We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the Berkeley Hotel for a week at the start of June 2012. It is a fab hotel, only small but with service that feels 5*. There's a 24 hour reception with really helpful staff who are always happy to help you out with advice, pre-paid bus ticketsand trips etc. We found the free wifi really useful and the room was big with a large balcony, massive bed and air con. Tea and coffee were topped up every day. The pool is on the first floor and was cold but that was nice considering how hot the weather was! Pool towels are provided and there is a good value honesty bar with snacks at the poolside. You can arrange to borrow beach towels for 10 Kuna a day which is only just over £1. There are some very highly rated restaurnats within easy walking distance of the hotel, the start of the Lapad peninsula is about 10 minutes walk and offers even more food choices and lovely coastal walks. The old town is about 40 minutes walk away and is easier to walk back from than to as it is mostly uphill on the way there but the buses run every few minutes and are really reliable.

Room Tip: We were in room 21 on the second floor, we paid a little extra to have a sea view and it was worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have just returned from the Berkeley after a enjoyable weeks stay. The staff were very pleasant once they got to know you and quite helpful. The room was good and we had a small kitchen area which was useful for getting some lunch if you were staying locally. Quite well equiped just felt it needed a small chopping board and a small utility knife. It was spotlessly clean and the towels were changed daily and the bedlinen every other day. There was plenty of storage. We had a good view and of the cruise ships entering and leaving the harbour. We made good use of the swimming pool area as the weather was very good and it was nice to relax when we got back in the afternoon. The local buses into Dubrovnik were frequent both outside the hotel and down in the harbour. Would definately recommend a bus trip to Cavtat. The hotel is quite a climb back from the harbour either up a steep road or lots of steps. Would recommend Otto Taverna in Lapad. Food is excellent, well presented and not too expensive, the outside terrace is very pleasant and the staff were very professional but made you feel very welcome. Another restaurant we would recommend in the harbour for a pizza or pasta is Knoba Porat. Excellent quality and value and very friendly staff. If you go into the old town to eat do try Taj Mahal but either get there early or book a table as it gets very busy. All in all we had a very enjoyable holiday in Dubrovnilk and at the Berkeley.

Room Tip: Do upgrade for a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepids_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well situated hotel a short walk from Gruz harbour. Several local eating places providing good quality food at a reasonable price. Supermarket and fresh food and fish markets all within a short walking distance. Dubrovnik old town is a 10 minute bus ride away (12 kuna fare if you pre-pay at hotel or local shop). We did walk into the old town on our first day but found it a bit too far to do regularly. The old town is stunning with lots of good restaurants. The restaurant just outside Pile gate overlooking the walls was also good. All have excellent fish menus.
Hotel staff spoke very good English, were friendly and very helpful with advice on where to visit etc. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a stunning view out over the harbour. Breakfast provided was cooked to order and sets you up well for the day.
The boat trip not to miss is to the Elaphite islands. You can book in the travel shop by the harbour or at the hotel (250 kuna). Fish picnic and drinks were provided with some of our more mature passengers providing the entertainment while overindulging in the local wine!
Would recommend the hotel and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Neat, clean, functional (but not squeezy), modern - friendly. Comfortable beds, and wonderful pool. Great coffee - none of that filter or instant rubbish. Hard to leave!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheMove538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

To get to the hotel, take the airport bus to the last stop, walk in the opposite direction to the way the bus came until you get to a roundabout, turn left uphill and keep walking straight. Berkeley hotel is on your right hand side (It's about a 10 minute walk).

The hotel is very close to the port, the nearest supermarket is 5 mins away in euroshop but you'll pass a big Konsum on your way from the bus to the hotel, it's bigger and cleaner and there's more choice so I'd suggest you pop in on the way and grab what you fancy.

The room was very clean but the cleaning of the rooms was average, apart from making the beds I don't think much else was done. Breakfast was the usual fare,for continental brekkie cheese, ham, yoghurt, muesli, but you can ask them to make you an omelette which was very tasty and included in the price. The lady at breakfast was quite gruff, had a stone-faced expression and was in a bad mood everyday but it didn't really bother me. I found Eva and Maria (reception staff) to be quite helpful, they came up on a number of occasions to sort out our problems. The main one was the TV, I suggested they put a plaque in each room so people know what to do but until then I'll break it down for you:

Use the grey remote to switch the TV on, press any channel to activate, then when the blue light is off, it means the TV is on. If you get a grainy screen, use the black remote, point it at the black cable box and press on, until a green light is showing then press ok and up and down for the channels on the black remote. (The TV messes up quite a bit so this'll save you some time).

I didn't find the beds very comfortable and the pool was far too cold to swim in, but there was a mini fridge and kettle in the room and the TV had a range of languages included English, when it worked. It was fairly hot the first day we were there so we did have a little ant problem in the room, nothing major and by the time the cleaning was done things were back to normal.

Tours can be organised at reception with either of the two tour operators in Dubrovnik, through Maria and Eva, who both spoke good English. To get to the Old Town you can get a bus 1a, 1b, or 1c, buy your ticket beforehand or somehow you get charged double on the bus. If you're there for a short stay like us. The 30KN day pass isn't worth it.

The wifi and internet weren't working when we were there but I think it was Eva who very kindly sorted me out with an alternative. A big con for me was the limited food choices, apart from breakfast no food is served during the day so when you have torrential downpour for a few days like we did. You basically can't eat! There are take out menus at reception but they're all in croatian. In general it was a clean basic hotel, good enough for a few days day. Buses were quite frequent and not so full, so not being close to Old Town wasn't an issue. In general it was good enough, but might try elsewhere for a future trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank la_globetrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast is excellent, they cook your eggs to order. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Lots of restaurants nearby and buses to Dubrovnik town cost 15 Kuna each (children are free) this is around £1.50 bus takes 10 minutes and stops a few minutes from hotel. The views across the port are amazing, we went on a boat trip that we booked through the hotel and it was very good, had a picnic lunch on the boat.

Room Tip: Seaview amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff who took a genuine interest in our stay there, and made sure we made the most of our time in and around Dubrovnik. Good location away from the old town, but with easy bus connections just down the road. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was fine.

I would thoroughly recommend the Berkeley and would happily stay there again if back in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Studio with sea view and balcony worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A4DJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £47 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing