough to get a luxury one that's padded.

Suggestions:
- Have a free shuttle bus into the old town say once an hour.
- Have a few things at least from a full English breakfast - beans, hash browns, normal bacon and sausages, mushrooms.
- staff should always knock before entering room. We should be given a do not disturb sign too so they know not to disturb us
- have a table and chairs suitable to eat from in the room or on the balcony
- have a parasol umbrella that we can put up on the balcony so that we can sit outside in shade
- a bigger shower screen or a separate shower cubicle plus a shower head with good water pressure.
- more parasols by the pool and at breakfast
- padded cushions for all pool loungers

Tips/ info
- Bring comfy sandals that you can do a lot of walking in e.g. Teva's.
- checkout is at 12, but we was given an extension until 1pm for no extra charge. Extension until 6pm was 75 euros.
- for a cheap and tasty lunch, get a made to order sandwich from the shop on the way into the old town and eat it by the harbour where's there's loads of shaded benches.
- do the walls, cable car and visit the island of Lokrum. We did each one in separate days as we like to take our time, but you can do each activity in under 2 hours.
- superior room amenities: hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, toiletries, wide screen TV, mini bar/fridge, 2 loungers on balcony, air con or heating.
- we found a taxi driver called Miro who does a special airport rate to this hotel for 200 kuna, which is much cheaper than going off the meter. We used him on the trip back to the airport, here's his details:
091 54 32 906 / 091 21 11 145 (country code 00385)
Web: Taximiro-dubrovnik.hr
Email: miro-taxi@hi.htnet.hr
So if planning on getting a taxi you could arrange for him to pick you up from the airport before you travel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amydhoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your holiday at Libertas Rixos hotel. Thank you also for your suggestions.
We just want to inform you about our actions since you left your feedback.
Our Tehnical service improved the shade on the beach and in the restaurant. Now we have a lots of shaded seats. Our management is also informed about all issues. In every room we have "Do not disturb" and "Clean my room" sign.
Also near the hotel we have bus station and buses are going every 15 minutes.
We apologize for any inconvenience and we hope you will be complitly satisfied next time when you come to our hotel.
Looking forward meeting you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

It is good for the winter break when you spend €50 per night, but during a summer it is overpriced. Honestly I don't know why they charge so much in Croatia for a stay in hotel during a summer months. The breakfast is average, the position of hotel is 15 minutes from the Stradun

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Appreciate your feedback and opinion. The whole region deals exclusively in tourism and it is the most highly regarded part of Croatia as Dubrovnik is on UNESCO World Heritage list since 1979.
I would like to thank you for sharing your review. I hope you will come back in Dubrovnik again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing