We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous world-class hotel with world class facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The strangest aspect of this hotel is its room service policy. Servers frequently get orders and even room numbers get mixed up. When I investigated, I found that it was because there's no central room service desk. Calls are routed to servers on their mobiles! So servers are expected to remember your room no, take your order, pass it to kitchen and reach you within a specific time even as they are executing other orders!

The other no-no is the planning of shelf space in the toilet area. There is no shelf space for your toilet bags, amenities or accessories in, around, above or below the wash-basins. The toilets are world-class as are the shower cubicles and the bath-tubs. But where should you put all your stuff? You end up placing them in nooks and crannies, closets, around the bath-tubs, etc.

Also, you can't connect your MP3 or IPod to anything in the room and there are very few English TV channels.

These issues apart, its a fabulous world-class hotel with world class facilities. The breakfast is excellent as is the bar and the restaurants. My room even had a Nestle coffee machine with pods. The travel desk too is competent and helpful. They get you better deals than are available on the net or with travel agents. The staff and kitchen go out of their way to help and accommodate special requests.

The layout, furniture and facilities in the rooms are outstanding. The view from the rooms is super. Each sea facing room has an enormous balcony which looks out on the Adriatic. On the left is Dubrovnik and the Old Town. The rest of your landscape is the sea. Soaring mountains sloping down to the bluest of blue Adriatic waters. You look at the vast expanse of blue and sigh. You just can't stop sighing on this coast. All the stress seeps out.

The hotel has a large gym with ample and good machines. The sun-deck is super. Yes, there might be a problem with finding a lounger, but the staff chips in and finds a suitable solution. A meal or drink outdoors in the right weather, especially at sunset time, on the fabulous balconies of the restaurants is a must-do.

The location is fabulous because you are a 20-minute walk or 5-minute ride from the Old Town and yet, far enough away to avoid the commotion and get away from it all. I would rather stay at this hotel than the hotels in town because it gives you the best of both worlds. And yes, I would use it again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

A superb hotel - staff are friendly and helpful. The location is perfect (15-20 mins walk from Old Town and well served by buses nearby). The food is very good - breakfast is excellent with a wide choice and although we only had one dinner there, again there was a wide choice and it was good value. We had 'a superior' room overlooking the sea - it really is in a great location overlooking the beautiful coastline and the room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and air-conditioned. We didn't use the pool but it looked good and there is a cordoned off bit of sea for hotel use. If I had one minor quibble (which, sadly, is probably true of hotels around the world) it can be difficult to get a sun lounger, particularly in one of the better spots / shade as people rather selfishly put their towels down and then disappear off for hours - one morning, we were in the ridiculous situation where the hotel had no towels left to give us and we sat right back from the seafront surrounded by empty chairs covered in towels! That aside, this is an excellent hotel and is thoroughly recommended to anyone thinking of visiting this stunning city.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a sea-view room (which, actually, the vast majority are)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JH1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review. Your opinion is very important for us. We are glad that you liked your stay in our hotel. We will continue doing our best .
We hope that you will return.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday in Croatia and I must say we enjoyed it and also thanks to Rixos Libertas where we stayed 9 nights.

First but not the last advantage is its location. As many contributors wrote it´s just 15minutes walk from the Old Town Dubrovnik. Some contributors wrote that it´s quite dangerous to walk along the road. My advice how to avoid walking along quite a busy road is just turned left to the cemetery and walk among villas and apartments. There is just one think you can´t avoid in Dubrovnik which is walking up and down hills......but it´s Dubrovnik:). You can take bus or taxi as well but walking is much better.

And yes the hotel itself is missing some details in 5 star standart hotel but on the other hand if you rise above these details you can be only happy here.
Second advantage of the hotel is its very helpful and attentive staff. They execute any your request immediately or asap.
Third advantage of the hotel is its SPA. You must experience it. We felt in love to their turkish bath however we haven´t experience full Hammam treatment. But I can highly recommend Aroma massage. The biggest fun in the spa is their Shock shower. There is a hung bucket at a ceiling which is full of cold water...you stand under it, pull the rope and pour yourself a whole bucket....huge fun.

We stayed only on breakfast basis and I have to say that food selection was really good and I can´t understand how someone can complaint about it.
We mostly eat outside as we walk to the Old Town every evening. But we had a lunch once at the beach restaurant....it was daily catch fish with grilled vegetable and it was delicious. Some items could be a little bit cheaper but on the other hand they weren´t more expensive than other 5 star hotels in Dubrovnik.

We had a room with sea view and I highly recommend to pay a little bit more for sea view. Each this room has a large terrace with two sunbeds and stunning view. Bathroom is large enough as well as the bed and whole room. I have only one reservation to a room equipment which is, in my opinion, small wardrobe. Housekeepers made a great job every day and they were fast as well.

Their pool area is very nice with easy access to the sea and yes it´s probably not large enough in a case of full occupancy. But everytime some people are on trips or elsewhere and if there isn´t available sunbeds the staff try to find a suitable sollution immediately. So you needn´t to be worry.

So I can only recomment this hotel and would be very happy to comming back.
Thanks Rixos Libertas.

Room Tip: I can only reccomend room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you are very satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us. Hope to see you again in our city and our hotel.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed six nights in this lovely hotel in Dubrovnik, 15 minutes walk from the Old City.The room was very comfortable, the view was fantastic - all rooms face the sea - and the food was very good (we ate three times in the hotel, each time in different restaurants. But what really makes this so good is the unfailingly cheerful, polite and helpful staff, who clearly take pride in their job (and in their country). Should I mention one drawback it would be that the lifts need to be tuned up. But that is a very min or point in what was overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kloram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glda to hear that you had excellent stay in our hotel. That is very mportant for us. We hope that you will return in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is amazing nice hotel with very helpful staff.
We had an excellent room, big balcony overlooking the sea - well worth it.
Breakfasts and diner near the sea were great.
not fair away from old town.
We would go back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pacciotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us. Our staff will continue to do our best and to make all our guest satisfied.We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Indubitable , Rixos is one of the happy options to stay in Dubrovnik ,and also a reconfirmation the fact that perfect locations are very rare or not exist.
Rixos welcomes you with a privileged position wich offers unforgettable views, close enough to be a pleasureto walk to the old town , with a irreproachable staff ,excellent equipped and comfortable rooms ,very strong wi-fi ,with a lovely kitchen where desserts are truly irresistible.
There are few things that bother, so one of them would be somewhat strange smell that dominates the vast entrance hall , a certain lack of attention to detail maintenance of common areas , that matter greatly when we speak about excellence , modest swimming pool.
A useful tip :
if possible avoid floor 11 and 12, choose a room with sea view, deserve to pay more to make your stay will be closer than a xcelent one.

Room Tip: Without floors 11 and 12, room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dande_Gavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear that you find our staff irreproachable, and that you liked position of the hotel. We will continue to do our best to make all our gest satisfied.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having read one or two poor reviews we can confirm that the majority of reviews are correct. This is a very nice hotel with very helpful staff.

We had an excellent room on the second floor, big balcony overlooking the sea - well worth it.

Breakfasts were great and the one lunchtime snack we had on the terrace was also good.

Yes there are one or two minor faults in the hallways but we can live with that.

As a base for going into town it was as described - a 15-20 minute walk.

If you wanted to relax on the terrace or swim in the sea it is great (but you do need to get a bed early).

We would go back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the floors below floor 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeordieSez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £37 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing