We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

The hotel belongs to a Turkish chain, that proved its quality. No place for bad suprises.. The location is 15 min walk 2 min taxi distance from the city centre. It is good not to be in the centre since the hotel has its own beach(no sands just stones) and a beautiful view of Adriatic. All rooms have a large balcony.

The rooms are clean and very luxurious for a beach resort. The staff offers world famous Turkish hospitality. The guy in the concierge can do anything for you.

The hotel has a casino inside but for my 5 days I never seen it opened.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    555
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
276
915
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I were traveling with 3 teenagers and were really looking forward to our stay at the Rixos after checking out the website.... because it looked so beautiful.

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a very cheery porter who took care of our bags immediately. The receptionist at check in was very sullen and rather slow.
We were directed to our rooms which on first impression looked very clean, smart and contemporary. We had a little issue with the children's room because the bathroom had a clear glass shower surround with no curtains so this caused a problem when you had 3 teenagers wanting to shower. However we contacted reception and they quickly rectified this by taping a shower curtain onto the glass surround.

All was going well ......... or so we thought!!!

Next was the unpacking. The wardrobes are very tiny and you only have two tiny drawers for your smalls!!!!!!! bikinis etc. but hey ho we didn't dwell on this either. After all we were on holiday and i wasn't going to let a tiny wardrobe spoil things.

Lunch, swimming and sunbathing were next on the agenda, so we changed and headed for the snack bar and pool area. No sunbeds could be found and if you could find one you had to be very cosy with your foreign neighbour. The sunbeds were very cramped in my opinion. The pool was dirty and didn't seem to be cleaned all week. Food at the snack bar was average but the surroundings again were very grubby but the staff were polite if not a little slow.. The spa was very smelly & dirty, as were the toilets next to indoor pool. The decking area was not washed all week. my son spilt an ice cream on the decking which we tried to clean up with a bottle of water but unfortunately the sticky mess was still there three days later. My other son also cut his foot on broken glass near the pool .

Arriving back in our room in the evening. we smelt a very musty damp smell along the corridor and in our room itself but thought it might be a one off ,but unfortunately it lasted all week. The balcony in our room was not even swept or mopped all week and there were cigarette butts in the garden area in front of out balcony. We actually smoke but i can imagine that this would be very offensive to people who dont. We opted for half board and wished we hadn't as the food was very uninteresting and very cold although we ate at the payable turkish restaurant which WAS very good.

Lifts were extremely slow and always full. Night club and 3 bars were not open in the height of the season and the only form of entertainment was a singer in the bar, she was very good but after you had seen her for 3 nights it was boring. The night club and various bars was one of the reasons for booking this hotel.

GOOD POINTS:

POLITE FRIENDLY WAITERS (NOT RECEPTIONIST)
GREAT VIEWS
WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE TO DUBROVNIK
BREAKFAST
CROATIA BEAUTIFUL

BAD POINTS

VERY DIRTY, ESPECIALLY THE POOL & DECKING AREA
ROOMS ,POOL & TOILETS VERY SMELLY
BARS SHUT
NIGHTCLUB SHUT
REPETITIVE ENTERTAINMENT
LIFELESS BAR
FOOD AWFUL & COLD
CRAMPED SUNBEDS

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel and i think is all down to the management staff who need to address the cleanliness and food issues. I thought Rixos had a good reputation but i now doubt their hotel in Dubrovnik.

Sorry to moan and I know this review seems like i am a really fussy customer, but i have never complained about a hotel before, and I believe you should get what you pay for. I paid £900 per person for a week and wanted to let others know how disappointed I was with the experience. The extras bill for the hotel came to just over £1500 making the holiday an expensive but not a very enjoyable trip.

Finally when you check out you are handed with a business like card and told by the receptionist if you leave a POSITIVE review regarding the Rixos Dubrovnik Hotel on trip advisor and another hotel review site ( i cant remember the name of it) that you would have a chance of winning a free holiday. i think i would rather stay at home!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josmith8037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esposende, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Dear Sirs,

First of all I would like to explain that I am writting this open letternot only because I would like that other travellers could read it but also because the problems that I had I am certain that the admninistration of Rixos that has as objective beeing even better would apreciate also to known it.

I was on Rixos Libertas on the second week of August after a road trip that started one week before in Zagreb.

After several hours of trip we arrived at one evening and altough the reservation was made and payed 3 weeks ago, the person on the reception told us that they were overbooked and we would have to go to another hote for that nightl. Imagine us - me , my wife and a children of 2 - at 23:00 receiving after a long trip this new...not very nice...

Next morning we had to wait until the room was ready. When they informed us , and preparing to check out a surprise: the backup hotel was trying to charge us that night. Why? Because Nobody told them that it was free of charge for us. One misunderstanding that took more minutes until beeing completely clarified.

Finaly we went to Rixos, talk with the manager, that personaly excuse himself and garanteed that we would have one nice room as we expected. Result : He puts us on a room with a door with another room . we eared everything and because our baby couldn t sleep i had to ask to move us to another room.

Fortunatelly the persons for only room available hadn t arrived and it was posible to change the room ( poor persons ...)

Arriving to the new room there was not neither internet, neither minibar... It was like that for the next 2 days and i had to talk with so many people ( IT manager, General Manager, Guest Relations, Recepcionist,1,2,...) at the 3rd day they finally made it ( we were there for 6 nights...), but only because I had to demonstrate how disapointed were ( questioning even if it was a 2 or a five star hotel...

So as conclusion:

Rixos Libertas is in an amazing location

The facilities are very good (altough very badly mantained).For example many lights on the corridors are broken, the carpets are very dirty , the furniture on the rooms are in very bad condition ,the water on the bath tube doesn t go well, we have to turn of the AC on the rooms because the noise is tremendous. The corridors are bad and the doors and carpets a disgrace.

And yes :on the reception is a strange smell..

The housekeeping is bad ( there were many antz on the table ) and there would be there unless I killed them. I dit it but had to ask to the girl to cleaned it or else they would be there days and days.

The people personaly is very friendly, but professionaly a disaster

Regarding the food:

on the pool bar is bad ( and I the bar is a complete mess , all dirty) eating there just on a table.
turkish resataurant is good
buffet breakfast good but not exceptional ( terrible pankakes ) not as expected on a 5 star
The buffet dinner we didnt tried

The spa is probably one of the best things ( i think it is an outsorcing management, and there is the difference)

The reason that i am writting all this points is because I sincerely think that the reputation of Rixos ( superbrand on Turquey) diserves the care of their customers because just with this kind of reviews is posible not only to be better but mostly have people happy ( working or having vacation).

You have possibly a fantastic hotel but you have urgently to reconsider how change this very dirty and stone and on a shinning diamond .Ii think that with the right persons and love for the the work it is possible to have a trully 5 star hotel. Now i consider it a weak 4 star ...

I hope that it could better .

Best Regars and all the good luck.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmarquessilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

From the moment you arrive you get the feeling that you are important and if there is anything you need the management cares and wants to help.
The facilities are awesome and the views are staggering.
We had a ball.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosko386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

(Sorry for my English.)
Luxury 5* hotel.
Location is very good: it's 15 minutes walk to the old city (or 9 euro by taxi). The hotel stays on the sea coast.
Unfortunately the hotel has no beach, it has sun benches between the pool and the sea shore, and a path to the sea.
The breakfast is very delicious. And you get it on the open terrace with excellent sea view (also you can get it inside).
The hotel has a night club that is open on Fri and Sat until 3 AM. (But we didn't visited it, because we visited night parties in the city).
Disadvantage: all bars in the hotel are closed after 12 PM. (Room service is declared to work 24h, but we didn't use it). There is no restaurants near the hotel. The nearest restaurant is located in the old city.
The room is luxury, beautiful and big, it has big balcony and sea view.
The staff speaks English well.
Free Internet in the room and on the beach.
Free parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossmaglen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

taken from the top landed at rixos on 1st night to be told that the hotel was over booked and given a room at the argentina on the other side of town this was a major upset as we lost our first day changing hotels and to discover that our room was`nt going to be ready till nearly 3pm. I had visions of a disaster for the whole week.To make a long story short the room was clean and tidy and the sun/pool area was`nt crowded and well serviced by friendly staff who also serviced the hotels three other restaurants.The food was first class with no disappointments(turkish restaurant highly recommended).Ok the hotel is`nt flawless but the management team made sure we had a very enjoyable stay and will defo be back to rixos dubrovnik thanks to Ayhan,argen and almir.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULMC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel is probably one of the best placed if you are visiting Dubrovnik as it has it's own swimming area and rocks to the sea as well as a large 'beach' area and outdoor and indoor pools but is also not too far from the town. This seems to be a rare combination in the area. The number of beaches in the area are limited and tend to be bits of flatish rock next to the water so we found it very useful to have somewhere directly on the sea to swim from. The staff were very helpful and we received excellent service after needing to find an emergency dentist on a Sunday evening! Waiters also remembered us throughout the week despite the hotel being busy. There are a few bars/restaurants in the hotel and I would recommend the turkish one as the best with a great choice of mezze type dishes. The design and spec of the shared and outdoor areas is very good although I would agree with some reviews that the rooms have not been maintained quite as well and there were a few blemishes such as broken light shades etc. but nothing to spoil the stay. The bathrooms are fantastic, with clear glass walls giving you a view of the sea from the shower! (There are blinds fitted if you want a little more privacy.) We had a couple of delays in ordering throughout the week but generally the service was flawless and assitance given for taxis, and other visits in the area. The hotel is also a pleasant 10 minute walk into the old town so very well placed for exploring.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenleyPodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing