We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Welcome”
Review of Rooms Vicelic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rooms Vicelic
Ranked #13 of 181 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I recently stayed in Rooms Vicelic after having read about the place on Trip Advisor. The incredibly warm welcome, helpful people, cleanliness of the Rooms and ideal location exceeded all my expectations. Darko met me at the Pile Gate and took me to the Rooms and helped me settle in. He arranged for a Taxi to take me to the Airport at 4.30am on the morning I was leaving. All this talk about step steps and stairs is overdone - in the heart of the old city this is simply part of life! I could not recommend this place highly enough. A real gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Rooms Vicelic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Right in the heart of The Old town - Nice clean pleasant rooms - Good rates - Helpfull staff - There are a few steps to get to it so be prepared. Only a very short walk from the Airport drop off point

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

After reading numerous reviews of lodgings in Dubrovnik on TA and other various sites I decided to try Rooms Vicelic in the Old Town. This was my first but certainly not my last visit to this wonderful city. I wanted to sample the atmosphere and the ambiance within the city walls itself so this location looked ideal. My host, Darko arranged for me to be picked up at the airport and was there to welcome me at the city gates. Everything was pretty much as I had expected from previous reviews.The property was most inviting and had a lovely homely feel to it. My room was on the ground floor and was perfect for my requirements.It was clean and well kept, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and the all important free WiFi, what more could you ask for. Bathroom was also well appointed, clean and functional. The property is perfectly located half way up a side street - a number of steps from the main street or Stradum. The steps could possibility pose problems for some people, perhaps with limited mobility, but most I'm sure would be able to negotiate them easily enough. Rooms Vicelic is close by all the major attractions that Dubrovnik has to offer. The Old Town can be easily covered in a day or two, walking along the top of the City Walls and also taking the Cable Car to the fort were two of the most enjoyable experiences as they offered quite stunning views over this magnificent city. Restaurants and cafes are also within easy reach of the accommodation, the Taj Mahal, a Bosnian restaurant was one of my favorite eateries during my stay. There was a number of Irish pubs as well close by where I was able to watch the Champions League and the English Premiership. The Old Town of Dubrovnik has a lovely feel to it, hard to describe other than to say its warm and inviting. I had planned on doing a day trip or two out of town but chose not to as I was quite content where I was. Darko, my host was once again most gracious on my departure and organized my transportation to the airport. The bill for my four nights stay was very reasonable I thought, good value all round. Delighted to have found this little gem of a place and would have to say it certainly added to the overall experience. Dubrovnik and Darko I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTINMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Rooms Vicelic last summer and had a great time.After clambering the steep steps in the heat of the midday sun up a narrow alley (which may present problems for those with mobility issues), we weren't sure what we going to find, but what we found was a lovely little place to stay with exceptional hosts.

The room itself was basic but more than adequate for a budget traveller. Watch out for the ceilings which are a bit low, but after one hit of the head, this was quickly remembered. Nice to have the option of a kitchen, making it easier t survive on a budget. The bathroom was upstairs, but private just for us, and was always clean and had everything you need.

The best points where definitely the location - smack bang in the centre of the Old Town and a 10 minute walk to the beach, the price - which was very reasonable, but most of all the hosts. Darko in particular was a great help, recommending things to do, giving a bit of history about the city with good Croatian passion and even organised and picked up our tickets for travel to Split. Above and beyond the call of duty. I'd also recommend the restaurant at the top of the street which provided an outstanding mixed grill with huge portions.

All in all, fairly basic but outstanding budget option in great location with a very warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ground floor not en-suite, had a private bathroom up some fairly dangerous stairs at night. Second f...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights in October 2012.

I had booked a single room ensuite, and was given a really lovely room which had exposed stone walls on the second floor. The room exceeded my expectations. nicely decorated and smelled of fresh linen.

The bed was comfortable, the shower small but had excellent pressure and hot water, the window seemed to be double glazed as I didn't find it noisy at all. Though there is a drainpipe which, when it rained it sounded like a torrential downpour! On that note, be careful what shoes you take to Dubrovnik if its going to be wet, the old cobblestones can be slippery.

The small kitchenette, which is available for all guests to use with coffee, tea, biscuits, was outside my bedroom door, which could have disturbed a light sleeper if anyone was using it at unsociable times, though this didn't happen to me. The window overlooked the narrow alleyway down to the main square.

The location is excellent if you want to stay within the city walls only two minutes or so walk down stairs to the main square. The owner I met was Anka who was helpful and friendly with excellent english. They are available to call at any point if you need help, but otherwise you are left to your own devices. Check out arrangements are easy, I was able to check out but leave my bag and come back to pick it up before leaving later in the day.

The city is most charming once the masses of cruise boat daytrippers head back to their boats later in the afternoon/evening. I was surprised by how many people there were given it was offseason-ish October but the cruise boaters accounted for most of them.

I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Location is perfect and access to the apartment and to the centre of the old town is via a number of steps which may present problems for those with mobility difficulties. Anka and Darko, her son, were perfect hosts and checked daily on our needs and provided excellent recommendations for local restaurants and things to see. Free parking is very difficult to find but private parking can be arranged for a fee. Prior arrangements are advised for this. There is a small kitchen area for meal preparation but limited space for eating apart from the bedroom. We used the steps outside the apartment or ate out. It was hot when we were there and each of the rooms had very efficient air conditioning. If we returned to Dubrovnic we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Atlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Rooms Vicelic and would recommend it to others. The rooms were small, but charming and clean, with lovely stone exterior walls and wooden shutters opening onto a narrow alley, close to Pile Gate and good restaurants. We appreciated the in-room air conditioning, as well as the small communal kitchen. Anka was very helpful in showing us what was where and setting us up with a taxi to the airport. A few downsides that didn't really detract from our visit but might be of interest to others: 1) the street noise is minimal, but the walls are thin and Dubrovnik can be a party town, so sounds from amorous and/or late-night neighbors travels; and 2) the hotel is up a steep set of worn stone steps from the main pedestrian thoroughfare, which can be tricky with large luggage. Also, there's no continuous reception, just a posted phone number; someone comes quickly to check you in when you arrive, but this system would have been difficult if we didn't have a mobile phone that works in Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,066 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,528 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 501 in Dubrovnik
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Vicelic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Vicelic

Address: Antuninska 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £32 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms Vicelic 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms Vicelic is a guesthouse located inside walls of old city Dubrovnik. Rooms are equipped with en suite bathroom , air condition , flat screen tv , sheets and towels are provided , shared kitchenette. Good location , comfortable place , helpful owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rooms Vicelic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms Vicelic Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing