We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The room was great, nicely decorated and had a big bed and powerful shower. Location is great as it's out of the old town so not rammed full of tourists and guided groups but not far to walk (25 minutes) or ten mins on bus. The pool was closed due to bad weather so if your after a lazy holiday make sure you go later in summer to get full use of facilities.
Lovely staff and ok breakfast (we only made it a few times as we like to sleep on holiday- and all the staff seemed to notice our absence which was funny but a little odd) But all in all great hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just come back from a lovely week in Dubrovnik, spent 7 nights in an apartment overlooking the harbour with our toddler.
The staff were always excellent and very very friendly, our son will miss chatting to Mia at breakfast! :-) Room was very clean, free wifi was great and we didn't have to worry about our toddler getting up to no good because the room was very child friendly.
Dubrovnik was a 40 minute walk (with pram) but this wasn't too much of a hassle cos it was a pleasant walk and meant we burned off a few extra calories we had consumed in wine and cheese!
Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere clean and pleasant to stay in dubrovnik :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkerbelly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here before our Adriatic cruise. The staff were friendly & helpful. Spoke English, recommended good restaurants & explained the Dubrovnik card in detail. Helped with transportation. The breakfasts were hearty, wholesome, hot with good variety.
The hotel is in an excellent location for cruises right at Port Gruz. Only a few minutes from Old town, but away from the congestion.

Room Tip: It is a small, family hotel. Our room was fine with a view of the harbor & comfortable queen be...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, staff exemplary , well located for all amenities, easy to get to old town by bus, good selection of cafés and restaurants in walking distance. If we decide to go back, we will book there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at this family run hotel from 25th April - 28th April 2014, we booked quite late just to get away from normal hectic life. We arrived in Dubrovnik where the sun was shining although it didn't last long. As we checked into the hotel they informed us that 40,000 catholic youths would be descending on the town on Saturday..... Ughh wish they had told us before we left the UK. We could not do anything on this day as they closed old town early and it was raining which meant most other things did not interest us in the rain. Apart from this the hotel was clean tidy and offered a cooked breakfast. Our room was like an apartment where we had a small kitchen a dining table and a lounge. The bedroom was large and the bathroom had a shower but no bath. I would stay in this hotel if I were to go to Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor with a view of the sea, you could see the cruise ships from the room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shrimp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Returned from Dubrovnik yesterday (10/05/14) I went for a week with my boyfriend and stayed at the Berkeley. Croatia is a absolutely beautiful place- we would recommend it to anyone!
The hotel had everything we needed and we even got upgraded to a large apartment upon arrival. Although we couldn't check in till 2pm we were able to leave our luggage and go for a wander round. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are really pleasant/friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served from 7-10am and has plenty to choose from; cereal, continental, yogurts, fruit, eggs, bacon etc..
The hotel is located only a short walk from Gruz Harbour, there is also a supermarket near by too.
From the hotel you can also either walk (which we did takes around 15/20 mins) get the bus or taxi from the hotel into the old town.
We also visited Montenegro which was such a pretty place I would definitely recommend a visit there, we booked this excursion through the hotel and paid on departure, we found this very useful and easy and also felt like we trusted this trip more than the ones advertised in the street.
There's a cable car from the old town and at the top is the most stunning view as well as a restaurant, we really enjoyed the food here :) definitely do this.
Only a short walk from the bottom of the cable car is a beach this has to be the best beach we visited as most as pebbly, there is a bar here called East West Beach Club which serves you drinks on the beach.
Lapad is also worth a visit to try the Cave Bar.
If you are thinking of visiting Croatia DO and stay at the Berkeley!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Berkeley Hotel is run by a Croatian family that lived in Sydney,. Australia for many years. This brings many benefits, compared to other hotels in the area.
Reception is warm, friendly and helpful, English is spoken freely and they know where all the best restaurants are in the area. There was a fridge and an electric kettle in the room with Twinings tea, a luxury hard to find in stores in Dubrovnik.
The hotel is near the ferry port in Gruz and very close to buses to the Old Town or Lapad. As we were venturing out to ACI Marina during the day, it was right on the bus going to the Marina too.
We arrived before their 2pm check in but they kept our luggage for us, we were able to go for lunch and then return.
Breakfast were included in the tariff and it was well worth taking that option, plenty of options for breakfast, including omelettes, cereal toasts, eggs and possibly the best cappuccino we had in Croatia.
There was a safe in the room, which was large enough for our iPads as well as important travel documents. With the door shut, you couldn't hear any noise from the road, but generally it is a quiet part of town.
It was lovely, well located place to stay, but the friendly service and hospitality made it special.

Room Tip: Room 11 is right on the street, so would have been hard to enjoy the balcony. I would ask for a roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giffoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
731 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
938 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £44 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing