We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just stayed five nights here, located just outside Pile Gate, very easy to get the bus from the airport as the first bus stop is the Pile Gate.
Location is the best selling point for these rooms.
On arrival we were met by Edi, a very pleasant chap who could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Although we did not get a sea view room on arrival, Edi said we could have one after the first two nights if we wished. We do not go away to sit in the room, and were happy to stay where we were so did not swap over. Apart from our room being rather small (which I had expected) I could not fault it. Refurbished not too long ago, it was clean with a nice clean shower / toilet room. Sheets and towels changed after second night.
Television and aircon provided (did not use). Also kettle and cups etc for making tea, and free Wi Fi which worked fine for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlsberg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    29
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
16
84
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good location just outside of the old town (you wouldn't want to carry your suitcase in the old town anyway!)
Great tips from Edi both for Dubrovnik and the rest of our itinerary.
Really great view on sea and fortifications.
Newly renovated, lovely rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This guest house is very near to the old city.

We had three rooms on the 2nd floor and the rooms were clean and well appointed with nice furnishings and bathrooms. I believe these are the refurbished rooms. The two sea view rooms are much nicer than the other room and the prices should reflect this.

Edi was very helpful and gave plenty of advice and assistance.

Not cheap for a guest house but Dubrovnik is an expensive city.

I would recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Edi Macinko went out of his way to make our stay in Dubrovnik and Croatia outstanding. Disappointed that we could not get the asked-for "sea view room" that Edi is apparently famous for, Edi offered us his cousin's apartment in the Old City for the same price, which was a total score as far as we were concerned! Edi was very helpful in recommending restaurants ("mention my name after you've had your meal...", which we did, and which elicited free apertifs on two occasions!), and in contacting his friends and associates in Mljet and Korcula to line up rooms for us when we visited those islands. This man is obviously very well-connected, and to us seemed to represent the entrepreneurial spirit of the once-again republic of Croatia. We started referrring to being in "Edi's Orbit" when we returned by bus from Korcula and Edi's sister Sylvana was at the bus station to be sure we got on the right local bus to get back in to Dubrovnik. When we needed another room for the short night we'd have before flying out, Edi arranged that for us (he was, again, full up at his own place), and dissuaded us from taking a taxi to the airport ("Why pay 250 kuna for a taxi? My sister will take you for 200!!"). Some may find this overbearing, but we honestly felt that it was just the way he is and he's a natural host and entrepreneur. To American tastes he may appear brusque, but one must get over this and realize you're not in metaphorical-Kansas any more; this is how things work in Edi's Orbit. Relax, Edi's got you covered. We're recommending him to friends who are traveling to Croatia next year. Thanks, Edi!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccm436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I just finished the best vacation ever in Dubrovnik, Croatia. We had an apartment with the most charmed possible view of the adriatic sea at this cozy home in central dubrovnik with the nicest owner. We highly recommend the newly renovated "Edi,s Sea View." Amazing view of a darling, charming cove of the Adriatic Sea, two minutes walking distance from central Old Town. Affordable rates. Clean room that was newly renovated in a beautiful modern way. Add to it: Perfect weather. Wonderful people. Can I be any more emphaticly positive??? The owner, Edi, was incredibly helpful in all ways: internet on the fritz? He got it fixed. Need a taxi? Got it. Need restaurant recommendations? How about 5? Always helpful. Always available. There is no reason to stay at the fancy Hilton or chain hotels in the immediate vicinity, when you can enjoy a much more stunning view and Croatian hospitality for a much better rate.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a sea view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationSaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The place was very near the Old Town Gate and so was extremely convenient. Edi is overbearingly friendly and insistingly helpful when it comes to giving directions and recommending restaurants. The ensuite room was small but had air con. The shower broke when we tried to use it but Edi went out of his way to get it fixed immediately. The room was advertised as "sea-view" but our room had no sea-view. Overall, I would recommend this place. It's convenient and functional for those who wish to spend most of their time out of the hotel and in the city.

Room Tip: Insist on Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip. We booked through an online booking site as the location was perfect for us (right beside the old town walls). On arrival Edi met us and gave all the information we could have wanted about the area (where to eat, drink and see) - and he also organised our taxi to the airport for the next morning, top notch host and very friendly.

Our room had the most amazing view out over the sea. The rooms are in an old house as Edi pointed out so the sound can travel, but we had no problems. The ensuite was in need of some TLC but to be honest this didnt bother us. The room felt celan, the aircon worked perfectly and the next morning our taxi turned up on time...so overall couldnt have wanted anymore.

Thanks to Edi, and Johnny the dog!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djoneill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town

Property: Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Address: U Pilama 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edi Macinko Apartments Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing