We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valamar Argosy Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$517
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lero(Dubrovnik)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Dubrovnik(Dubrovnik)
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$502
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
592
271
53
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
271
53
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgruz harbourhonesty bara family run hotelthe busold townport areaminute walkcooked breakfastfriendly hotelsmall hotelyogurtsea viewlocal transportdubrovnik cardcable carregular busesbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 933 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in a twin room for 2 people. My observations about the hotel are summarised in the following categories:

a. Staff - they are so lovely, especially the 2 female staff that served us during the evening shift. They told us where to eat, recommended uswhere to go etc. Super friendly even when I started asking questions about the hotel facilities about a month ago.

b. Free breakfast 7-10am everyday - awesome, the omelette with mushrooms and ham , I highly recommend. Also the lady who served us during breakfast hours was so lovely and nice to talk to.

c. Hotel Amenities - Quite Basic, the air con was not cold enough but the room size is quite big. You just need to drop the towel on the floor to ask for clean ones each day.

d. Distance to old town - hmm some what far if you are walking with an elderly person (ie 60+). It took us 35 min to walk to the old town. Taxi was also available but we thought we tried walking.

e. Restaurants around the hotel - not much to choose i would recomment HOtel Petka restaurant. Their scampi soup and prawn risotto were by far one of the best dinner we have experienced. There is no food menu offered within the hotel. Only breakfast is served.

As we were mostly away to other town/cities during our 5 day trip to Dubrovnik, we have not utilised alot of the other hotel amenities. We did however paid 450 kuna for the hotel transfer which is cheap for 2 people and felt relaxed and less hectic that way. IN summary I would say this is definitely a nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZenC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the 2-room apartments at the Berkeley as a party of three - couple plus adult son. Right from the start is was obvious that the big plus point here is the friendly and helpful staff (all fluent in English). When booking our rooms, we had also arranged transfers from the airport to the hotel and our early morning flight meant that we arrived before our rooms were ready. No problem - luggage stored in a secure room, map provided for the local area along with recommendations on where to eat lunch (and more importantly where to avoid!).

The accommodation suited us perfectly. A double bedroom (with a proper double bed, not two twins pushed together), a living area made up with a single sofa bed and a kitchen space (although the only item we used was the fridge, which was handy for keeping drinks cool). Both rooms had their own flat screen TV with the usual selection of multi-language news channels plus four free-to-view sports channels. There was also free wi-fi throughout the hotel. The only small drawback was that, for our purposes, it would have been convenient if we could have had two room keys, but this wasn't possible.

The en-suite shower room was quite cramped but everything worked perfectly. Both rooms had access to a private balcony which gave views across Gruz harbour and out towards the Elaphite islands - but only if you were standing! If you sat down to relax, the concrete retaining wall proved to be too high to see over, which was a pity.

Choices for breakfast, taken in a reasonably sized dining room, were wide enough to satisfy most tastes. Hot options were cooked to order, including freshly made toast. The cold spread included cereals, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, and fresh fruit (the strawberries were a particular favourite). Although no evening meals were available there was a small bar for those who wanted a night cap before bed.

The private pool/jacuzzi area, on a first floor roof, was quite small but very tidy and clean. It provided a welcome chill-out space after a hot day in the Old City.

As others have noted, the location is not central, but this needn't be a problem. There are frequent buses (any No.1A/B/C) from the port area to the Old City and a direct route (No.8) from opposite the hotel takes you to the Mount Srd cable car station. For just over £20, a 3-day City Card (available from the hotel) gives you 10 bus journeys plus access to the City Walls and the most popular museums.

We found the local restaurants to be every bit as good as those in the Old City, with the bonus that you don't have to defend against the onslaught of the over-enthusiastic waiters vying for business. Right from the start, the friendly staff at the Berkeley made sure that we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed - a personal touch that I suspect would be missing in the bigger resort-type hotels in Lapad or Babin Kuk.

In summary then, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a base to explore Dubrovnik and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (3 and 4) have the best views of the harbour.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Absolutely excellent hotel with superb staff throughout. The views and location were fantastic and although a little out of the old town it was an easy commute to the Old City/Cable car/Boat excursions etc by local bus which is convenient and cheap. Hotel pool is one of the cleanest I have seen in fact we have stayed in more expensive hotels which weren't as clean as this. Rooms are spacious with excellent amenities. and the breakfast offered a great choice for all..
We had excellent service especially from Christina, Maria, Eva and the Manageress of the hotel. Each guest was made to feel special and they gave lots of helpful info.This hotel is rated a 3 star but the service was 5 star.
There is a supermarket nearby and it is a great base for walking and sightseeing. We will hopefully return to Croatia and to the Berkeley Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulkhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Actually not a bad hotel: friendly, intimate, attentive, clean BUT you get a small part of what used to be an appartment in the most unattractive street, full of garages and no relation at all to the scenery. from our window we saw only the next door building. Car park was full so another problem to solve. bathroom OK but really no safety solutions- to hold, support from the shower in and out....so a room for improvement.
what bugged us most is that we added 25 Euro per night and upgraded ourselves to a 4 stars excellent hotel, with far far better location, views, facilities and breakfast! so if price is around 80-90 Euro - it is a fine hotel, but over 110! better pay the difference and enjoy a luxurios hotel and conditions. that's what we did. Must say the owner was great in cooperating with us even when we decided to leave the next morning. so no complaints other than the hotel charges much more than we think is fit.

Room Tip: insist on sea view otherwise it is depressing!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are here right now and I am typing this from the balcony of a harbour facing apartment..the view is excellent. We decided, or at least the wife decided we where coming to Dubrovnik for a couple of days, and , to be fair I left it up to her to sort out....and she did......what a great place to stay, the hotel is pretty much perfectly placed with great views, close to the bus terminal , so ideal for a quick shuttle from the airport, so easy and inexpensive....the staff could not be more helpful , and the quality of the room is exceptional....very very clean and tidy, spacious and we'll appointed, the breakfast is
Great too, and the team down stairs are very attentive.
Walking around the harbour is great, but get your walking shoes on and head off to the old town, it takes about 25 mins on foot, nice little walk, bit of a caper crossing one of the main roads , but I guess only if you are British and struggle with people driving on the opposite side of the road!...but the walk is well worth the end result, the old town is magnificent....we have spent a lot of time down there, also worth a quick go on the cable car , great views from the top.......best advice is , if you are unsure where to g for a few days,or a week...Dubrovnik is the place to come..and only a crazy fool would not book the Berkeley , it's a puzzle that this is only a 3 star...it is a great base to explore from, and , for you lazy dogs, or just a little weary after a day walking around, there is a great little terrace area with a pool..perfect!!!!

Room Tip: Aim for the fourth floor, the view is fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews