We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hotel made our holiday"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Hotel made our holiday"”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Absolutely excellent hotel with superb staff throughout. The views and location were fantastic and although a little out of the old town it was an easy commute to the Old City/Cable car/Boat excursions etc by local bus which is convenient and cheap. Hotel pool is one of the cleanest I have seen in fact we have stayed in more expensive hotels which weren't as clean as this. Rooms are spacious with excellent amenities. and the breakfast offered a great choice for all..
We had excellent service especially from Christina, Maria, Eva and the Manageress of the hotel. Each guest was made to feel special and they gave lots of helpful info.This hotel is rated a 3 star but the service was 5 star.
There is a supermarket nearby and it is a great base for walking and sightseeing. We will hopefully return to Croatia and to the Berkeley Hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulkhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
509
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Actually not a bad hotel: friendly, intimate, attentive, clean BUT you get a small part of what used to be an appartment in the most unattractive street, full of garages and no relation at all to the scenery. from our window we saw only the next door building. Car park was full so another problem to solve. bathroom OK but really no safety solutions- to hold, support from the shower in and out....so a room for improvement.
what bugged us most is that we added 25 Euro per night and upgraded ourselves to a 4 stars excellent hotel, with far far better location, views, facilities and breakfast! so if price is around 80-90 Euro - it is a fine hotel, but over 110! better pay the difference and enjoy a luxurios hotel and conditions. that's what we did. Must say the owner was great in cooperating with us even when we decided to leave the next morning. so no complaints other than the hotel charges much more than we think is fit.

Room Tip: insist on sea view otherwise it is depressing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are here right now and I am typing this from the balcony of a harbour facing apartment..the view is excellent. We decided, or at least the wife decided we where coming to Dubrovnik for a couple of days, and , to be fair I left it up to her to sort out....and she did......what a great place to stay, the hotel is pretty much perfectly placed with great views, close to the bus terminal , so ideal for a quick shuttle from the airport, so easy and inexpensive....the staff could not be more helpful , and the quality of the room is exceptional....very very clean and tidy, spacious and we'll appointed, the breakfast is
Great too, and the team down stairs are very attentive.
Walking around the harbour is great, but get your walking shoes on and head off to the old town, it takes about 25 mins on foot, nice little walk, bit of a caper crossing one of the main roads , but I guess only if you are British and struggle with people driving on the opposite side of the road!...but the walk is well worth the end result, the old town is magnificent....we have spent a lot of time down there, also worth a quick go on the cable car , great views from the top.......best advice is , if you are unsure where to g for a few days,or a week...Dubrovnik is the place to come..and only a crazy fool would not book the Berkeley , it's a puzzle that this is only a 3 star...it is a great base to explore from, and , for you lazy dogs, or just a little weary after a day walking around, there is a great little terrace area with a pool..perfect!!!!

Room Tip: Aim for the fourth floor, the view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Only good things to say about this Hotel, Staff were always helpful and full of suggestion's of how to get the best from our visit, must not forget the breakfast as it set us up for the day and our days programme was set up with the help of the breakfast staff, views from the room were just what we expected, so we would say if you were visiting Dubrovnik stay at the Berkeley.

Room Tip: Ask for a view 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daitwice428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We decided to stay outside the often very crowded area of Dubrovnik. This hotel is easily reached using the local bus system, which is very efficient. There are passes available for sale from the tourist office near the gates of Dubrovnik old town, which provide for many rides on the bus, as well as access to the city walls and museums, so you don't have to suffer in the crush of tourists! The hotel is clean and well appointed. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast provided was very good and the seasonal strawberries were the freshest and best that I have ever tasted. The hotel is very quiet and the beds are quite comfortable. The room was very large and had a balcony looking north over the Gruz harbor area. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with balcony and ocean view, which seemed to be where the Gruz harbor webcam is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Let me start by saying that we booked all our accommodation based on Tripadvisor Reviews which were spot on every time and The Berkeley Hotel was no exception. After we had problems with the response time when making the reservations which was apparently due to internet connection problems, we were a bit apprehensive, but without reason. We had a superior double room with an extra bed with a lovely view of Gruz Harbour - our 14 year old daughter spent most of her time on the balcony watching the sunset and the cruise ships! The service was excellent - when there was a mix up with the driver who had to pick us up from the airport, the hotel paid for our taxi. We rented a car through the hotel, but because they apparently sold the vehicles in the meantime, they organised a car for us from a rental company for the same price. They ordered takeaways for us and laid the table in the dining room so that we could have it there. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a kitchenette and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast is very good. Don't be put off by the fact that it is not in or near the (much more expensive) Old Town - the bus station which takes you into town is on the road just below. Highly recommended and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABlackburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose the Berekley as it is close to Gruz port for ou 7 day island cruise after our Paris stay. The hotel is eay to find if you take the bus from the airport and an easy walk. Our room on level 2 was on the port side with loads of sun on our balcony. The room size was excellent. The bathroom quite large. Our hosts previously were hotelliers in Sydney so we felt at home. Breakfast was complete and a good size. We had toast and used our Vegemite travel tube. Cant seem to leave it at home!! We walked from the hotel to the old town about 2 klms up the hill and down the other side without too many issues. Had dinner in the old town on the Stratum before the crowds turned up the following week. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Our room on the sunny side was quiet at night but the sunshine a relief from the cloud and rain of P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backhome1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing