We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace for the Rixos name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disgrace for the Rixos name”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'll start from the few good things: the sea is perfect near this hotel. There are not to many yachts, boats etc passing by, so the sea is very calm and clean. And it is a great swim! Also the food for breakfast is good ( surprising for this hotel) we have also been a couple times for dinner (international night, Dalmatian night) and the food also was good for the price you pay. I would even say that it is much better than in the most of the restaurants in the old city.
Also the location of the hotel is good - it is about 15 minut walk to the old town which is great if you like to wLk in the evenings) and the promenade is beautiful.
Now to the problems: the hotel is not a 5 star. It is 4-. I would chop of the hands to the architect who planed the hotel. The corridors are not conditioned: you can die there. There is a lot of dampness and bad smell due to poor ventilation and air circulation. Most of the windows in the stair part and in the gym are covered with dampness. The hotel has a bad smell from the moment you enter the lobby ( poor ventilation again). The beach doesn't have enough sun shade umbrellas ( 1 umbrella for 4 sun beds) and there is always a fight for the umbrellas! Hotel manager, buy more umbrellas! The rooms are pretty old, but they are trying to keep them in good condition.
The conditioner does not work properly in the gym - there is nothing to breathe.
Overall - the management is trying to be helpful, but they have to look after the hotel better! The feeling that it is going to fall apart soon.
I was surprised to see so many good and excellent reviews on the trip advisor ( which made us choose this hotel).
I would also say that the hotel is ok for couples aged 50+

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your thorough review and suggestions.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the sea, food and hotel’s location.

Your suggestions are extremely important since we always strive to provide our guests with immaculate and memorable experience.
The issues you mentioned are now fixed (not conditioned corridors and gym, smell, and dampness in the gym and windows).
We have also ordered more umbrellas for the pool area.
Regarding the room condition, this winter we are going to do some updates and renovations.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again to our hotel and provide you with outstanding service and facilities.

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    600
    245
    65
    24
See reviews for
308
1,007
63
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days, staffs are polite and does speak english very well. The location of the hotel is stunning, All of the rooms have a sea front view. What I like most was the way of how guest dip into the sea. If your brave enough you can jump into it for about 8-10 ft tall or go by the stairs. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the old city of dubrovnik which aint bad. Love Dubrovnik!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is nice to hear that you were satisfied with our service, especially with staff. We are glad that you like location of the hotel and the view from rooms. We will continue to do our best, to make all our guest happy.

We hope that you will come back to our hotel.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after a week of sailing the dalmatian islands, which I highly recommend. The hotel is beautiful, although in need of some renovation, it is laid on the side of a cliff over looking the Adriatic and the islands, stunning view. The pool area is modern and elegant. The staff was professional, excelent service, great food and drink. As a matter of fact service throughout the places I visited in Croatia was very good with minor exceptions. I think next summer after the renovation I can gave Rixos Libertas the 5 dot rating.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments about your stay at the Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik.

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our staff, service, and food and drink.

We would be more than happy to welcome you soon back to our Hotel Rixos Libertas.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Rixos Libertas hotel is situated only 15 minutes by foot from the beautiful Old Town of Dubrovnik.

We arrived quite ahead of our check-in time, but already there the fantastic reception crew made an effort and we were allowed to check in ahead of time. Whilst waiting we enjoyed a drink and a light meal at the fantastic terrace of the lobby bar.

Room was great, well cleaned and adequately equipped. We had a superior room and the ocean view was breathtaking. Wifi connection was a bit shaky at times.

The gym is very nice, providing both cardio and weights for you to choose from, and just outside you have the fantastic beach access with a sun deck and ladder access into the azure blue Adriatic Sea.

Breakfast offers a great range to choose from and the team working the breakfast ensures a pleasant breakfast experience enjoyed either indoors or on the outdoor terrace overlooking the sea.

Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Nearby the hotel you'll find a small convenience store, which was the one thing we missed with the hotel facilities - though we did not fully explore the kiosk available near the beach, we took a short walk nearby, so this is something that doesn't affect the grade itself.

Old Town is just a 15 minute walk, though it's a bit of a climb and the walking street is narrow at times, however access to bus is also conveniently located nearby. The port is within walking distance as well, or just jump on one of the buses that stop nearby.

The hotel offers three choices for eating in case you feel you don't want to mingle in Old Town or the nearby restaurants. Out of the three, we found the Lalezar experience to be the best, with a good and decently priced menu and friendly staff to help us.

Overall, a keyword that very much applies here is service. There's a great service mindset here, and you really feel like the staff is doing their utmost to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Very much recommended, and would our path lead us back to the wonderful city, we certainly know where we will be staying.

Room Tip: I would absolutely urge you to go for a sea view room - the view from the room was just gorgeous. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your stay with us.
This is a great encouragement for all Rixos Libertas staff to continue providing our guests with an excellent service.

We are also very glad you found the Lalezar restaurant to be the best.

We hope to welcome you back to the Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Saw this hotel when on holiday to Dubrovnik last year and just had to come back to Dubrovnik to stay there. Location fabulous and only a 20 min walk to the old town.
Hotel sea view room with balcony was worth the cost of the upgrade.(25 euros per night) Views spectacular.

Room immaculate and cleaned every day. Breakfast buffet good spread... not so keen on the chicken sausage but just about everythimg you can think of for breakfast including porridge!!

Best I think if you can get a package for half board or eat elsewhere at night.... the 1night we ate in the restaurant was lovely but very pricey at around £65 for 2 without drinks.


Hotel facilities first class and pool big enough for a decent swim but the sea is amazing and the hotel has a safe enclosed area of the sea for swimming. Swim shoes are a must though.

Spent most of our evenings with a leisurely walk to the old town for dinner where theres lots of choice and food is reasonable. You must try the ice-cream shops..... all brilliant but our favourite is the first Ice cream shop on the right as you come down the Strada from the Pila Gate.

Staff and locals alike very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome.

Hotel is very quiet in the evening... only realised near the end if the week that there is a Casino!

Had a fabulous holiday and am sure the Libertas is my hotel of choice for Dubrovnik!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 770pearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback about your stay with us.
We are glad you chose Dubrovnik and Rixos Libertas as your holiday destination.
It's nice to hear you had a fabulous vacation.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to our hotel.

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

20 minutes downhill walk to old town or 6 euros in cab (more expensive coming back

Hotel needs to improve room facilties. Does have a safe but fridge is tiny. No coffee making facilities . small wardrobe space with only 6 hangers provided.

Bathroom has no door and would not suit all as glass walls and even with blind pulled down is see through. Toiletries provided not of high standard


Would stay again but more 4 than 5 star as missing the small touches

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay.
We are delighted you liked the hotel’s location and sea view.
Your suggestions are extremely important for us so we can improve our facilities. The rooms will be updated this winter.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our hotel and provide you with extra care and excellent service,

All Rixos Libertas Team wishes you all the best.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Rixos for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and it was fantastic. We were able to check in at 1pm (although check in wasn't until 2pm) and whilst waiting for our room to be prepared enjoyed a lovely lunch and cocktail in the hotel bar which has an amazing terrace looking out at the sea. It was the perfect start! The rooms have a beautiful sea view, the pool area is clean and has a relaxed feel (you can swim in the sea directly from the pool area) and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. You can walk into Dubrovnik old town in 20 - 30 minutes and the route is really easy and well lit at night. The drinks and food are fairly expensive for Croatia (but so is the whole of Dubrovnik) but it really is worth it. I would recommend the Rixos to anyone who is looking for a hotel where they can relax in the sunshine but also be reasonably close the the sights of Dubrovnik old town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahKilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us.
It was our pleasure to make your holiday and honeymoon a memorable experience.

We are glad to hear you especially liked a sea view from the room, the pool area and the staff.
We would be pleased to welcome you back to the Rixos Libertas in the near future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.8 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing