We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just back from a superb 4 night stay and this small and very friendly hotel. Everything is so personal. The reception staff soon get to know you and they all speak excellent English. They are very knowledgeable on the local attractions, restaurants and the bus routes etc. Would not hesitate in recommending and will certainly stay again when in Dubrovnik.

My wife and I booked the room with BA and we had one of the basic double rooms which had a side view with a small balcony. The room was a good size, quiet and perfectly adequate with modern furniture and all the facilities required. Housekeeping was very good. The in-room information book was the best we have seen. Very thorough listing local restaurants etc.

The breakfast was very acceptable but reasonably basic. Hot breakfast cooked to order and served quickly. Simple selection of fruit, ham and cheese, breads and jams. The swimming pool at first floor level is compact with a small sun deck but very welcoming after a hot day in the old town.

The hotel is very close to the main bus station in Gruz Port with a regular coach from the airport for 35 Kuna each way (approx. £4). Buses into the old town run every 10 mins. for 12 Kuna if purchased from the kiosk at the bus stop, but the hotel advised us to purchase a 3 day Dubrovnik card that gave us 10 rides each plus entry to the old town walls (100 kuna) and entry to various museums and galleries, a real bargain.

As we were leaving to catch the coach to the airport, it rained heavy and the hotel kindly helped us to reach the bus station in time to catch the coach. (tip - do not queue to buy ticket as you pay once you reach the airport).

Overall a very good choice of Hotel with plenty of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. The harbour is good for a stroll around the waters edge to Lapad.

Room Tip: Room on top 2 floors are better and if you wish to have view of the harbour then pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
509
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner booked this hotel as part of a package with British Airways and after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We arranged to be collected and returned to and from the airport for an extra 450kn. The service was very good with the driver waiting for us on arrival. The hotel is about half hour from the airport. It is nothing to look at from the outside but our room, which was on the third floor with a harbour view was very clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and also printed stuff out for us which was a big help. Breakfast was included in the price which is rare nowadays and good quality. Both continental and cooked breakfasts were offered. The hotel also offer excursions to various islands and cities. All in all, given what we paid and what we received id highly recommend Berkeley Hotel, It isn't near the old town but loads of buses run there from the harbour and a 24hr card is only 16kn so not expensive at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank itfcfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Berkeley hotel is great! Okay, the location in relation to Dubrovnik old town is a good 30-40 minutes walk away on a busy road, however parts of the walk by Cruz harbour and the upper cliff section are very pleasant. The easier option is the bus (1a or 1b) at 12kn (£1.20) per ticket. However they are not that frequent and do get very, very full.
Based on previous reports about the hotel, we booked the upper floor sea view rooms which were excellent. Spacious, well equipped, comfortable with a small kitchenette (kettle, tea, coffee available), a good size bathroom, great shower, ticks all the boxes.
Breakfast is so well organised. Mariana, the supervisor, who is delightful, organises seating and takes orders for hot drinks and the cooked option. A second lady then immediately makes the hot drinks and a chef the cooked option. Great! All the staff are so pleasant, polite, and helpful.
The swimming pool is quite small with a very restricted surrounding area/decking for around 10 sunbeds, and very limited shade. However after a day sightseeing, it is a lovely refreshing way to relax so long as it isn't busy. We were lucky.
So, we have nothing but praise for the Berkeley Hotel. We would not hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. From the moment we booked this hotel, our experience was very good. One of our visa requirements was that the hotels must email confirmation of our booking directly to the Croatian Embassy in New Delhi, and the Berkeley staff promptly complied with this request. We took a bus from Split to Dubrovnik, and the hotel was a 15-minute walk from Dubrovnik bus terminal. All hotel staff are very friendly, efficient and speak excellent English. We'd booked a superior double room with sea view, and were given a room on the fourth floor with a nice view overlooking the harbor. Looking down you could see the hotel's swimming pool. The room was clean, comfy and quite spacious, with a balcony, a sufficiently-equipped kitchen with fridge, and a bathroom that had a beautiful wash basin with glass paneling. The breakfast buffet consisted of bread, jam, fruit, milk, cereal and tea/coffee/juice. We also had made-to-order omelettes. A bus stop with regular buses to Dubrovnik Old Town is 5 minutes away from the hotel. Cafes, a vegetable and fruit market and a mall are also within walking distance. We were out till midnight a couple of times and never felt unsafe. On the downside, the hotel is sparsely staffed (no room service) although I must say they do a commendable job. Also, the building probably won't win medals for artistic design. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and have no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PranayJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from 4 night stay with a friend at the Berkeley and thoroughly enjoyed it. Room was very comfortable with tea & coffee facilities and small fridge. No view as we were at the side but french windows opened out on to terrace where we could sit out.
Breakfast was adequate and excellent coffee!
The staff are lovely; very helpful and friendly especially Marija. Location is fine just a 10 min bus ride from old town and with fine views out to the harbour. We will definitely be going back here as we loved Dubrovnik!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GladsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
266 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Built on a restricted site and unlikely to win any awards for architectural merit, Berkeley Hotel is a good example of the saying that you should not judge a book by its cover. Because, once inside, you will find everything is just as it should be. The reception staff are friendly and efficient, and this also applies to the breakfast room staff and the room maids.
We had booked a superior room with sea view, and found ourselves on the 4th (top) floor with a pleasant view over the hotel's very nice swimming pool as well as over the sea/harbour and beyond, from our good sized balcony.
The room itself was large and well furnished, and included a small kitchen with a reasonable supply of crockery, cutlery etc. and a decent sized fridge. The bathroom did not have a bath but the shower was spacious. The wash-hand basin was an unusual design (translucent) with plenty space for toiletries etc. It had a plug arrangement which we found tricky and we twice needed staff assistance to get the water out!
Breakfast was a pleasant experience, particularly because we hadn't expected anything cooked. All the choices included eggs, although I am sure negotiations would be possible if eggs weren't your thing.
The hotel is well placed for the harbour, buses into the Old Town, and the main bus station (with the excellent shuttle from/to the airport).
Our only "complaint" was that our lovely sea view was regularly impeded by the ugly bulk of monstrous cruise ships which arrive daily.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant hotel, nothing sophisticated but it has all the necessities. Breakfast was good, although I was puzzled why the choice of omelette is limited only to two side ingredients. Service was attentive and nice. Room was clean. Airport pickup timely. This hotel is well recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing