We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, professionally run hotel by a warm and vibrant family team.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, professionally run hotel by a warm and vibrant family team.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

My wife and i stayed here for a week and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Upon our arrival we discovered that an error had been made with our booking meaning that we had been allocated a room with two single beds... (the person who had made our booking no longer works there). This was not a problem at Berkleley -without hesitation we were upgrade to one of the spacious apartment suites for no extra cost. the positive can-do attitude of Katerina, Nick and the whole family team was very evident and ensured that our stay there went very smoothly.

The hotel has lovely views over the harbour and is in close walking distance to the Lapad area which is definately worth a stroll. Dubrovnik itself is beautiful and easily accessible from the hotel by bus which costs 8 kuna a ticket and run every 10 minutes.

Breakfast at the hotel was also good and the omlettes cooked by Katerina's mum were spot-on. In fact there are no negatives about the hotel at all- just go and stay there- It's clean has excellent staff that all speak fluent english and can offer a wealth of ideas and good advice.

We hired a car one day with another couple and went to Montenegro -only an hour by car and visit to Budva and Kotor are well worht it if you have a day to spare.

The only negative is that the hotel do not open their own restaurant in the evenings.... and there is a dearth of good retaurants in Dubrovnik to be fair. So Nick, get that grill going again!

We must have had a good stay as this is the fist time I have bothered to make the effort to post something on here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abergavenny_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    246
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
499
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Five friends and I have just come back from 3 nights at the Berkeley Hotel and from the moment we were greeted at the airport, the service was perfect - easy and efficient with nothing, from extra pillows to advice, seeming too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with hot food made to order and the waitress was lovely and made it clear that we were welcome to linger over coffee as long as we liked.

The bus is a 2 minute walk away, arriving every 5 minutes and charging next to nothing. Ten minutes later you are outside the gate of Old Dubrovnik.

Katarina and her family have made this hotel into one that I would recommend to anyone visiting the area. The rooms were modern and extremely clean with a very small quibble that there were no coffee making facilities in the smaller of the rooms. Easy, efficient and friendly would be how I would sum up our stay. And Dubrovnik is stunning with a trip to Lokrum being the highlight!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

If you arrive by bus, The Berkeley is a ten minute walk away and is well signed. The rooms are extremely clean, quite spacious and contain a little kitchenette. There are a few restaurants and a supermarket near by and buses that run every few minutes to the old town. The breakfasts are plentiful and you can select a hot item from the menu as well!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Berkeley Hotel. The hotel itself is a bit further away than we thought, but the bus stop is literally no more than 5 mins walk from the hotel and you can buy your tickets at the hotel (which is 2 kuna cheaper than buying on the bus). We never waited very long for a bus, either going in to Dubrovnik Old Town or coming back and they run until about midnight.

The hotel is run by very friendly and helpful people. Whenever we had any questions, they were more than happy to help us sort it out. We wanted to use the internet to print off a map for Montenegro and they lent us their road map for the day. Also, they offered us car parking under the hotel for no cost.

The room was everything that we needed for a short stay and was clean and comfortable. We had a studio suite with a little balcony looking over the dock and self contained kitchen with a fridge, kettle and hob. Nice that they also served breakfast every morning as well which consisted of bread, cheese, meats, cereal, yoghurt and you could order a freshly made omlette or eggs with a choice of sides (e.g. bacon, toms and mushies).

All in all, we enjoyed out trip to the Berkeley. Comfortable, quiet, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Met at the airport by a taxi from the hotel. Whisked to the hotel efficiently and safely leaving us with plenty of time in hand to begin exploring the beautiful city of Dubrovnik. From the moment that we entered the lobby of the hotel we felt, and were made to feel, welcome. Katarina the owner of the hotel has the easy manner of the excellent hotelier. Young, but highly experienced and it shows. The hotel is run like clockwork. Everything is spotless and efficient. The staff will pull out all the stops in order to make sure that your stay is perfect. They will organise trips, get you taxis, give you information, anticipate your needs seamlessly and all without it seeming to be any effort at all.
And Katarina will even find the time to listen to your experiences of the day when you return in the evening from your travels.
Our apartment was just superb. Huge in size. Four rooms in fact, not counting the lobby. Open plan kitchen and lounge opening on to a big balcony that was set with a table and chairs. A big bathroom and a very big bedroom complete the picture. Masses of wardrobe space. In fact, two huge wardrobes. The kitchen is well stocked with plates, glasses etc and tea and coffee is replenished every day. Great supermarket nearby with a fantastic and colourful display of fruit and veg plus fresh breads and cheeses, meat etc.
And breakfast at the hotel is wonderful. Loads of fresh fruit, breads, cheese and yoghurts. Plus cereals, plus a cooked breakfast. Fresh coffee and tea also. And all served with a smile by the lovely waitress who had a great sense of humour. The dining room is huge and also spotless. The hotel itself is just two years old so everything still smells new.
The location is perfect. Quiet but easy to get to the old town of Dubrovnik. Either walking - it took us about 10 minutes - or by bus. In the evening the view from our balcony was picture card perfect. The lights in the harbour shining in the water and the view of the twinkling lights on the opposite side complete a perfect image. We sat on our balcony sipping a glass of wine (oh yes, you can get a drink from the bar downstairs if you wish) thinking 'does life get any better'? Croatian wine is wonderful and just to make things perfect, we had sunshine all the time we were there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is comparatively new, with good modern furnishings, comfortable beds and satellite TV. It's located in the old port area, where the cruise ships disembark, with an easy 7-10 minute bus trip into the old city. We had a sea view overlooking the harbour and Lapad. There are few decent restaurants in the immediate area so evenings involved a ride into the old town, which didn't present any problems. The breakfast was not very good. Surely tinned fruit for breakfast is a thing of the past! We also had to ask for more soap as the mini bottles were not replaced .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed here for only 1 night, but wished it was for longer. We travel a lot and this was one of the most clean and and friendly hotels we have ever stayed. We arrived very late and the staff was very helpful and made the check-in as quick as possible. We were tired and got to the room to find a very clean, nicely appointed room. The size was very large and the bathroom was a nice size as well. The breakfast the following morning was fabulous. They made the hot food to order and the staff in the breakfast room was very welcoming. It was all the owning family working the kitchen, front desk and you could tell they took pride in what they did. We also had a 1 year old child with us and they were so nice with him. They played with him while we ate and made our morning delightful. We also had a car and the parking garage was very convenient. It was a little away from the old city, but the front desk told us exactly how to get where by bus ( which picked up right outside the hotel). Do not hesitate staying here and we would love to go back to Dubrovnik one day and stay at this hotel longer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing