We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were amazed with the room we got for the price..I think it was because we only booked for few days rather than a wk...we had a living room, kitchen, bedroom and balcony!! Amazing and very stylish....A great place to start a holiday before moving to the islands I suggest:)) Book make sure you get you tickets for the ferry well before the hour they suggest as sell out quickly...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helz1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
503
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We chose the Berkeley Hotel as we were looking for as nice a hotel as we could get for a good price. The hotel itself is lovely. It is clean and our room was much larger than expected, with a little kitchen area too. It was handy to have a fridge to keep water in. However, we paid a bit extra for a 'sea view' room, which was a waste of money as there were too many buildings in the way to really call it a sea view and we were disappointed with this. I think we were unlucky though with our room (room 24) and I think other rooms with sea views might have avoided the main building that blocked our view.

Breakfast was included (7am-10am) and there was a range of bread, croissants, fruit, yoghurt etc to help yourself to and you can order tea, coffee and hot food (eggs, bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomato) which arrived within minutes. All of the staff are very friendly and efficient, and will chat to you and give you recommendations on places to eat and go if you ask. They also arranged our transfer to Dubrovnik airport, which went very smoothly and was one less thing for us to worry about.

I was expecting to be able to walk into the old town, after reading reviews about the walk only being 20 minutes (were they jogging?) but I hadn't realised how hilly the walk was in both directions and in boiling hot sunshine (it was VERY hot when we visited at the start of August) it took us more like 30-35 minutes and it wasn't a very pleasant walk in the heat. We're both 25 and enjoy walking, but we ended up getting the bus after a couple times stubbornly trying to walk different routes. However, the buses run every few minutes and it is a quick journey. They stop at the port which is only 5 minutes away and take you straight to the main entrance of the old town. Make sure you buy your bus tickets from the little ticket booth rather than on the bus, as it's a bit cheaper.

I would recommend this hotel for a lovely hotel at a decent price, but if I booked again I wouldn't waste my money on a sea view room and if it was hot, I'd definitely get the bus!

Room Tip: Sea view was mainly blocked by other buildings (Room 24). Don't waste your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a 10 day holiday in Dubrovnik and chose The Berkeley due to all the good reviews and the reasonable price. We were not disappointed. Location is excellent, the Hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff were exceptional! We had a normal twin room to the side, but we spent so little time in the room it was fine.
There are some lovely restaurants which are in easy reach of the Hotel, however, we found the food in general to be of a high standard in and around the Hotel area. There are some beautiful views over the harbor and all the local transport is at the bottom of the hill.
We chose to be picked up at the airport by the Hotel and our driver was most pleasant and informative
When we return to Dubrovnik, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Clean, simple hotel with kitchenette, air-conditioning and free wifi in the room (although the signal was a bit weak). Close to Gruz Harbor, but a bit removed and up on a hill (something to consider in visiting during the hot summer months). Good breakfast, although some of the staff were a bit gruff, front desk staff were nicer. Beware that if you want drinks or snacks, you would need to go down the hill to the markets closer to the harbor (there are a few shortcuts down). If you arrive late, then, you can order pizza (ask at the front desk). Overall, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Nice, clean, modest hotel, with a/c and wifi in rooms. Also, a useful kitchenette. Good value for mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ubbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Berkeley hotel is a lovely hotel. I've just returned from a week's holiday there. Our room was very clean. The pool area is nice and the breakfast is great. The staff were always very polite and helpful. I really liked the location of the hotel - about 30 min transfer from the airport and about a 30 minute walk from the Old Town. It is also about a 5 minute walk from the port and near to the beaches in Babin Kuk and Lopud. We walked everywhere during the week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villefranchoise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel to be in a really central location, but quiet at night. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Everyone at reception were so helpful and knowledgeable - we got some really good tips on where to eat, buses, places to visit...(try the new restaurant Porat on the harbour - really different!). Nothing was too much trouble and we spent a lovely final day before our flight at the pool. Thank you all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thec0nn0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Enjoyable hotel, especially recommended if you plan to go on a cruise. The harbor is close by as little as a 5 minute walk but depending on the spot where your ship docked.
The hotel arranged our pick-up at the airport, which was later in the day and we did not want to wait for the bus.
The reception (Eva) proved to be extremely helpful. She provided us with tips on the near by bus ride (tickets 3 kuna cheaper at kiosks), restaurants and sight-seeing. The Old Town can be easily reached by bus.
The rooms are clean and nicely equipped. The swimming pool on the second level is not huge but pleasant with not being frequented by to many people.
Breakfast provides something for everybody and your omelets or just eggs are mode to order.

Room Tip: Swimming pool level might lack a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing