We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service, very well organised hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, very well organised hotel.”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

It's difficult to find fault with this hotel. The staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. They helped us book a car when everyone else had no availability. They even drove after us towards the bus station when they realised the bus route they'd advised for us didn't operate on a public holiday! You can't ask for better service than that! There was always a good choice of either cooked or continental style breakfast and excellent coffee. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable, though a bath would have been nice in such a big bathroom. Also, sheets were a bit small for the size of bed. However, we would book there again without any hesitation. It's good to find a business where customers really do seem to matter. Great, quiet location near the main ferry port. Good local bus links into town: make sure to buy the tickets at the hotel, where they are a couple of kunas cheaper. A real find - try it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthingwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    247
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
106
509
39
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

A very good, well run hotel conveniently situated for the Old Town and for the islands.
Great opportunities for visiting both city and lovely beaches. Great transport links.
Excellent accommodation and superb breakfasts (thebest omlettes in town!)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I really liked this hotel. My only issue was that I had to take a bus into town. we were a block from the new port, but we spent most evenings in the old town and had to take a bus. it was only 10 minutes, but the staff was great, the hotel was clean, parking was free, breakfast was excellent.....a good value and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed on June 10 for seven nights and our stay was absolutely perfect in every way, from the moment we were picked up at the airport by Katerina until she dropped us back off again.
The hotel is in an ideal location - you can soak up the atmosphere and liveliness of the Old City, hop on a ferry to the islands or relax on the beaches of Lapad all within minutes of stepping outside the door.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - nothing is ever too much trouble for them and they are always on hand with advice and information whenever you need it.
We stayed in a sea view suite with a balcony that had amazing views over the port of Gruz. The size of the room was ideal, the decor was modern, fresh and very clean, and the kitchenette is a real bonus as you have the option of eating out or in.
We have previously stayed in hotels that would consider themselves to be among the best in the world - the Berkeley gives them a run for their money on all counts and surpasses them on many points.
The hotel is a real home from home that offers a friendly and personalised service that you just don't get in large-scale hotels. Do yourself a favour - don't even think about booking anywhere else in Dubrovnik as the Berekely will not be beaten on value, location or service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndynLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

What a find!
Excellent room, had a balcony with a sea view. Comfortable beds, silent air-conditioning that doesn't keep you awake at nights. Made use of the kitchenette in the room, fridge to keep that bottle of wine coldso we could drink it on the balcony watching the sunset.
Only 10 mins from the Old city on an excellent bus service. Ask at reception for a 24hr bus ticket.
The staff in the hotel are very helpful, Katarina was the perfect hostes from the moment she met us at the airport to our return there.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviesfamilyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We so enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley Hotel. We had a wonderful room with balcony,overlooking the bay, with complete kitchen, ample storage and comfortable mattress and pillows. It is worth paying for a sea-view, and perhaps asking for a room on a high floor. The view is beautiful and at night it is magical. Unlike an earlier review, we thought the breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice for a small hotel and good coffee. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
There are lots of places to visit from Dubrovnik, with ferries to the islands, the Lapad peninsula, buses to many parts of Croatia from the bus station behind the nearby supermarket, but if youy visit Cavtat the bus goes from the old bus station by the Tomy supermarket, half way into town. Be sure to sit on the right hand side for the amazing views on the journey to Cavtat. Dubrovnik is very busy when the huge cruise ships are in. Its best to visit in the late afternoon to appreciate the beauty of this unique town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compassreaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Berkeley is a very good, family-operated small hotel. It is only two years old. The rooms are spacious, many with kitchenettes, some with harbor views. Breakfast is excellent. It is about a ten minute eight kuna ($1.60 US) bus ride from the Old City. Katerina, the manager, picked us up at the airport. I don't understand the criticisms of someone like HappyWanga, who in essence complains that this hotel isn't The Excelsior or one of the other "grand hotels" of Dubrovnik. If one wants that type of place, book it and pay for it. If you can't find the beach, better get a new map.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annapolis_MDTeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa

Property: Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Address: Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Dubrovnik...Conveniently located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel offers 24 modernly furnished rooms and apartments ideal for travellers making a short visit to Dubrovnik as well as those spending more time exploring the area. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to Dubrovnik and are more than happy to assist in any way possible to make your visit to Dubrovnik memorable. Centrally located in Gruz harbour, the Berkeley Hotel is only 2.5Km from the historical Old Town. Our proximity to the main bus and ferry terminals makes it easy to visit all areas of Dubrovnik and the surrounding region. For those wanting to recharge and unwind, enjoy Berkeleys outdoor pool and sundeck area or feel rejuvenated after a visit to the newly opened SPA at the Berkeley; a newly opened boutique spa opened at the Berkeley in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing