We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open letter to Rixos Administration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to explain that I am writting this open letternot only because I would like that other travellers could read it but also because the problems that I had I am certain that the admninistration of Rixos that has as objective beeing even better would apreciate also to known it.

I was on Rixos Libertas on the second week of August after a road trip that started one week before in Zagreb.

After several hours of trip we arrived at one evening and altough the reservation was made and payed 3 weeks ago, the person on the reception told us that they were overbooked and we would have to go to another hote for that nightl. Imagine us - me , my wife and a children of 2 - at 23:00 receiving after a long trip this new...not very nice...

Next morning we had to wait until the room was ready. When they informed us , and preparing to check out a surprise: the backup hotel was trying to charge us that night. Why? Because Nobody told them that it was free of charge for us. One misunderstanding that took more minutes until beeing completely clarified.

Finaly we went to Rixos, talk with the manager, that personaly excuse himself and garanteed that we would have one nice room as we expected. Result : He puts us on a room with a door with another room . we eared everything and because our baby couldn t sleep i had to ask to move us to another room.

Fortunatelly the persons for only room available hadn t arrived and it was posible to change the room ( poor persons ...)

Arriving to the new room there was not neither internet, neither minibar... It was like that for the next 2 days and i had to talk with so many people ( IT manager, General Manager, Guest Relations, Recepcionist,1,2,...) at the 3rd day they finally made it ( we were there for 6 nights...), but only because I had to demonstrate how disapointed were ( questioning even if it was a 2 or a five star hotel...

So as conclusion:

Rixos Libertas is in an amazing location

The facilities are very good (altough very badly mantained).For example many lights on the corridors are broken, the carpets are very dirty , the furniture on the rooms are in very bad condition ,the water on the bath tube doesn t go well, we have to turn of the AC on the rooms because the noise is tremendous. The corridors are bad and the doors and carpets a disgrace.

And yes :on the reception is a strange smell..

The housekeeping is bad ( there were many antz on the table ) and there would be there unless I killed them. I dit it but had to ask to the girl to cleaned it or else they would be there days and days.

The people personaly is very friendly, but professionaly a disaster

Regarding the food:

on the pool bar is bad ( and I the bar is a complete mess , all dirty) eating there just on a table.
turkish resataurant is good
buffet breakfast good but not exceptional ( terrible pankakes ) not as expected on a 5 star
The buffet dinner we didnt tried

The spa is probably one of the best things ( i think it is an outsorcing management, and there is the difference)

The reason that i am writting all this points is because I sincerely think that the reputation of Rixos ( superbrand on Turquey) diserves the care of their customers because just with this kind of reviews is posible not only to be better but mostly have people happy ( working or having vacation).

You have possibly a fantastic hotel but you have urgently to reconsider how change this very dirty and stone and on a shinning diamond .Ii think that with the right persons and love for the the work it is possible to have a trully 5 star hotel. Now i consider it a weak 4 star ...

I hope that it could better .

Best Regars and all the good luck.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmarquessilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
There are newer reviews for Rixos Hotel Libertas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

From the moment you arrive you get the feeling that you are important and if there is anything you need the management cares and wants to help.
The facilities are awesome and the views are staggering.
We had a ball.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosko386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

(Sorry for my English.)
Luxury 5* hotel.
Location is very good: it's 15 minutes walk to the old city (or 9 euro by taxi). The hotel stays on the sea coast.
Unfortunately the hotel has no beach, it has sun benches between the pool and the sea shore, and a path to the sea.
The breakfast is very delicious. And you get it on the open terrace with excellent sea view (also you can get it inside).
The hotel has a night club that is open on Fri and Sat until 3 AM. (But we didn't visited it, because we visited night parties in the city).
Disadvantage: all bars in the hotel are closed after 12 PM. (Room service is declared to work 24h, but we didn't use it). There is no restaurants near the hotel. The nearest restaurant is located in the old city.
The room is luxury, beautiful and big, it has big balcony and sea view.
The staff speaks English well.
Free Internet in the room and on the beach.
Free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

taken from the top landed at rixos on 1st night to be told that the hotel was over booked and given a room at the argentina on the other side of town this was a major upset as we lost our first day changing hotels and to discover that our room was`nt going to be ready till nearly 3pm. I had visions of a disaster for the whole week.To make a long story short the room was clean and tidy and the sun/pool area was`nt crowded and well serviced by friendly staff who also serviced the hotels three other restaurants.The food was first class with no disappointments(turkish restaurant highly recommended).Ok the hotel is`nt flawless but the management team made sure we had a very enjoyable stay and will defo be back to rixos dubrovnik thanks to Ayhan,argen and almir.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULMC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel is probably one of the best placed if you are visiting Dubrovnik as it has it's own swimming area and rocks to the sea as well as a large 'beach' area and outdoor and indoor pools but is also not too far from the town. This seems to be a rare combination in the area. The number of beaches in the area are limited and tend to be bits of flatish rock next to the water so we found it very useful to have somewhere directly on the sea to swim from. The staff were very helpful and we received excellent service after needing to find an emergency dentist on a Sunday evening! Waiters also remembered us throughout the week despite the hotel being busy. There are a few bars/restaurants in the hotel and I would recommend the turkish one as the best with a great choice of mezze type dishes. The design and spec of the shared and outdoor areas is very good although I would agree with some reviews that the rooms have not been maintained quite as well and there were a few blemishes such as broken light shades etc. but nothing to spoil the stay. The bathrooms are fantastic, with clear glass walls giving you a view of the sea from the shower! (There are blinds fitted if you want a little more privacy.) We had a couple of delays in ordering throughout the week but generally the service was flawless and assitance given for taxis, and other visits in the area. The hotel is also a pleasant 10 minute walk into the old town so very well placed for exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenleyPodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were sad to leave having spent 7 days at this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. Our room was clean and smart with fantastic views from a fairly private balcony ... it was hardly overlooked.

The breakfast had something for everyone - healthy, cooked, waffles, fruit, rolls etc. The evening meals offered a varied choice to suite all tastes that changed every night.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is 15 / 20 minutes walk from the old town and is close to the bus route into town.

Dubrovnik is a fantastic town with so much to see and do that 1 week is not enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Large, boring, technically far from perfect hotel (probably because of Turkish management that has its own standards). The room is large but the quality of room decoration is low, the bathroom equipment works bad, not all light bulbs were working. Not a five star at all. The location is relatively good but it's FAR from the old city than advertised (it takes no less than 15-20 minutes to reach it by foot). The staff was helpful and attentive, the breakfast was good, the SPA is good but nothing special. There's no beach, just the crowded beach area. The prices of beverages in the minibar and in the bars are VERY high.
I don't think this hotel is bad but definitely it's not a best value for money.

p.s. And ye, the carpet in the hall is... discreditable :). Looks like a dirty grey door mat. The building of the hotel is of grey concrete too. Not too pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qesign_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £73 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing