We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from 4 night stay with a friend at the Berkeley and thoroughly enjoyed it. Room was very comfortable with tea & coffee facilities and small fridge. No view as we were at the side but french windows opened out on to terrace where we could sit out.
Breakfast was adequate and excellent coffee!
The staff are lovely; very helpful and friendly especially Marija. Location is fine just a 10 min bus ride from old town and with fine views out to the harbour. We will definitely be going back here as we loved Dubrovnik!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GladsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
504
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
264 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Built on a restricted site and unlikely to win any awards for architectural merit, Berkeley Hotel is a good example of the saying that you should not judge a book by its cover. Because, once inside, you will find everything is just as it should be. The reception staff are friendly and efficient, and this also applies to the breakfast room staff and the room maids.
We had booked a superior room with sea view, and found ourselves on the 4th (top) floor with a pleasant view over the hotel's very nice swimming pool as well as over the sea/harbour and beyond, from our good sized balcony.
The room itself was large and well furnished, and included a small kitchen with a reasonable supply of crockery, cutlery etc. and a decent sized fridge. The bathroom did not have a bath but the shower was spacious. The wash-hand basin was an unusual design (translucent) with plenty space for toiletries etc. It had a plug arrangement which we found tricky and we twice needed staff assistance to get the water out!
Breakfast was a pleasant experience, particularly because we hadn't expected anything cooked. All the choices included eggs, although I am sure negotiations would be possible if eggs weren't your thing.
The hotel is well placed for the harbour, buses into the Old Town, and the main bus station (with the excellent shuttle from/to the airport).
Our only "complaint" was that our lovely sea view was regularly impeded by the ugly bulk of monstrous cruise ships which arrive daily.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel, nothing sophisticated but it has all the necessities. Breakfast was good, although I was puzzled why the choice of omelette is limited only to two side ingredients. Service was attentive and nice. Room was clean. Airport pickup timely. This hotel is well recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Chose the Berkeley Hotel for a 3 night stay whilst touring southern Croatia. It's conveniently located above the harbour and just far enough away from the old town and its crowds. The swimming pool was out of use during our stay because of stormy weather. Usual breakfast fare, reasonable prices, and nice, friendly staff who were always ready to help. Buses into town available from across the road but a taxi ride to and from the old town only costs about £7 each way. The underground car park was useful but space is tight. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myfanwy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

In looking for hotels in Dubrovnik there seem to be 3 main areas:
1.In or near the Old Town-mainly dear.
2.The Lapad peninsula,a bulbous peninsula stretching out from the Old Town.
3.The Gruz area near the harbour,where the Berkeley hotel is situated..

if you want beaches the more expensive hotels in Lapad should offer these.If you want rapid access to the Old Town the Gruz area scores highly because the main bus station is there.There is also interest in the harbour area.

I stayed at the Berkeley for 4 nights in mid June and thoroughly enjoyed it.I was lucky to be upgraded to a superior double room on the 4th floor with a balcony and views over the harbour.The room was spacious,the kingsize bed was comfortable and the airconditioning was quiet.Breakfasts were quite adequate.The hotel does not do meals,but there are so many restaurants in Dubrovnik that this did not matter to me.There is a pleasant outdoor pool if you want this.

The bus stop was 5 minutes walk away,with a frequent service into the Old Town.The staff were all very pleasnat and helpful and spoke excellent English. If you do not need a beach I thoroughly recommend the Berkeley.

Room Tip: A higher floor with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Absolutely loved the Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and the hotel is very well located. The staff were incredibly friendly, and were more than happy to help. Price was also very reasonable. I would happily return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ST1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Currently staying at this hotel, sat in reception writing this review! Unfortunately has been stormy weather, but made most of sunny spells by the pool and out sightseeing. Hotel clean, staff friendly, breakfast satisfactory. Dubrovnik Old Town is beautiful. Need to be fit though as lots of steps to climb. Walk the walls, but early or late in the day when it's not too hot. Visit the island of Lokrum, especially if you are a Game of Thrones fan, as much of it is filmed here and around the Old Town. We are here for 11 days as we wanted to combine relaxing and sightseeing. 4 to 5 days would be enough.
There are limited restaurants by the Hotel, but a 20 minute walk around the harbour to Lapad and there is a "strip" with lots of places to eat. Take the trail walk and visit the cave bar for a unique experience. Overall a great holiday, just a shame about the weather!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing