We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and well maintained apartment with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious double bedroom Double bed with bedside tables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Spacious double bedroom
Double bed with bedside tables
Double bedroom with a double bed, bedside tables,  lamps, spacious wardrobe and full length mirror
Comfortable double bed
Comfortable double bed
Comfortable double bed
Fully equipped kitchen, dining table and sofa
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table is located in the kitchen
Dining table and chairs
Dining table
Dining table and comfortable sofa
Comfortable sofa and dining table
Fully equipped bathroom
Fully equipped bathroom
The bathroom has a modern shower cubicle, basin and WC
Bathroom
Bathroom
Outdoor terrace with a table and chairs where you can enjoy your meals
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Ferry & cruise port in Gruz (5 minutes on foot from the apartment)
Ferry & cruise port in Gruz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Suraj S
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well equipped and well maintained apartment with excellent service”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Matea's apartment with our 2 kids aged 7 & 4. The apartment is furnished and in good decorative order. The big plus was a mid week clean of the apartment including the bathroom which was much appreciated. There are super markets and bus stops close to the apartment making it a convenient location. Mates and her sister are very friendly and we got good support in planning our trip and our stay at Dubrovnik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Dear Suraj,

Thank you very much for your great review. It was really nice to have you and your family as our guests at the Secret Garden apartment.
We are happy that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday.
We wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema23
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently retuned from a stay at these beautiful apartments in Gruz. We were travelling as a family with an 18 month old and required easy access to attractions and a home away from home for our little one. The apartment provided this and was the perfect base for us. We were able to easily travel to the old town by bus (No.8) or use the local harbour at Gruz for day trips out to other islands. The Gruz area is beautiful in itself with local shops, supermarkets, restaurants and a local market close by, which was perfect for us and gave us options when it came to meal times with our daughter.

The apartment itself was exceptionally clean and well equipped. Meta was a fantastic host and offered to tidy the apartment mid stay. Changing sheets and cleaning facilities. She went out of her way to make our stay special and provided us with lots of great tips on things to see and do, place to shop and restaurants to eat at. Our daughter also has special dietary requirements and she kindly helped in finding her the right products in order for us to cater for her.

The gardens attached to the apartment are well maintained and our daughter enjoyed playing out in the evenings before bed. Metea's family very kindly put a swing up in the garden for our daughter which really made her day. We were also very lucky enough to taste organic produce from the garden. Grapes and pomegranates were currently in season and most definitely satisfied my daughters pallet and love of fruit. It certainly is a secret garden which families will enjoy. My daughter became quite fond of the pet white rabbit which hides there too.

We stayed in Gruz for 9 days in total. This gave us a relaxed amount of time to travel around with a child. We visited the islands of Mijet, Lopud, Cavtat and Lockrum in this time. Miljet with its beautiful salt lakes is spectacular and worth a visit. Lockrum will provide you with great walking adventures and Lopud is a secret sandy beach hide away, perfect for small children. Every island seemed to offer something uniquely different. The old town itself is attractive and well maintained. The walk around the old city walls is breathtakingly scenic and the cities steep narrow allies fun to navigate and shop in.

I don't normal write reviews but honestly think these apartments and Metea deserve shouting about. If you are thinking of visiting Dubrovnik and are looking for a quieter base as a family with interest for both you and the children then this is the place to stay and Dubrovnik is the place to go. Our only tip would be mindful of all the steep stairs you will encounter in both Dubrovnik and Gruz itself. They are not always pushchair friendly but can be managed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and friendliness of Metea. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Dear Hema,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday in Dubrovnik. It was pleasure meeting you and your family and I really enjoyed talking to you.
Thanks again for the great comments and hope to see you all again one day!

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonUK
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from 4 nights at this apartment, it's lovely and modern, everything works perfectly, cleans and spacious enough. Matea is really nice, and left us umbrellas in the morning when it rained, and even a bowl of fruit picked from the garden. Nice location away from the over crowded old city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
Dear Charlotte & Shanif,

Thank you so much for your nice comments.
It was really nice for us to have you as our guests. We are so pleased you were happy with the apartment and had a nice holiday.
We wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect retreat for a couple”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I both sincerely enjoyed our time in Dubrovnik, and this apartment was a cool, cosy and practical place to live in during our 10 days.

The apartment boasts a lovely garden with a patio area shaded by grapevines, and if you're standing you can just see the sunset over Gruz (the port just down the hill).

It comes fully equipped with a fridge, washing machine, microwave, oven and all manner of cutlery, crockery and cooking pots should you wish to fully self cater. there was juice in the fridge when we arrived and chocolates on the table as well as detergent and general cleaning products. The shower is great and the TV (though lacking many English channels) has an HDMI port so you can connect devices easily should you fancy a lazier evening with some good wine! On those hot summer days the air conditioning in the apartment provides a welcome break.

The owners Matea and Nikolina are both very helpful and will organise transport to and from the airport and even book activities for you. They can also provide a decent amount of info on places to go for food within walking distance, as well as things to do and see around the city. Their office is next door to the apartment so they are easy to reach should you need them.

All in all we both very much enjoyed our stay in the Secret Garden Apartment and we'd like to thank the two sisters once again for having us!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Dear Alex,

Many thanks for your lovely review, it was much appreciated. We are so pleased to hear you and Martha enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the apartment.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alba1943
Trafalgar, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best stay EVER!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our stay in The Secret Garden was wonderful. We're sorry we were only there for 3 short days. The apartment is brand new, minimally but tastefully furnished with every mod con available. This family run property is situated in the quiet area of Gruz close to the port (just 5mins on foot) where ferries are always available to visit the islands. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't kind so our island hopping will have to be put on hold for our next trip there. Matea and her sister Nicolina (spelling) were always available to give advice and treated us with extreme kindness. The Old Town is quite far away but there is a bus service (no. 8) just 50 odd steps down from their front door or if you like walking like we do, it's quite easy to reach within about 25-30 mins. This is the ideal place if you are seeking peace and quiet, comfort and enjoy walking. There are hundreds of restaurants everwhere. If you like there is a pizzaria 'La Luna' just down the road or you have an endless choice of restaurants in the Old Town. If you wish to cook at home there is a little suprette a couple of minutes away on the upper road (steps up from the front door) or Tommy Supermarket (which is superb) down the steps and about 1km up the road. The choice is yours! The only suggestion I have is ask for directions on how to get there. We didn't enquire enough and struggled to find the place. If you are after a holiday in the hustle and bustle of a busy city or you wish to laze in the sun on a pebbly beach, look elsewhere. I would pick The Secret Garden again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Dear Alba & Giancarlo,

We are happy to know you enjoyed our apartment. Thank you so much for
writing such nice comments. We would be glad to have another chance to see you in Dubrovnik and take the occasion to wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniLucas
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING APARTMENT! DON'T BOTHER LOOKING ANYWHERE ELSE - STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner and I stayed in The Secret Garden Apartment, and everything about it was just perfect. The owner, Matea, is a lovely person and so welcoming. She was kind enough to wait up very late (midnight...) for us to arrive as we had some travel difficulties after landing in Split. You can tell she has thought of every detail in this bran-new apartment, from providing you with detergent to use the washing machine (that is in your room!), to the placement of the light switches (there is one right beside the bed so you don't have to get up to turn the lights out). Little things like that, to me, show how much she cares about her property.
The apartment is CLEAN, and everything is new and hardly used, down to every kitchen appliance you'll need. The bathroom is lovely and the shower has great water pressure (something I've come to appreciate after traveling Europe).
It's located literally in her garden, and she even brought us some delicious figs she had grown.
There is a grocery store less than a 5 minute walk away, and some restaurants about 10 minutes away. It's also very close to tour booking agencies if you'd like to go out on a boat tour.
The apartment is a little far from the old city, but not a difficult walk if you don't mind. I think it took us about 20-5 minutes, and that was stopping to have a look at the beautiful coast on the way. There is also a beach near by, about 10/15 minutes by walking. You can of course take buses anywhere you want to go, and Matea will tell you exactly which one to take.
Overall, we had a fabulous experience in the Secret Garden Apartment, and wish our stay in Dubrovnik could have been longer! We would definitely stay here again! This place is a real gem :)
Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Dear Toni & Brandon,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Secret Garden Apartment. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities and service we provided you with.

We look forward to seeing you soon for a new holiday in Dubrovnik and wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vesa H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, new and affordable accommodation.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Clean, new and affordable accommodation. The owners were super friendly and always available. They also gave us tourist information and tips and called our car rental company for more information. Only downside is that you need to take a bus to the center, and the center takes like 20 minutes walking. (but the bus takes only like 5 mins). But for the price it was excellent! And everything was brand new!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
Thank you Vesa for your lovely review!
It was really nice for us to have you and Ana as our guests at the Secret Garden Apartment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing