We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks many boxes. All you need do is remember that it is a budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ticks many boxes. All you need do is remember that it is a budget hotel”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Berkeley hotel ticks many boxes. All you need do is remember that it is a budget hotel as with so many rave (and just) reviews this can be easily forgotten.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Gruz Harbour and the main bus station. My husband and I caught the 40 min 'Atlas' coach transfer from the airport at 35kuna p/person fare and found this a very good way to instantly find our bearings. Stay on the coach until its last drop-off at the main station, do not be concerned if many passengers depart at the Old City Pile Gate

We arrived early at the Berkeley. The staff were very welcoming and happily held our luggage until we returned to check in at 2pm. A good start.

Our room on the second floor was clean and spacious, It was restocked with fresh towels each day. We found we had to unplug the mini bar fridge to reduce a ticking noise, but no bother.

Breakfast although fairly limited in options was tasty and cooked to order which arguably is much nicer than choosing from dozens of items flagging in warming trays.

The swimming pool unfortunately was out of bounds following poor weather so I cannot comment.

The hotel is situated 30 minutes walk from the Old City and Lapad. However if you have a long day planned or your fitness isn't quite there, save your feet and catch the bus, There are plenty of hills and stairs to get your daily exercise.


All in all the hotel is a solid find. Not plush in any way but I have to agree that the staff at the Berkeley make all the difference. From basic bus information to the breakfast served efficiently. Their standard of service puts fellow guests at ease which makes a stay at the hotel all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    251
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
518
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here late September for 7 nights. On arrival was upgraded to a sea view room for no extra charge. Lady at reception was really lovely and went out of her way to assist us, giving us maps and answering questions. If you have any concern about staying just outside oldtowen I wouldn't as the bus stops just across the road and the people of Dubrovnik were also very helpful by telling us what stops we needed.
Our room was lovely and clean and towels changed daily. I would vist again and have told everyone about Dubrovnik and this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We picked this hotel after we acquired a rental car because of its location and free parking for guests. It is family owned and the staff is VERY nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is about a block away from the harbor. The room was relatively roomy even for a family of three. The chair folded into a single bed which was actually pretty comfortable. The room has a refrigerator and a renovated bathroom. The breakfast is terrific - lots of choices - cereals, juices, fruit, rolls, cheese, meats and a whole menu of hot dishes you can have the cook make for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The only thing I can add to the already great reviews is this example of their outstanding customer service. My roommate had left a charger in our room when we checked out. She discovered it later that day after we had checked in to another hotel in Dubrovnik (we were beginning a group tour so had to change hotels). She called the Hotel Berkeley and one of the front desk staff, Eva, said that they had the charger, and volunteered to bring it to our new hotel on her way home from work, which she did. This was above and beyond the call of duty, and we really appreciated it. Every interaction we had with the staff was pleasant and welcoming. A great first impression of Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just to add one more positive review to the fully deserved collection of accolades this great little hotel has gained on TA. We liked the location, found getting into the old town easy, and appreciated being able getting away from the crowds up there as well. We found plenty of good quality places to eat close by, cheaper and friendlier than in the centre.
We had a spacious room (more like an apartment really) on the top floor, spotlessly clean and overlooking the harbour.
The breakfasts are good- decent buffet and hot food cooked to order. But it is the staff that make this hotel special- everyone was charming and efficient. They appear to genuinely care about the guest experience. If you are planning a visit to Dubrovnik, but don't need to be in the thick of the hordes of day-trippers, you won't go far wrong staying at the Berkeley.

Room Tip: We had room 43 and would guess this has the best view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights on a visit to Croatia & Montenegro..The hotel is a real gem in a quiet location in the Gruz Harbour area of Dubrovnik. there is a regular bus service one street away which takes you to The Pile Gate at the entrance to the old city of Dubrovnik in ten minutes. The hotel is family owned & we think the service & hospitality was exceptional, the staff are very friendly & helpful, they go the extra mile to make you feel welcome & at home. We had a studio room with balcony & seaview, very spacious & comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very good with hot dishes as well as a very generous selection of cereals, continental breakfast items & fruit. There is a small bar area which is cosy & is part of the breakfast room. There is an outdoor swimming pool & sunbathing area with towels provided & there is an honesty bar there too. To conclude this hotel has a three star rating, we feel it deserves more.

Room Tip: The Studio rooms are very spacious with a balcony where you get a nice view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 852jimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Berkeley is a small (24 rooms), modern (2005), family owned and run hotel in the Gruz harbour area of Dubrovnik. It is set back 1 street from the waterfront and the huge cruise liners are literally at the bottom of the road. Buses 1A and 1B will take you to the walled old town in just a few minutes. For those hiring a car, there is a covered car park adjoining the hotel or, if required, the hotel will transfer you to and from the airport (fee payable). If you fancy hiring a boat complete with skipper for a cruise round the islands, the family also run a boat charter business. The hotel itself has free internet in the reception area and free Wi-Fi in all the bedrooms. Breakfast is a delight - in addition to the usual continental breakfast (cereals, assorted rolls and preserves, fruit juices, fruit salad, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese), the hotel offers a cooked breakfast (eggs, bacon, tomato, mushrooms etc.) at no extra charge. There are several restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner and the staff are more than happy to advise. Alternatively, if you wish to order pizza or pasta to be delivered, the hotel will arrange this for you. The breakfast room doubles as a bar in the evenings.There is a 1st floor pool and sundeck with loungers, large towels and an honesty bar. The bedrooms are a good size with balcony, air conditioning, flat screen tv with satellite channels, and FREE in-room safe. The en-suite bathroom had washbasin, wc, good size shower cubicle and dispensers for soap, shower gel and shampoo. Fresh towels seemed to be provided almost daily. (Hint. if you think the maid has forgotten to leave any towels, they are in the cupboard under the wash basin!). Needless to say, the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and fresh. The owners work in the hotel daily and ensure a great level of service. The lovely young ladies on Reception, Iva, Maria and Kristina are always smiling and wonderfully helpful with maps, bus routes, restaurant suggestions etc. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. and they have managed to combine impeccable service with friendly informality. One evening during our stay, some of the family were having a celebration meal in the corner of the breakfast room/bar and brought us a slice of celebration cake saying that their hotel guests were part of their family. This perfectly sums up the hotel - Exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,089 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing