We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A stand-out feature of this excellent family-run small hotel is the "information service" provided by Katarina and Eva. During our week-long stay in July we came to rely upon their advice and suggestions as to places to visit, suitable restaurants, bus details and directions.

Another highlight was the quality of the breakfasts and the friendly service provided by Katarina's and Eva's aunt.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room 42 - you won't be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
509
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel is extremely clean, breakfast is adequate although very boring - there are only so many ways you can have eggs !! The location is not the best if you expect to be able to stroll into the old town. Whilst we found the staff helpful, they come across as being quite cold & unfriendly. The hotel itself definately lacks a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoughboroughUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We visited Berkeley Hotel for a week at the beginning of September. We spent quite a while deciding which hotel to book in Dubrovnik, but I'm very glad that we chose this one. The family who run the hotel were so kind and helpful, and always had the time for us. We spent quite a while asking questions about excursions and places to visit in Croatia, and they never ceased to be helpful in recommending restaurants which they thought we would like (and they were right), excursions, practical information on Dubrovnik and so on (please note, they only recommended restaurants and so on once we asked their opinion.)

The Hotel itself is literally just a few minutes away from Gruz Harbour, where many boats left for excursions to nearby islands, and where there were regular buses to Old Town Dubrovnik, which was not far away (Tip: Buy the bus tickets from a nearby vendor, rather than on the bus - they're slightly cheaper that way.) We spent a few afternoons relaxing by the hotel pool, and our hotel room itself was always very clean and comfortable - we chose a studio sea view so we had a little kitchenette as well, which was brilliant for keeping the fresh fruit we would buy from the market down the road. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel also provides airport transfers, at a rate which is much better than the local taxis would provide (it was 55 euros return)

Small point: The hotel itself is situated on a bit of a busy road with not much of a pavement on the side of the hotel, and cars speed by quite a bit. It didn't bother me in the least, but since guests would regularly have to cross this road to get to Gruz harbour, families with small children might want to keep this point in mind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Everyday there was a different cruise liner in the majestic Gruz harbour view from our balcony. We felt sorry for the passengers, as they weren't staying at our hotel, and they would only get one day to visit the area.
We stayed in great comfort and at very reasonable cost in this new boutique hotel near to the action of Dubrovnik, but also very private and quiet compared to other places in the area.

Room Tip: Take a studio or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The hotel staff were excellant and if anything needed sorting out they would arrange for it to be done. The swimming pool having recently been completed is a nice addition to the hotel. It was very quiet throughout the day.The breakfast on a morning was more than ample. The bus to the old town is a 1a or 1b from the port a matter of 400 metres from hotel and it costs 10 kuna if tickets are bought from the newspaper booth close to the bus stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phildanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spent one week at this modern and friendly hotel (husband and I). We booked a studio room which suited our needs very well, as we like the freedom of being able to store a few bits in the fridge if we don't fancy eating out. We were on the top floor and the view from the balcony over Gruz harbour and hills was beautiful and varied with different cruise ships arriving most days. The layout, comfort and cleanliness of the room exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was simple and fresh with eggs cooked to order. The family running the hotel were very approachable and helpful. Location was very good for buses into Dubrovnik. Looking at other reviews it's difficult to find something new to say, but we really didn't want to leave at the end of the week and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel is on a hill in a seedy neighbourhood up from the harbour. Obviously it suited lots of people here and our impressions may be different because we stayed in their standard rooms and one of our party is disabled so the long walk up the hill was a major problem

Our room was very basically and poorly furnished. Other reviews mention amenities we didn't have. We had hard beds and flimsy furniture. Little space for luggage or storing clothes. Poor lighting and a small balcony. Overlooked by neighbouring flats very close by. The hotel smelled of insect spray. The safe didn't work.

No restaurant here and a long walk (they said 15 mins but much longer for us) to the only reasonable restaurant that they could recommend. There is a very busy road outside that is difficult to cross if physically disabled.

The walk took us nearly 20 minutes uphill as we had luggage and a disabled person. Avoid if you are physically challenged as it is too far - especially when you cannot eat at the hotel and have to go outside for meals. Other guests felt the same. We heard them at the reception.

Only a small shower stall in the basic but clean bathroom. A loo that wasn't very stable. Poor provision of towels. Sign says that towels will be changed every 2 days and sheets every three.

There are no pleasant public spaces in this hotel to sit and have a drink as a group and it reminded us of a youth hotel. The only saving feature is the pool but that is very overlooked and busy. Had a hard time to get the towels they said would be provided. Had a hard time finding staff.

We would have been happier with a taxi from the port to a better hotel.

For us this was a depressing and gloomy hotel and we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flopsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina_Du, Manager at Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Based on your comments a lot of the points you complain about could have been avoided if you had contacted the hotel or our website prior to your stay/reservation to check the location of the hotel, the room facilities and hotel facilities (restaurant) as all of these seem important to you yet you did not take the time to check prior to making your reservation.
The closest restaurant to the hotel is Taverna Nostromo which is 5mins walk and where our guests receive a 10% discount, there are other restaurants which we recommend however they are further along the harbour and require a slightly longer walk.
In regards to the location for physically challenged persons, there is a slight uphill from the port to the hotel, however if this walk was a struggle I am unsure how you managed to visit the Old Town, the islands or other parts of Dubrovnik given that Dubrovnik is a destination that requires walking and the Old Town itself has a significant number of steps in parts.
You reserved a double room, which at the size of 21m2 is of a comfortable size and has ample storage space. In regards to room facilities, if you preferred additional room facilities such as tea/coffee facilities, more room space or sea views then you could have reserved a room type which had these features/facilities.
What we advertise and promise is what we deliver. I believe you could have enjoyed your visit to Dubrovnik if you had taken the time to choose a hotel which had the facilities and location you required.
Kindest regards
Katarina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing