We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay in the old city!”
Review of Rooms Vicelic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rooms Vicelic
Ranked #15 of 178 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay in the old city!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at this apartment/hotel in Dubrovnik for 2 days in June 2011. I had looked over lots of reviews on both Venere and on TripAdvisor and chose this hotel because of its popular reviews to be honest. 

The location of the apartments in the old city, were the key choice in my decision to stay here. However I had read, that the hotel's owners were a big part of what people enjoyed by staying at this apartment.  This was very much the case. 

I was so pleasantly surprised to find the most genuine, honest, hard-working people that opened up their original home to me and to several of the guests  while I was there. 

It is indeed a "tricky" place to get to the first time.  But this can be said of anywhere in old Dubrovnik. There are a lot of steps I'm the city.  That is the Charm!!!   But the owner, Darko, offered to, and did  pick me up at the port and helped me with my bag to get to the hotel with no problem at all!!!  I knew this was going to be a cool place. 

The location of these apartments are crucial to staying in Dubrovnik. There is probably no better place to stay that is centrally located to the restaurants and to the little port where you jump on the boats to go for your day trips.  Or one can wonder around the walled city and stare in wonder at all of prettiness that is Dubrovnik.  I highly recommend a sundown drink at the Buža bar!!!!

Again the the owners made my stay very pleasant. My belonging were secure and well looked after by Darko or his mother.  

 If I needed anything they make sure that I was able to get it immediately, for example I needed a towel one day to go to the island and Darko's mom found one for me immediately and gave it to me.  She just said "Daaharling, don't worry we will get you bring it back when you're finished .".  If she didn't tell me that she was born Dubrovnik, I would have thought she was a lost Hungarian, Gabor sister! 

It is with great pleasure that I take to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Dubrovnik. Their place is IDEALLY located! It is clean! The owners take a tremendous pride in what they are providing, and the hotel lives up to the reviews that many people have given it! It is a very very good place to stay with a  warm open friendly feeling. 

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Man_of_the_world_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    46
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
75
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights, had pickup from airport for cheaper than taxi on busy day at airport with 3 flights arriving, met at city gates and guided to rooms!
Cons: TINY bathroom, yet to see bathroom in Croatia after 1 week where you don't hit your head on something - but was nice to have the ensuite! Darko, would be nice to have double glazing on windows to help cut down noise at night, and those birds in the morning :)
Pros: very friendly staff, fridge and cutlery in room, good aircon,

Interesting way of communicating with guests / staff with postit notes!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowschoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

There can't be many better locations in Dubrovnik's old town... just a minute from the Stradun and Prijeko up one of the small alleys that climb the hill towards the land side wall. We only booked the day before so were in their overflow room across the alley from the main house - all of 15 feet away - but we still had a small living room (with a sofa, tv, fridge and kettle), a double bedroom, and a large bathroom. It's not fancy, but everything worked and everything was scrupulously clean. Darko and the rest of his family were really friendly and helpful. In the morning we found a gem of a spot for breakfast - just keep climbing up Antuninska to the top and you'll find a great konoba (called Konoba Lady Pi-Pi for reasons we never discovered) with a lovely terrace and superb views over the city. They also do lunch & dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerumdeVerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Fantastic! We arranged a pick-up from the airport, but our flight was delayed and the owner's son couldn't pick us up. Oh well, we still had a taxi waiting for us. This is much cheaper than any hotel you'll find, and the stay is much more unique. It is right in the walls of Old Town, about 30 steps up from the main walkway. They have a small common mess area to use for tea, coffee etc. Free Wi-Fi that is accessible from your room, and a small TV with a couple channels. You really have to be quiet in your room though, we had a door with about 6 inches of free space above it, and you can hear anyone coming in or out. I would definitely stay here again though, can't really complain, I wasn't looking for a 5 star hotel. If your looking for something super classy, this isnt for you. If you want something to make you feel like you are part of the Old Town, go here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Unassuming, but comfortable and spacious room. So clean you could eat from the floor, really! Anka is ever so hospitable and even carried my heavy suitcase for me up the stairs. Excellent location, quick walk from the bus and taxis, yet in the heart of the gorgeous Old Town with its marble streets. You can also trust them to be there when you land at the airport, for kn200. Very good value!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Rooms Vicelic was a very comfortable and affordable place to stay in Old Town Dubrovnik. Location in the Old Town was excellent, however be prepared to climb quite a few steep stairs to get to the guest house. Anyone who is disabled or mobility impaired should forget about this place, however Dubrovnik in general isn't really a town where people with disabilities can move around easily due to the high number of stairs and narrow alleys.

Room size was good, with a large comfortable bed, small wardrobe, LCD TV and a reasonable size bathroom. Nothing is particularly modern and the ceiling is quite low, but it gives the place a rather unique charm. We stayed in number 10, in the room on the upper left hand corner as you walk in the front door. There is quite a steep narrow staircase inside the building that leads to the room, which also gives it a quirky feel but could be difficult for some people.

Remember this is a guest house, not a hotel. There is no reception desk, and you receive a key to the building and then a key to your room. Also in the building is a small kitchenette with a sink, fridge and some milk, coffee and biscuits available to use. There is also free wireless internet available for those with a laptop or smartphone.

The owner/manager Anka is extremely nice, and was more than willing to help with any questions or queries. An airport transfer is offered as well for 200kn.

Overall we had a nice comfy stay at Rooms Vicelic, and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

First of all, definitely take up the offer for them to arrange a taxi from the airport. I got one myself thinking it would be cheaper than their price and it absolutely was not!
Finding the place can be a little hard (especially when my taxi dropped me at the wrong entrance!) but it's up a whole lot of stairs - so be prepared for a bit of a climb if you have a suitcase. However it is worth it. The hostess Anka was wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is not served here, but there are hundreds of great little places near by. My room was the one on the bottom so you get a bit of foot traffic noise, but it was lovely and cool and the bed was comfortable so no complaints there. If you're looking for somewhere at a good price in a great location, Rooms Vicelic is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planes_need_leg_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 496 in Dubrovnik
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Vicelic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Vicelic

Property: Rooms Vicelic
Address: Antuninska 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms Vicelic 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms Vicelic is a guesthouse located inside walls of old city Dubrovnik. Rooms are equipped with en suite bathroom , air condition , flat screen tv , sheets and towels are provided , shared kitchenette. Good location , comfortable place , helpful owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rooms Vicelic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Vicelic Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing