We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also known as Edi Sea View Rooms - Beware of Edi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beware of Edi! Is he a con? We booked for one night at Edi Sea view Rooms having already visited Dubrovnik a week earlier. We arrived at 4pm from Sarajevo expected to check in to our room. Edi did not have a sea view room available until 6pm as the key for the room was with one of relative away to funeral. He offered us another room with a discount. This room was in another apartment. We went to check it out and found it to be not suitable at all! He offered us another apartment belonging to his friend located within old town. We went to view this apartment with his friend. Once again we found it unsuitable. We went back to Edi. Time was about 4.30pm already. We were tired and needed to freshen up. Edi contacted someone on his mobile and said room will be ready for 5pm. We went for refreshment to kill some time. We arrive back Edi’s at approx 5.20pm. Edi took us to a third floor apartment with a view. This apartment did not have a sea view as described when I booked it or described by other travellers. This apartment belonged to one his relative (or friend)! It was definitely not part of Edi Sea View Rooms. We were tired. We just paid 80 Euro cash. I would not have paid more than 50 Euro (even in Dubrovnik). Edi only accepts cash payments. Edi offered Taxi for airport at 30 Euro. We declined as you can get airport shuttle for 5 Euro (35 Kuna) from old town cable car station. Location was good – one of the reasons I chose Edi Sea View Rooms. Is Edi working on commissions in cartel with others with his apartments as booking cover?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rameshlcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Edi is a very pleasant, helpful fellow, with knowledge of everything Dubrovnik. This is the place to stay. It is right on the cove right outside of Pile Gate, quite literally 30 second walk to the water. Perfectly priced and very neat and tidy. Cannot wait to come back. View of the cove is incredible.

Room Tip: Definitely call Edi ahead of time. He will appreciate it and its nice to confirm the room. We called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just stayed five nights here, located just outside Pile Gate, very easy to get the bus from the airport as the first bus stop is the Pile Gate.
Location is the best selling point for these rooms.
On arrival we were met by Edi, a very pleasant chap who could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Although we did not get a sea view room on arrival, Edi said we could have one after the first two nights if we wished. We do not go away to sit in the room, and were happy to stay where we were so did not swap over. Apart from our room being rather small (which I had expected) I could not fault it. Refurbished not too long ago, it was clean with a nice clean shower / toilet room. Sheets and towels changed after second night.
Television and aircon provided (did not use). Also kettle and cups etc for making tea, and free Wi Fi which worked fine for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsberg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good location just outside of the old town (you wouldn't want to carry your suitcase in the old town anyway!)
Great tips from Edi both for Dubrovnik and the rest of our itinerary.
Really great view on sea and fortifications.
Newly renovated, lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This guest house is very near to the old city.

We had three rooms on the 2nd floor and the rooms were clean and well appointed with nice furnishings and bathrooms. I believe these are the refurbished rooms. The two sea view rooms are much nicer than the other room and the prices should reflect this.

Edi was very helpful and gave plenty of advice and assistance.

Not cheap for a guest house but Dubrovnik is an expensive city.

I would recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Edi Macinko went out of his way to make our stay in Dubrovnik and Croatia outstanding. Disappointed that we could not get the asked-for "sea view room" that Edi is apparently famous for, Edi offered us his cousin's apartment in the Old City for the same price, which was a total score as far as we were concerned! Edi was very helpful in recommending restaurants ("mention my name after you've had your meal...", which we did, and which elicited free apertifs on two occasions!), and in contacting his friends and associates in Mljet and Korcula to line up rooms for us when we visited those islands. This man is obviously very well-connected, and to us seemed to represent the entrepreneurial spirit of the once-again republic of Croatia. We started referrring to being in "Edi's Orbit" when we returned by bus from Korcula and Edi's sister Sylvana was at the bus station to be sure we got on the right local bus to get back in to Dubrovnik. When we needed another room for the short night we'd have before flying out, Edi arranged that for us (he was, again, full up at his own place), and dissuaded us from taking a taxi to the airport ("Why pay 250 kuna for a taxi? My sister will take you for 200!!"). Some may find this overbearing, but we honestly felt that it was just the way he is and he's a natural host and entrepreneur. To American tastes he may appear brusque, but one must get over this and realize you're not in metaphorical-Kansas any more; this is how things work in Edi's Orbit. Relax, Edi's got you covered. We're recommending him to friends who are traveling to Croatia next year. Thanks, Edi!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccm436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I just finished the best vacation ever in Dubrovnik, Croatia. We had an apartment with the most charmed possible view of the adriatic sea at this cozy home in central dubrovnik with the nicest owner. We highly recommend the newly renovated "Edi,s Sea View." Amazing view of a darling, charming cove of the Adriatic Sea, two minutes walking distance from central Old Town. Affordable rates. Clean room that was newly renovated in a beautiful modern way. Add to it: Perfect weather. Wonderful people. Can I be any more emphaticly positive??? The owner, Edi, was incredibly helpful in all ways: internet on the fritz? He got it fixed. Need a taxi? Got it. Need restaurant recommendations? How about 5? Always helpful. Always available. There is no reason to stay at the fancy Hilton or chain hotels in the immediate vicinity, when you can enjoy a much more stunning view and Croatian hospitality for a much better rate.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a sea view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationSaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
#56 of 68 in Dubrovnik
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartment Peppino
Apartment Peppino
#54 of 68 in Dubrovnik
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
119 reviews
1.5 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town

Address: U Pilama 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £64 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edi Macinko Apartments Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing