We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“falling apart in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“falling apart in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Great views, location, and spa. The hotel's concept is very modern and nice. The staff are VERY good, unfortunately the hotel seems to be falling apart. It's only a year old and the construction of the place seems bad. The tiles are pushed up in the lobby, the front entry leaks water, one of three elevators was broke, the hallways are drab and have stains on the beige carpets, and leaky ceilings, an entire section of deck doors were being replaced (which may improve that problem) and I heard many people talk about broken facets, TV s, etc.
Rough seas were washing away MANY of the tiles out by the sea and there was even a blow hole coming up from underneath!
I do feel for those who own this place, I wonder how long it will be around without even larger structure problems. The design of the hotel is not forgiving about any defects. I would hate to be a housekeeper at this property full of mirrors, white floors, marble, and glass!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pro-travelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    600
    245
    65
    24
See reviews for
308
1,006
63
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

The hotel Rixos Libertas has only two levels above ground ... so it seems ... but there are 10 floors hidden as they connect the lobby with sea level. This makes the hotel having a nice view on the Adriatic coast from every room. Rooms are spacious, luxuourious and trendy furnished. Although there was a smell of "fungus" in the room, balcony doors could not be locked (they fixed it) and the safe is not easy accessible. The breakfast is very good. A buffet of meat, cheese, bread, eggs, waffles, pancakes, fruits, yoghourt, vegetables, jam, dried fruits, ... quite delicious. Pool and spa are good, treatments are rather expensive. Possibility to swim in the Adriatic see. Due to the end of touristic season bars and nightclubs were closed (early).
Hotel is only 15 minutes away by foot from the old city of Dubrovnik.

  • Liked — Fabulous view, high speed internet for free, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Bad smell in rooms (fungus)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Very nice rooms, breakfast, spa and staff. In my impression it is totally overprieced. The atmosphere is cold, want´s to be posy, nevertheless it has a bit something of a hospital.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Just returned after two fabulous weeks at this hotel. The staff where better than fantastic - their english speaking skills far superior to my croatian.
Food was excellent, service was excellent, views were excellent - loaction to old town was 10 - 15 minute walk, ( 20 - 25 if you went the wrong way which we did once)
Spa facilities and beautician tho' a touch exepensive where well worth it.

No funny smells anywhere - granted some parts of the hotel were water damaged - more design flaws than anything else. Our room was great with stunning views -- and if you did want privacy in the bathroom you could always pull down the blind provided.

I can appreciate how some people found some parts of the hotel a little bleak by design - but the views from every window were art enough for me.

The hotel and all it provides were a little expensive but we found this everywhere in dubrovnik itself. It must be what the local area dictates.

  • Liked — space
  • Disliked — balcony light did not work
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjandhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reigate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Have just had a wonderful 4day stay at the Rixos Libertas with Riviera. Staff were welcoming, smart, polite and only too happy to help.
Public areas were very clean and bright in comparison to the grey exterior of the building. Restaurant food was excellent and plentiful and there were wines reasonably priced. Bedrooms were a good size although we weren't too keen on the glass walls of the bathrooms. Not great if you like your privacy!!! All had a sea view.
Spa and swimming pools were well cared for. Altogether a great stay in a beautiful country with the added bonus of Dubrovnik within walking distance

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after a cruise ending in Dubrovnik. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greated by very friendly staff - and they went out out their way to help us with an early check-in to our rooms, even though the regular check-in time was not due until more than four hours after our arrival.

In general, it is the great location and the staff at the hotel that makes this hotel worth a visit. The hotel is located right by the sea, and the views are magnificent. Overall, the staff was very friendly and service minded, event though some did not speak much English. When we asked our waitress at the Agora bar for our bar bill, her answer was simply pointing at the bar and saying "boy". Luckily, I was able to locate the "boy" that could print my tab.

My first impression of the hotel building was not so positive. When looking up at the atrium providing access to the rooms located above the reception, they reminded me of prison cell blocks that I have seen in movies. When we walked to our room, the impression changed more towards being in a hospital building, with all white interior, only broken up by some chairs or small pictures trying to break up the monotony of it all. The smell of chlorine coming from the indoor pool further down added to the whole hospital feeling. You should try not to look to carefully when walking through the corridors, as paint is flaking on the ceilings, and the once-so-delicate beige carpets have seen better days.

The room itself was nice, with a lovely view - and a terrace with sunbeds. Some of the items in the minibar were past its sell-by date, so you should check this before opening anything. I really liked the bathroom, but we also experienced some of the unpleasant sour smell that other guests have described coming from the toilet.

As this was a sunny day, we went straight from our room down to the pool area. It was very difficult to locate an available sunbed / umbrella, as - unfortunately - this hotel (as so many others) was full of the type of hotel guests that think it is totally ok to occupy a sunbed for the day by leaving their pocket book or t-shirt on the chair early in the morning, in case they want to use the bed for a couple of hours during the day. Some hotels have a policy where they remove items from the sunbeds when they have not been in use for the last 30 minutes, which would be a good idea for this hotel - as the capacity of sunbeds must be quite limited (as the hotel did appear to be far from fully booked) - and they also rent out beds to non-resident guests for 100 kuna per day. When we finally found two beds (but no umbrella), we had to wait for towels for 45 minutes, because the towels were still in the laundry...

As we wanted to just relax on the last night of our vacation, we decided to have dinner at one of the hotel restaurants. Our first option was the Mediteranneo, which was described as a romantic sea-side place with gourmet food and great athmosphere. The hotel info binder in the room said that this restaurant was open from 1900-2400 during the summer / weather permitting (and the weather was great), but when we tried to call around the hotel to make a booking, we were told that the place was not open due to too few guests staying in the hotel. We ended up having dinner at Le Select instead, and that turned out to be a very good choice. The view from the terrace was great, staff was very attentive. In general, food was very good, just stay away from the soups on the menu, as they were a bit like dish water.

Breakfast in the restaurant Mosaic was excellent! Great buffet and very nice staff.

The hotel has a spa, and the range of treatments on offer was really impressive. However, the strong chlorine smell from the indoor pool next to the spa totally put me off going inside to check it out.

I do not think that we will stay in this hotel again the next time we go to Dubrovnik, as I think the hotel has too many flaws. If the hotel was marketed as a three-star, such flaws are maybe ok - but not with the prices charged, and the way they market themselves as a top-range hotel. It's a pity, though, because with this location it could easily have been a top spot.

  • Liked — The location / ocean view
  • Disliked — The limited availability of sunbeds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMaterialGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Location: The location of the hotel is good in that it is set right on the water and its easy to get to the sea for a swim. It is, however, a 20-25 minute walk to the old town. It was difficult to find the hotel when driving, as there were no signposts after you got away from the old town. (you drive past the Belleview hotel, and make a right turn at the bottom of the hill, and follow it to the bottom of the road)

Room and Building: The room was very nice, very modern looking. As other reviews mention, the shower is not private. There is a curtain you can draw down, but you can still see out from the shower into the room. Would be awkward if you were sharing a room w/ someone other than your partner unless they left the room while you showered...

Unfortunately our room was on the 9th floor, very near the nightclub and we could hear the music and bass all night long on Fri and Sat nights. Also, although we did have an outdoor balcony as promised, the sun wasn't able to reach it because of how this end of the hotel was designed. If you stay here, make sure you get a room below the 9th floor.

The room itself wasn't finished 100% - the handle in the bathtub was not mounted properly, there were too many drilled holes in the tiles and it was lose. The safe in the room wasn't even mounted to a shelf, so someone could have simply walked out with it!

Hotel Building: Although it looks lovely, it still needs a lot of work. The hallways have NO decoration at all, the carpets in the halls had stains all over it, the stairwell looks like it was never finished, and one of the lifts was bouncing around when we were in it (We got out at the next floor!) and one of the other ones still isn't functional. This was a huge letdown, the hotel just isn't a 5* hotel, they have a fair amount of "polishing" to do before it is truly a nice place.

Breakfast was very nice, but again the floors have huge scratches in some areas, and several of the chairs had stains on them.

Give this place a pass if you're heading to Dubrovnik, its just not worth the prices they are charging.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — it not being finished yet them charging 5* prices as if it were...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TCP-GDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,016 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing